Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V > Steam Workshop for Skyrim

Old 02-19-2012, 01:12 PM   #1
Skoldpadda

Spider control rod

Hey there!

I have a question for anyone who may know. I'm making a dungeon and would like to use the spider control rod (http://elderscrolls.wikia.com/wiki/Spider_Control_Rod) and the special Dwarven Spider with it. My problem comes in here as the rod is not usable outside of Calcelmo's Laboratory. When you use it anywhere else you receive a message saying it can only be used in the lab. The spider then shoots you in the face with a lightning bolt.

I was just curious if anyone had found a way around this either through scripting or other means.

I have tried re-writing the script I thought dealt with this behavior (dunMarkarthWizardSpiderStaffEffect.psc). I found this script at the following location - C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\S ource but I am by no means a programmer or script writer so my attempt may have just been silly.

Either way I would much appreciate any help you folks can give.

Thanks!
Old 02-19-2012, 05:22 PM   #2
Skoldpadda

Update

I made a copy of the room that the spider can function in and deleted everything in there. I made a little test room and added the spider and staff. I no longer get the "you cant use that here" error but the spider does not move. There is navmesh in the room so he should be able to walk around. Thanks again for any help!
Skoldpadda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 12:01 PM   #3
superboyofmeat

Have you actually defined any of the properties in your script? You can't just copy/paste and have it work. Example:

Your script might say

Code:
DwemerSpider.Moveto(Game.GetPlayer())
Which is fine and dandy, but you need to define the property of the spider:

Code:
Actor property DwemerSpider Auto
Even if that is in the script, you have to go to "properties" and select what is being referenced.