Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 08:51 PM   #1
ΩBSOLETE
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 317
Posts: 1,229
Force Windows to use N?

Im trying to connect to my routers N radio, the only problem is that I can see it on my laptop, but windows will not connect to it. Instead it connects to the G radio instead. Is there a way to force it to use N?

My wireless card is a Ralink RT3090 802.11n WiFi Adapter
My router is a Netgear WNDR3400
ΩBSOLETE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 08:53 PM   #2
Labianator
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ΩBSOLETE View Post
Im trying to connect to my routers N radio, the only problem is that I can see it on my laptop, but windows will not connect to it. Instead it connects to the G radio instead. Is there a way to force it to use N?

My wireless card is a Ralink RT3090 802.11n WiFi Adapter
My router is a Netgear WNDR3400
Are you sure the router is not setup as G only? Windows connects to 802.11n perfectly fine. In fact, my other machine is hooked up at 300Mbps right now.

Check your router again, brochacho.
Labianator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 08:58 PM   #3
ΩBSOLETE
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 317
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Labianator View Post
Are you sure the router is not setup as G only? Windows connects to 802.11n perfectly fine. In fact, my other machine is hooked up at 300Mbps right now.

Check your router again, brochacho.
Here's my router's settings
ΩBSOLETE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:00 PM   #4
Labianator
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ΩBSOLETE View Post
Your problem is you're trying to use the 5Ghz band. Not all cards handle it well at all and some don't even bother.

Try it on the 2.4GHz band and see if it changes. Also, that's a Netgear, right?
Labianator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
ΩBSOLETE
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 317
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Labianator View Post
Your problem is you're trying to use the 5Ghz band. Not all cards handle it well at all and some don't even bother.

Try it on the 2.4GHz band and see if it changes. Also, that's a Netgear, right?
It is a netgear. I didn't know I could set the G channel to 300 MBPS
ΩBSOLETE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:07 PM   #6
Labianator
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ΩBSOLETE View Post
It is a netgear. I didn't know I could set the G channel to 300 MBPS
Your firmware looks like one of the WNDR series. If it is, the 2.4GHz band supports N and G. Both up to 300Mbps. SO change that as well.
Labianator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:30 PM   #7
Labianator
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 128
Any luck?
Labianator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:54 PM   #8
MmmBacon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 641
Posts: 966
If any G clients connect, the router will drop to G speeds to become backwards compatible.
MmmBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 01:43 AM   #9
ΩBSOLETE
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 317
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Labianator View Post
Any luck?
Its working fine now, I get about the same speed on wired as I do wireless now
ΩBSOLETE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 11:44 AM   #10
Labianator
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by MmmBacon View Post
If any G clients connect, the router will drop to G speeds to become backwards compatible.
No. The WNDR series will do both G and N at the same time. Completely mixed spec compatible.

I have the WNDR3700 is why I know.
Labianator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.