Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dear Esther

Old 02-25-2012, 05:20 AM   #1
dhmholley

Dear Esther: Why I Was Disappointed

First off, the following is my opinion. I'm not writing this to try to convince people who liked the game otherwise, I'm largely writing this so that people who are more foresighted than me and research the game before buying it get a dissenting opinion.

Secondly, it's turned out to be much longer than I was expecting. You have been warned.

---

I've been a staunch defender of the "games as art" movement since the early days. I'm also a game designer/developer myself, and ultimately I think supporting the indie gaming community is one of the most important things for the future of gaming.

Probably because of this, I've always been willing to give indie game developers a free pass if their game is lacking in one area or another; after all, it's just an indie game and it's just an indie studio, and they need our support. There's also an element of trust there, too - I am happy to give more than a game is worth as long as I can see real dedication in the developers.

So when I saw Dear Esther at £7 I balked. Rather steep for what the review I'd read had mentioned was an interactive story barely an hour or two long. But hey, it's an indie game, and it's supposed to cater to the "games as art" crowd, so I decided to bite the bullet and try it anyway. And hell, as long as it delivered on its promise it's still better value than a cinema ticket.

The trust bar here hadn't been set very high. I'd not been promised a lot by the game except for an engaging and emotional story and spectacular visuals. Should have been a piece of cake, really. But, as it turned out, it wasn't.

The visuals were good. About what I'd expect from the Source engine with some HD textures done by an artist who knew what they were doing. But ultimately the visuals aren't enough to carry the game.