Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 04:57 PM   #1
DrDrums
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I can't run gta4 on my computer...

I bought gta 4 not to long ago via the steam store. I downloaded and attempted playing it. It started the art/music loop as it loaded the game and that's where the issue is. It would just play the music/loop and all functions like the shift+tab menu wouldn't even work. I let it sit for about 30 minutes and still nothing...

Any help would be appreciated!
DrDrums is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:50 PM   #2
Smooth613
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 301
Posts: 754
The problem is that your PC is facing south east and the light in your kitchen is on.

No really, what help can be provided with the information you have given us? None. Start by listing your full PC specs and the exact error message you receive, if any, and we'll go from there.
Smooth613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:18 PM   #3
Achilles_88
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDrums View Post
I bought gta 4 not to long ago via the steam store. I downloaded and attempted playing it. It started the art/music loop as it loaded the game and that's where the issue is. It would just play the music/loop and all functions like the shift+tab menu wouldn't even work. I let it sit for about 30 minutes and still nothing...

Any help would be appreciated!

To check if ur system can run it or not

check this link: http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/intro.aspx
Achilles_88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:22 PM   #4
envirovore
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Reputation: 2107
Posts: 7,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles_88 View Post
To check if ur system can run it or not

check this link: http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/intro.aspx
This site is not an accurate representation of whether or not you can run a game.

It reports to users with Intel Integrated GPU's that they are able to run Amnesia The Dark Descent, which doesn't support Intel GPU's.
envirovore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:32 PM   #5
Achilles_88
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDrums View Post
I bought gta 4 not to long ago via the steam store. I downloaded and attempted playing it. It started the art/music loop as it loaded the game and that's where the issue is. It would just play the music/loop and all functions like the shift+tab menu wouldn't even work. I let it sit for about 30 minutes and still nothing...

Any help would be appreciated!

About ur shift + tab problem, just go to library while ur in steam and right click on GTA 4 then press properties and tick the box near "Enable Steam Community - In Game"
Achilles_88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:37 PM   #6
Achilles_88
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDrums View Post
I bought gta 4 not to long ago via the steam store. I downloaded and attempted playing it. It started the art/music loop as it loaded the game and that's where the issue is. It would just play the music/loop and all functions like the shift+tab menu wouldn't even work. I let it sit for about 30 minutes and still nothing...

Any help would be appreciated!
or go to this link that's the website i used to check my system:
http://www.yougamers.com/games/?mainnavi=true
Achilles_88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:38 PM   #7
DrDrums
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Specs:
8g ram
intel i3 2.20ghz processor
intel hd 3000 family graphics (newer version)

There was no error message at all! It just plays the loop with the art and music... i can pull up the steam tab for about 5 seconds but then everything locks up after that...
DrDrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:46 PM   #8
Smooth613
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 301
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDrums View Post
Specs:
8g ram
intel i3 2.20ghz processor
intel hd 3000 family graphics (newer version)
There's your problem. Time for a GPU upgrade to a discrete card from Nvidia or AMD.
Smooth613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:48 PM   #9
DrDrums
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
It can't possibly be my gpu...! It runs heavier games than gta!
DrDrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:53 PM   #10
Fac3hugg3r
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 84
GTA 4 supports only AMD(ATI) and Nvidia graphics cards. Also it runs like on graphics cards which have less than 1GB video RAM - I am not surprised it didn't run at all on your system with integrated Intel graphics.

You should always check recommended system requirements(minimum ones only mean that your game will run, playable frames per second is another story) before buying a game.
Fac3hugg3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 02:42 PM   #11
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 2801
Posts: 15,983
Intel videochips are very, very rarely supported and pretty often they still perform buggy.

The bigger problem is, it's not even a real videocard. The Intel HD videochip is part of your CPU, it's designed as a low power consuming videochip, which results in poor performance. Even videocards over 5 years old are faster than what you use at the moment.

If you have a PC, get a videocard. If you have a laptop, you're screwed.
Nekomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:40 PM   #12
envirovore
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Reputation: 2107
Posts: 7,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDrums View Post
It can't possibly be my gpu...! It runs heavier games than gta!
Try running Amnesia then and tell me it's not your GPU.
If you have a desktop, get a discreet GPU, it doesn't even need to be top of the line for that GTA4
envirovore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:51 PM   #13
Leemstradamus
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 19
Yea very true it you want to start gaming and want to run gta then it is time for a discreet gpu. Are you using a laptop? If so you are screwed. Also gta4 runs like a dog on any system. I have run that game on several high end rigs i have and have never had 60fps second locked. I started with sli 8800 gts's all the way up to a hd 5970 and my current main rig with sli gtx 580s. And that is with 3 ssd's lol
Leemstradamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:31 PM   #14
kaboro
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 18
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDrums View Post
It can't possibly be my gpu...! It runs heavier games than gta!
You do not have a GPU in your system. Intel integrated graphics is not gpu, its intel garbage/scam.
I dont know what you mean by heavier games than gta, heavy or not, some games will not run on intel integrated graphics and thats that.
If you are serious about playing games on your PC, you have to get yourself a graphic card, there is no way around it.
If not, just stick with consoles, intel graphics is not an option for pc games.

Also you might want to check your flash player, make sure you updated your flash player to latest version.
From what you describe it looks like the windows live login window doesnt show on your screen is why you cant play it.

Last edited by kaboro: 02-28-2012 at 07:06 PM.
kaboro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:00 AM   #15
tihi66
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 52
it's definitely graphic card problem. you can't expect integrated card to run GTA IV.
and as previous poster said, try updating (or installing!) flash player.
tihi66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.