Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 01:55 AM   #1
ChaosHydrA
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 90
Steam wont start in offline mode

Hi im having this issue for the first time, i lost my internet at home 2 days ago and for some reason it wont even start up in its offline mode? i cant play games like Alan Wake and Skyrim at all is there any way to fix this ?

All i get is a "steam could not connect to the network, please check your internet conenctions"

Im currently at some netcafe is there atleast a way i can configurer it from there so it will work at my home afterwards?
ChaosHydrA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:11 AM   #2
Apheirox
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 172
Posts: 1,055
I'm currently receiving the same error. First time I'm ever unable to connect so I believe the problem is on Steam's end. However, given the fact there are no people complaining about it here it could be it's just us.
Apheirox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:11 AM   #3
dxmc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 3101
Posts: 841
The way it's worked for me, you have to open your client online, then go to the Steam tab, click on go offline. Steam will then restart and after that it will ask you every time you restart it if you want offline mode.
dxmc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:13 AM   #4
Apheirox
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 172
Posts: 1,055
If he has the same problem as me he can't even access Steam and switch between online and offline modes. Are you saying you can connect? Where are you located?
Apheirox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:15 AM   #5
Hardkorn
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 207
Posts: 488
I believe that Skyrim dose not supported the Offline mode.
Hardkorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:18 AM   #6
dxmc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 3101
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apheirox View Post
If he has the same problem as me he can't even access Steam and switch between online and offline modes. Are you saying you can connect? Where are you located?
I'm connected to Steam right now and I'm in Canada. What I'm saying is that the client doesn't automatically start on offline mode if there's no internet connection, you have to be online then switch over, at least that's been my experience. But if your'e asking whether Steam is down or not, no it isn't.

And Hardkorn is right, not all games can be played in offline mode.

Last edited by dxmc: 03-02-2012 at 02:21 AM.
dxmc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:27 AM   #7
Ruptur3
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 137
Posts: 597
@HardKorn

You,my good man,deserve a Hi five.
To the face.

You gotto prepare for offline mode when your online.

It is not steam's fault that you neglected preparing for offline mode.

Offline mode is working as expected.

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...3160-AGCB-2555
Ruptur3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:36 AM   #8
Apheirox
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 172
Posts: 1,055
@ dxmc I was locked into a situation where the client wouldn't even start up to let me access switching to offline mode.

@ Hydra I somehow got it working. I suspect it had to do with a lack of free harddrive space since I started downloading Shogun 2 through Steam which is a massive 20 GB download. Check how much free disk you have. Also, try deleting clientregistry.blob and appupdate.blob files from your Steam folder.
Apheirox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:39 AM   #9
dxmc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 3101
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apheirox View Post
@ dxmc I was locked into a situation where the client wouldn't even start up to let me access switching to offline mode.

@ Hydra I somehow got it working. I suspect it had to do with a lack of free harddrive space since I started downloading Shogun 2 through Steam which is a massive 20 GB download. Check how much free disk you have. Also, try deleting clientregistry.blob and appupdate.blob files from your Steam folder.
I belive that the OP said that he has no internet, not that he has internet but can't connect to Steam. I think you are talking about 2 different things.If the OP can connect to Steam on line with the client there is no need to do anything but switch to offline, if you have internet but can't connect to Steam that is a more complicated issue.

Last edited by dxmc: 03-02-2012 at 02:42 AM.
dxmc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 03:28 PM   #10
triadwarfare
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruptur3 View Post
@HardKorn

You,my good man,deserve a Hi five.
To the face.

You gotto prepare for offline mode when your online.

It is not steam's fault that you neglected preparing for offline mode.

Offline mode is working as expected.

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...3160-AGCB-2555
Don't be rude to him. Maybe you do deserve a Hi 5 in the face.

Instant offline mode was still working 2004-2008. I used to have a dial up modem once and I can't afford to always go online and once there was a "huge" update, Either I had to uninstall the game or look for an "alternative source". Once I got broadband, I never really noticed that Steam doesn't go to offline mode "when needed" anymore.

Something changed in Steam. Before, you can start offline mode without having to manually set that you're going to offline mode while online first. (Although there were reliability issues back then when a game is 100% but cannot start because it was "not prepared to go to offline mode")

Although many people hate EA Origin, for some reason... because it can support offline mode properly (you can even log in without an internet connection assuming that you already logged in in the past) that's the reason why I'd prefer it over Steam. The other reason is that it can allow you to run an outdated game since the patch is downloaded separately. (I did have issues in the past where downloads would "fall back" but I think it's resolved now). I believe that Valve should fix basic features such as this.

Because of this kind of DRM, I'm trying to avoid Steam as much as possible. If you lose your internet connection unexpectedly, you won't be able to play your games until you go online again.
triadwarfare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 12:36 AM   #11
Trippy72
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Fix for offline mode (it worked for me anyway).

I had exactly this problem with the pre-installed Steam on my new Dell Alienware laptop. Offline mode would only work if I switched while online (which is pretty useless if your internet connection drops out unexpectdly).

But I found a fix on another forum: I went to the steam folder and deleted the file 'ClientRegistry.blob'. Then restarted Steam (online), and it immediately downloaded a large client update (which it never tried to do before). Then I switched it manually to offline mode once then back online.

It now works properly - it will start offline even if I left it in online mode after my last session.

Oh, and Skyrim works offline fine. In fact even 'Assassins Creed 2' and 'From Dust' work offline now (they originally both had the 'online only' DRM, but I guess Ubisoft changed their mind, or maybe it was always intended only for the initial sales period of the games).

Last edited by Trippy72: 06-24-2012 at 12:38 AM.
Trippy72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Tags
offline mode

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.