Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Garry's Mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 07:30 AM   #1
soopytwist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 349
Garry's mod no longer loads

It's been quite sometime since I last played around with Garry's Mod. Tried to load it just now but nothing happens when I run it from Steam. The "HL2.exe *32" process is running but the game isn't. I'm still on the desktop with Steam and HL2 is not on the taskbar.

I've verified the integrity and defragged cache. Also killed my antivirus and firewall (while offline). Pretty sure I have all the prerequisites to run the mod:

HL2
HL2 Deathmatch
HL2 Episode 1
HL2 Episode 2
Portal
Source SDK
SDK Base 2006
SDK Base 2007

If I try to run it again Steam tells me it's already running...when it clearly isn't.

EDIT

I should point out Half Life 2 works fine...even though it does CTD a lot while playing, but then it's done this for a few years ever since all the unnecessary updates (wish I'd kept a copy of the original exe - at least it worked back then.

Last edited by soopytwist: 03-03-2012 at 07:37 AM.
soopytwist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 06:10 PM   #2
sporeguy
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 19
Posts: 1,101
Exit the hl2 proccess, restart steam, and tr to run. If it doesnt work, please tell us your specs
sporeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 04:58 AM   #3
soopytwist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 349
I've tried multiple restarts of Steam and various launch commands, pretty much all of them actually.

My specs:

Core i7 965 Extreme 3.2Ghz
6Gb Corsair 1600
Asus P6T Deluxe
Nvidia EVGA GTX 580 (current driver version: 285.62)
DirectX 11
X-Fi Titanium Fata1ty
1200W Cooler Master Gold Pro
1Tb WD Caviar Black
500Gb Seagate Baracuda
Corsair 600t
Dell 2408WFP 24"
Windows 7 Ultimate (64 bit).
soopytwist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 12:40 PM   #4
sporeguy
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 19
Posts: 1,101
Well... Its not your computer.

Ths could be a corrupt file steam couldnt find, backup your addons, delete your gmod folder, try again
sporeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:12 PM   #5
soopytwist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 349
Already tried that. Deleted local content in Steam then exited Steam and deleted the entire garrysmod folder from steamapps/myusername/
Then re-downloaded the remaining 22%...still don't run. The last time I ran Garry's Mod I had slightly different specs. Prior to the GTX 580 was an ATi 4870X2 and I had Windows Vista.

Other than reinstalling Windows 7 I'm fresh out of ideas...and I'm not reinstalling Windows 7.
soopytwist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:00 PM   #6
sporeguy
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 19
Posts: 1,101
Reinstall steam
sporeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Garry's Mod


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.