Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Flat Out series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2012, 02:05 PM   #1
ZEQ2
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 146
FlatOut Ultimate Carnage:ERROR

When i try to launch FlatOut UC it says i need the Original CD/DVD/
ZEQ2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 02:15 PM   #2
ZEQ2
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 146
i really need tips
ZEQ2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 02:19 PM   #3
Silicon Vampire
 
Silicon Vampire's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3942
Posts: 17,602
First, I've moved this to the correct forum for your question.

Second,this is not real-time chat, it is a forum. You must allow time for others to see and respond if they know the answer.

Third, verify your game cache files.

__________________
Nothing to see here

Last edited by Silicon Vampire: 03-04-2012 at 03:29 PM.
Silicon Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 02:37 PM   #4
apaeth
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 44
Posts: 518
Did you install Origin? Flatout requires Origin and it has to be installed in order for Steam to open the game.
apaeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 03:00 PM   #5
ZEQ2
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 146
NON STEAM Version
ZEQ2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 03:15 PM   #6
T@F
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 1928
Posts: 10,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by apaeth View Post
Did you install Origin? Flatout requires Origin and it has to be installed in order for Steam to open the game.
No it don't.
it uses gfwl i think,I cannot remember long time since i played it.
T@F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 03:21 PM   #7
ZEQ2
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 146
FlatOut Ultimate Carnage requires GFWL?
ZEQ2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 03:29 PM   #8
Silicon Vampire
 
Silicon Vampire's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3942
Posts: 17,602
The retail version requires the DVD in the drive... beyond that, you'll need to ask for support from the publisher.

And yes, it is a GFWL title.

__________________
Nothing to see here

Last edited by Silicon Vampire: 03-04-2012 at 03:32 PM.
Silicon Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 03:43 PM   #9
apaeth
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 44
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by T@F View Post
No it don't.
it uses gfwl i think,I cannot remember long time since i played it.
Ooops - that's right - sorry. I get confused with all the clients
apaeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:57 AM   #10
inspiral66
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 894
Posts: 2,171
The game will not launch without Games for Windows Live. Download GFWL, install it, sign up, log-in...and then run Flatout UC.
inspiral66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:18 AM   #11
Haggis&Tatties
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 27
Posts: 297
^^Yeap, you need GFWL installed to run Flatout UC, that goes for both the retail and the steam version.
Haggis&Tatties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:02 AM   #12
Nobodo
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 285
Actually I believe the DVD installation of FO:UC includes GFWL. For some reason most Steam installs do not include it, prompting hate threads in these forums about GFWL.

But... it sounds like the problem the OP has is the copy protection on the original DVD; it requires the (original, not a copy) disc to be in the drive.
Nobodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:57 PM   #13
ZEQ2
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 29
Posts: 146
what is GFWL?
ZEQ2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:46 PM   #14
Nobodo
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEQ2 View Post
what is GFWL?
It is this.
Nobodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:41 AM   #15
Purple44
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 93
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobodo View Post
It is this.
The "GFWL stole my game" at Codemasters DIRT 2 forum made the list. Codies says they will not use GFWL for DIRT Showdown, will now use Steamworks.

Now if DIRT Showdown had 12 players online, DIRT Showdown would be a buy. Guess I will have to wait until summer of 2013 to get some 12 player derby racing action in with GRID 2.

DIRT Showdown
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRD8gUgtsnU

GRID derby racing online
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBY4fRbhbPk

Last edited by Purple44: 03-08-2012 at 03:13 AM.
Purple44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Flat Out series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.