Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RailWorks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2012, 06:35 AM   #1
culleydog34
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 564
Question has anyone ever installed railworks on a flash drive

my mechanical drive died, and I was curious if anyone has ever ran railworks from a flashdrive that I would never remove, if it would be playable, in theory the flash drive is more or less an external hardrive, is this possible?
culleydog34 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:25 AM   #2
michbret
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 93
Posts: 756
Hi Culley
What do you mean by flash drive ? A SSD ?
I don't understand also "in theory the flash drive is more or less an external hardrive"

If it is a SSD (Solid State Drive) which is a kind of "Flash Drive", it works very well as a replacement of an internal hard drive (especially a broken one). You will also have some speed improvement with Railworks on it (mostly faster loading time) a a little bit less stuttering.

However, the GB is much more expensive.

Regards
michbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:33 AM   #3
arizonachris
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 841
Posts: 7,466
A Flash Drive is one of those USB drives, also called a Pen Drive.

Gonna have to be a pretty big size drive. I clocked my RW install at 15Gb. I think they make them up to 64Gb these days? Not cheap, tho. Can you still access RW on the old drive, or is it completely toast?

How are you gonna run Windows? If you have to get a new hard drive, then might as well install windows and RW on the same drive.

I think the answer is yes, you should be able to run RW from a flash drive.
arizonachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:50 AM   #4
rgarber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 45
Posts: 364
Wouldn't you have to put the Steam client on the flash drive too? - Rich
rgarber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:15 AM   #5
Nana-chan
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 71
Posts: 426
You'd need a special high-speed one with USB 3.0. I have a bog-standard 32gb one for my work and it's just slow!
Nana-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:45 AM   #6
culleydog34
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 564
Cool reply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nana-chan View Post
You'd need a special high-speed one with USB 3.0. I have a bog-standard 32gb one for my work and it's just slow!
ya I think you answered my question, I was talking about a usb 3.0 flash drive, sorry for not being more clear. I had seen that you can get a usb 3.0 32 gig flash drive for 30-40 usd, and looking at read speeds I assumed that railworks could run off of this.i currently have 1 60 gig ssd for my boot drive, but as mentioned earlier my mechanical drive failed, but I quess I could just get another 60 gig ssd and use raid 0 and just back railworks and files up on a Blu-ray disc,its almost cheaper to back files up on a 25 gig Blu-ray then to replace a mechanical drive, as I am trying to move away from them all together, thanks for all the replys.
culleydog34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 12:08 PM   #7
arizonachris
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 841
Posts: 7,466
Good luck with that RAID 0. I just lost mine a few weeks ago. Connector on one of the drives broke off when I was replacing the PSU. Lost everything. Two weeks now and still finding bookmarks and reinstalling stuff. At least have one mechanical drive, say 500Gb, for an external backup drive. Keep it shut off unless you are doing a backup.
arizonachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 01:30 PM   #8
culleydog34
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 564
reply

Quote:
Originally Posted by arizonachris View Post
Good luck with that RAID 0. I just lost mine a few weeks ago. Connector on one of the drives broke off when I was replacing the PSU. Lost everything. Two weeks now and still finding bookmarks and reinstalling stuff. At least have one mechanical drive, say 500Gb, for an external backup drive. Keep it shut off unless you are doing a backup.
thanks for the advice, but sad thing is I don't have enough data to back up over 25 gig at most, so that's why I use a bd-rw for back up and keep some files on a thumb drive or dvd's
culleydog34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RailWorks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.