Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2012, 11:07 PM   #1
Nerubasasin19
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 58
Need help getting Stereo Mix to appear on VAIO Windows 7!

I know that Sony teamed up with the music industry to help stop piracy blah blah, so I know that Stereomix/its equivalent is disabled. I've tried making it appear by making it show disabled devices in the sound control panel, and I've tried downgrading the Realtek HD Drivers (That's my soundcard) to no avail. Unless I'm supposed to UNinstall than install the older drivers?

I'm going to make an LP, and i definitely need to record the sound from the comp to make sure it works.

Thanks in advance, it's late as hell where I am and I'm going to sleep now .
Nerubasasin19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:21 AM   #2
Bad_Motha
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 3208
Posts: 13,394
If you are certain it's Realtek HD. Uninstall what SONY provides (as they are usually outdated) and try the ones from Realtek's website for "Realtek HD Audio".

If you uninstall what SONY has provided and you are running Vista or Win7, these OS usually have a built-in driver for Realtek HD Audio. After the uninstall and reboot, let Windows install it's driver. After that is done, go ahead and try the one from Realtek's website and it will install overtop of the OS built-in drivers.
Bad_Motha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:47 AM   #3
Loopzz
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 56
Posts: 303
I have a Toshiba laptop that I can not get stereo mix to work on. It has a Conextant soundcard so my case was different. What I have done is get Virtual Audio Cable http://software.muzychenko.net/eng/vac.htm this works great for not only replacing the stereo mix but many other functions where I want to share the output of one program with several others. Worth the price imho!
Loopzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:19 PM   #4
Nerubasasin19
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Motha View Post
If you are certain it's Realtek HD. Uninstall what SONY provides (as they are usually outdated) and try the ones from Realtek's website for "Realtek HD Audio".

If you uninstall what SONY has provided and you are running Vista or Win7, these OS usually have a built-in driver for Realtek HD Audio. After the uninstall and reboot, let Windows install it's driver. After that is done, go ahead and try the one from Realtek's website and it will install overtop of the OS built-in drivers.
K, I'm going to try that than, I'll post whether it works or not. Wait, so after I uninstall and reboot, how will Windows know to update the drivers for the Audio? Would a notification show up as soon as I sign in?
Nerubasasin19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:37 PM   #5
Nerubasasin19
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 58
bumpppp, kinda need help on uninstalling the drivers and installing the new ones.
Nerubasasin19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:03 PM   #6
Bad_Motha
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 3208
Posts: 13,394
What do u need help with exactly?
It's pretty straight-forward.
Bad_Motha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:59 AM   #7
MmmBacon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 641
Posts: 963
You dont even need to update drivers.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/39532...-record-audio/
MmmBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:02 PM   #8
Nerubasasin19
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Motha View Post
What do u need help with exactly?
It's pretty straight-forward.
Well I get the uninstall driver bit, but what do I do after I reboot? Does Windows automatically give me a pop-up or something about getting the drivers for the Realtek HD sound card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MmmBacon View Post
You dont even need to update drivers.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/39532...-record-audio/
I already did try to make it show up by checking "Show disconnected and disabled devices", it's not there. And IDK which older driver I should install.

Last edited by rotNdude: 03-14-2012 at 01:26 PM. Reason: learn how to use the edit feature
Nerubasasin19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 02:06 PM   #9
Nerubasasin19
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 58
Found a way to get Stereo Mix, I had to install a driver from 2006, because apparently that's when people were still allowed to record from their speakers. Now, I'm trying to get that to work with CamStudio, but it's probably going to be a lot easier to fix that.
Nerubasasin19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.