Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 01:21 PM   #1
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Mass Effect saves

I want to transfer my Mass Effect 1 saves from my PC to my laptop. I've copied the savegames and put them in the folder I was supposed to, but when I start the game it doesn't appear. My PC has Win XP on it and my laptop has Win 7. Could this be why it doesn't recognize my saves?
Kazeh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:36 PM   #2
Ceron
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 182
Posts: 1,007
On your laptop, start a new game and save as soon as you can. Locate that save file and see if it's in the same location as where you transferred the old saves. It's a good idea to make completely sure you moved them to the correct location before trying more in-depth troubleshooting.

Last edited by Ceron: 03-14-2012 at 01:38 PM.
Ceron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 02:59 PM   #3
MoonUNit
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 2091
Posts: 3,596
The save files should exist in the my documents\bioware\mass effect folder
MoonUNit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:08 PM   #4
stoob
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 136
Posts: 1,104
I had trouble with this, have a look here:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2175365
stoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 02:51 AM   #5
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I copied the whole folder including the profile file which was supposed to contain my achievements. I cannot access my saves nor do my achievements show as completed. I can however view my saves if I start a new game and choose to continue with a profile I previously created. Unfortunately, the games says it cannot recognize the profile. The path where I copied my saves is Documents/BioWare/Mass Effect.
Kazeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:14 AM   #6
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I just realized something. On my PC I had both DLCs for ME, but I hadn't installed them on my laptop. I am currently downloading them and hopefully my saves should work now.
Kazeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:37 AM   #7
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I did as you suggested and started a new game and I had transferred the files to the correct folder. The old saves still don't show up even after I installed the DLCs and patched the game to the 1.02 version.
Kazeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:44 AM   #8
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
This is the message I receive when I try to start a new game using my old character. http://imgur.com/PiZjy
Kazeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:46 AM   #9
stoob
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 136
Posts: 1,104
The saves in your image don't look right, they should be the name of the character rather than the name of the file. Hmmm.

Did you copy the whole folder? i.e. the save and profile files are now located in the directory:

<drive>:\Users\<your profile name here>\Documents\BioWare\Mass Effect\Save
stoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:56 AM   #10
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I copied the whole ME folder like so: http://imgur.com/ENjJI
Kazeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:58 AM   #11
MoonUNit
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 2091
Posts: 3,596
Could be that there is a permissions issue, but that shouldn't happen if it's in your documents folder. It should autopopulate the information from the save file.
MoonUNit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 09:39 AM   #12
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I copied my ME2 saves as well and they work just fine and so do my achievements. Do you think I should try to reinstall the game and copy the saves again?
Kazeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:37 PM   #13
stoob
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 136
Posts: 1,104
Did you try only copying the saves directory in case there's some strange unaccountable glitch in moving one config or log to another?
stoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 07:13 AM   #14
Kazeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
No I haven't but it's kind of impossible now since I copied over the folder which was on my laptop so now I only have the files from my other computer.
Kazeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 07:34 AM   #15
Eetami
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 53
Posts: 503
Try reinstalling Mass Effect and then copying only the save files.
Eetami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.