Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 12:51 AM   #1
Graeldon
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Question Connecting to steam using proxy internet

First of all, I'm not entirely sure I'm posting this in the right place, so if not, please move this thread =)

Okay, so I don't have hardware issues as such, but I was hoping someone would know a work around to allow me to open Steam.
The problem is that the internet I use is connected to via a proxy connection (Entered under lan settings in internet options), and also requires a username and password. Because of this, external programs, such as Steam, iTunes, or other game launchers won't run. This means I am currently limited to web browsers only.
A solution I had been told about was to install a proxy program, eg proxy switcher, or allproxy. However, neither of these work.

If anyone knows a way of allowing me to use this internet connection to run all programs, please let me know!
Thanks.
Graeldon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 05:12 AM   #2
Dark Light
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 137
Posts: 2,292
Why are you wanting to do this in the first place, are you trying to get passed a network firewall?

I have done this before, can't remember what program I used but it wanted very slowly.
Dark Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:31 AM   #3
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10712
Posts: 46,640
Call the network administrators and ask them. If this type of network setup is being used it's usually because you are at school, business or government facility.
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:43 AM   #4
CaspianRoach
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 11
Posts: 41
You can get a program to point your other programs to use that proxy server. I think SocksCap can do that.
CaspianRoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:54 AM   #5
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5122
Posts: 10,942
Note that depending on how the proxy is set up you might not be able to get out anyway. Also getting steam to work over a proxy is 'fussy' at the best of times.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:05 PM   #6
Dark Light
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 137
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoru View Post
Note that depending on how the proxy is set up you might not be able to get out anyway. Also getting steam to work over a proxy is 'fussy' at the best of times.
You can get out of any network, find me one that will keep me in.
Dark Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:10 PM   #7
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5122
Posts: 10,942
You can get out but I've tried a few programs and they seem to cause Steam to crash if you do certain things at least on XP
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 10:03 PM   #8
Graeldon
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Quote:
Call the network administrators and ask them. If this type of network setup is being used it's usually because you are at school, business or government facility.
yes, the internet is at a university, I'm accessing from a college.
I have tried contacting the admin and IT support already and they couldn't help, so I thought I'd try another avenue.

Quote:
You can get a program to point your other programs to use that proxy server. I think SocksCap can do that.
Thanks, I'll check it out and see if anything happens.
Graeldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 05:08 AM   #9
Graeldon
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
I tried out SocksCap, two versions of it, but had no luck with either.
The proxy address would enter correctly, and the test would be successful, but attempting to open a web browser would fail.
Yes, I removed the old proxy settings from internet options.

Edit: Just saw this thread has been moved, and there is a post I hadn't seen regarding schools/universities. Some interesting info there, but my uni wasn't on the list, so I've added the info. Guess I'm just out of luck!

Last edited by Graeldon: 03-22-2012 at 05:19 AM. Reason: Found new information
Graeldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 12:18 PM   #10
damiangerous
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 194
Posts: 462
Steam doesn't support proxies, so it's a battle. SocksCap didn't work for me either. I eventually went with Proxifier. It's still fiddly and sometimes unreliable but it does generally work.
damiangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:23 AM   #11
Graeldon
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiangerous View Post
Steam doesn't support proxies, so it's a battle. SocksCap didn't work for me either. I eventually went with Proxifier. It's still fiddly and sometimes unreliable but it does generally work.
Thanks, Proxifier atleast let me open Steam, but it seems to have issues with connecting to servers. Proxifier is a step in the right direction as I can open Steam and download games, but it fails at connecting to servers, unless I'm not setting it up correctly.

I'll fiddle around and see if I can make magic happen, but a big thankyou damiangerous!
Graeldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 02:39 PM   #12
coolguymohak
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 23
Ya. I got the same problem too..im behin a proxy firewall..i used proxycap so im able to download games..login into steam etc..but i just cant connect ..plz help
coolguymohak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 05:09 AM   #13
mightyxgm
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolguymohak View Post
Ya. I got the same problem too..im behin a proxy firewall..i used proxycap so im able to download games..login into steam etc..but i just cant connect ..plz help
Well, I'm at school and i got the same problem. I also use Proxifier and I can onlu login to Steam and download updates, no connecting to game server. This is because in-game connection use UDP protocol while downloading games use TCP.

Well this describe TCP and UDP, http://www.skullbox.net/tcpudp.php

Now, you can NOT simply proxify UDP. I finally end up with using VPN instead.
I'd recommend you try OpenVPN since OpenVPN can connect to VPN server through proxy on port 443 which is HTTPS port and is normally not blocked.

It looks something like this:
http://openmaniak.com/openvpn/openvpn_nat.gif

Last edited by mightyxgm: 07-25-2012 at 05:10 AM. Reason: Added HTML Link for the link.
mightyxgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:02 AM   #14
ChrisW
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 942
Posts: 3,072
You should read the ISP agreement. These things are blocked for a reason and the act of bypassing this restriction can get you kicked off the network permanently. If you want to play games, you will need to purchase your own internet service instead of using the restricted service provided by your school.
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 07:57 AM   #15
m-p{3}
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 12
Posts: 1,264
You could try using a SOCKS proxifier with Steam, and use the -tcp command-line parameter at Steam launch to force the Steam client to only establish TCP connections.
m-p{3} is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.