Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sonic the Hedgehog series > Sonic the Hedgehog 4

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
AmineHsu
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 37
Is there a way to use non-XBox controllers?

I have a Frisby controller and wondering if I can make it work.
AmineHsu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:38 PM   #2
Sheen_ES
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 28
Posts: 100
You can use MotioninJoy. I use this one to play action games with my ps3 pad like a X360 one. I have never had any problem.

Regards.
Sheen_ES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:46 AM   #3
AmineHsu
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 37
sadly that seems to be PS3 controller only... mine is a PC USB controller.
AmineHsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 04:41 AM   #4
Sloopydrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmineHsu View Post
sadly that seems to be PS3 controller only... mine is a PC USB controller.
It works with any pad, I think (I know I've gotten it to work on a couple of old gaming pads I used on my last PC). But I've never been able to get it to work correctly with any pads -- PS3 or otherwise. There are other mappers out there. Or you could write a script using something like Glovepie.
Sloopydrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:21 AM   #5
crono5788
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I was able to use my USB gamepad using x360ce:

http://code.google.com/p/x360ce/

It uses your USB gamepad to map to a "virtual" 360 controller. Kind of strange to setup but it worked perfectly for Sonic 4 after I got it running.
crono5788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:43 AM   #6
Leox001
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 8
Posts: 460
yes use the X360CE tool to make your controller work as an Xbox 360 one
Leox001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:58 PM   #7
TroudhuK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
Thank's, this program (X360CE) is so great, I passed the start screen.
Maybe joytokey works too, I didn't try.
TroudhuK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 05:06 AM   #8
tutajkk
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 31
Posts: 781
I'm really disappointed. I could play Sonic Generations and sonic CD with my gamepad, but I can't play this one because there is no controller config and I can't change the keyboard controls and gamepad controls ingame. So I can't start the game, because my gamepad doesn't have a start button.
I also tried joytokey, but it didn't work for the arrow buttons for some reason. It works outside of the game, but not ingame.
Edit: Okay, I just got joytokey to work. I changed the arrow keys to random buttons in the sonic 4 config.

Last edited by tutajkk: 03-28-2012 at 05:19 AM.
tutajkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:47 AM   #9
kvothe19
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
I kind of got my game pad to work but left d pad makes me go right and vice versa. I cant find anyway to fix it in x360ce:
kvothe19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:28 PM   #10
toastandjam
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 160
Thumbs up

Xpadder 5.3 is free and essential. It maps keyboard keys to buttons on your controller. I'm playing on a PSX controller connected via a $5 USB dongle from ebay. It's awesome.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xpadder

Not sure if we can link to downloads here so just search for 'xpadder free' and find v5.3

I also use it for Steam's Sonic CD, Sonic 3 & Knuckles, and Adventure DX. Multiple savable button profiles supported.

Edit to add: Maybe its changed but I found x360e incredibly cumbersome to configure. Xpadder is a breeze.

Last edited by toastandjam: 05-26-2012 at 02:44 PM.
toastandjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:30 PM   #11
crowe
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 19
Posts: 79
I just used x360ce and it works fine. If your dpad is working wrong, then you set it up improperly. Map the directions on your d-pad manually in the program and it'll be fine.
crowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 02:55 AM   #12
WernerWarhead14
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 60
You can also use Joy2Key in case you just feel like binding the keyboard keys to the controller if nothing else works.
WernerWarhead14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 12:24 AM   #13
kvothe19
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowe View Post
I just used x360ce and it works fine. If your dpad is working wrong, then you set it up improperly. Map the directions on your d-pad manually in the program and it'll be fine.
how do I map it? i cant get anything to 'map' trial and error clicking every option including record which doesn't seem to work at all... I must have a dud controller or I'm just being dumb I guess.

btw When I don't have 'axis to dpad' enabled in advance i dont get the dpad to work at all! It's a very basic USB controller with only 10 buttons and one Dpad.

It's actually quite hard to play sonic when left D-pad= right move
kvothe19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 12:30 AM   #14
kvothe19
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
I even just tried going into the x350ce.ini file and changing it to
D-pad POV=
D-pad Down=DOWN
D-pad Left=RIGHT
D-pad Right=LEFT
D-pad Up=UP
on the off chance that might do something. but it didnt...
kvothe19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sonic the Hedgehog series > Sonic the Hedgehog 4


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.