Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 11:02 AM   #1
FASTSWiTCH
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 74
Posts: 225
CS:GO mapping config

Hello folks,

i was trying to start mapping for CS:GO. I got a 3 year expierence with Source SDK, unfortunately, you are not able to create maps in it for CS:GO, you´ll need to use the Alien Swarm SDK.

Well, i started with this little hint:

Quote:
It's better to use the Alien Swarm SDK, as they are closer to the tool versions used by Valve in-house. In order to get it working, download the swarm SDK and then launch it. Then double click "edit game configurations" and add a new config called CS:GO.

Simply add the path to your CS:GO install then hit OK; the path will look something like "Steam\steamapps\common\Counter-Strike Global Offensive\csgo", it's crucial that you include the csgo subdirectory at the end.

You'll then need to restart the swarm SDK to make your config take effect, then select it at next startup to start mapping.

Just be aware that you won't be able to add the CS:GO specific entities as we don't have the FGD, but you can configure Hammer to point to your CS:S FGD if you like, as I suspect that most of the entities will at least share names. (Tools -> Options)

Now, my problem:

I cannot compile any maps, regardless if its just a map with a simple box in it or a unedited decompiled map. There must be some general setting problem in the alien swarm sdk, because i am able to compile every map file in Source SDK with CS:S settings.

Well, alien swarm complains that there is a leak in the map. This can´t be, decompiled maps get that error too and as i said before, Source SDK compiles without any problems or reporting a leak.

This is my short error log: http://pastebin.com/qjzBFiD3

And this is my Config: http://minus.com/mbmqw2kq1n/2

Anybody here with a little hint?

Thanks and regards, Fastswitch
FASTSWiTCH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 03:48 PM   #2
Remer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 157
Posts: 744
I know your issue. Create a box around your entire map and tie it to a func_brush. Name the brush "structure_seal". Try compiling again.
Remer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:11 PM   #3
Chris528
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 13
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remer View Post
I know your issue. Create a box around your entire map and tie it to a func_brush. Name the brush "structure_seal". Try compiling again.
That's not really an ideal solution for a game like csgo, as the whole map will end up being drawn at the same time. You can simply open the expert compile settings , go to $bsp_exe and delete the parameter "-alldetail". The map should then compile like normal.
Chris528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.