Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sonic the Hedgehog series > Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 11:18 AM   #1
paratech2008
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 2003
Posts: 7,951
Having problems playing the game.

Frag, no matter what I do I get choppiness in the game (Sonic and Sega All Stars.) I tried making sure Firefox was closed, tried different resolutions, turned v-synch off, nothing.


-PC: AMD Quad Core A8-3800 Accelerated Processor, 16GB DDR3 Ram, Radeon HD45xx 1 GB video card, 1 TB hard drive, 500 GB hard drive, Supermulti DVD Burner, Wireless Lan 802.11 b/g/n, Beats audio Studio Quality sound, Win 7 Home Premium
paratech2008 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 10:28 AM   #2
the_man2010
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
lower the qualty settings, that should help.
the_man2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:01 PM   #3
Epitaph64
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
I'm getting lag in this game too, but there's not really any reason for it. I have an i7 920 at 3.8 ghz, 12 gigs RAM, crossfired 6870s... I disabled CF since that causes issues in certain games but it still is lagging badly.
Epitaph64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:05 PM   #4
lonewolf1044
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epitaph64 View Post
I'm getting lag in this game too, but there's not really any reason for it. I have an i7 920 at 3.8 ghz, 12 gigs RAM, crossfired 6870s... I disabled CF since that causes issues in certain games but it still is lagging badly.
Do you have any tasks running in the background that you may not be aware of?
lonewolf1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:07 PM   #5
D3rk01
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 32
Posts: 266
Same here...

My system:
Win7 64bit Ultimate
i7 2600k @ 5.0 Ghz
2x HD7970s 3gb
8gb ram
RAID0 2xOCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD
Deskstar 1.5GB HDD
Corsair Fatality 1000w PSU
Everything is water cooled.
D3rk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:08 PM   #6
Epitaph64
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by lonewolf1044 View Post
Do you have any tasks running in the background that you may not be aware of?
Nothing out of the ordinary. CPU usage is at 0-1% before I start the game, and RAM is 2.8 gigs out of 12. I managed to get it to run a bit better by turning of V sync and unchecking "widescreen" (although 1080p was still selectable, so not sure what that setting does.) Still hitches a bit though.
Epitaph64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:18 PM   #7
D3rk01
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 32
Posts: 266
Just tried taking vsync off... but I get 500+ fps, so tons of screen tearing and it's still stuttering...
D3rk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:29 PM   #8
Epitaph64
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3rk01 View Post
Just tried taking vsync off... but I get 500+ fps, so tons of screen tearing and it's still stuttering...
Yeah, I think it's hard drive related. After a couple of races the lag goes away for me. I think it's just trying to load sounds or explosions off the hard drive on demand instead of preloading.
Epitaph64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 07:00 PM   #9
D3rk01
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 32
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epitaph64 View Post
Yeah, I think it's hard drive related. After a couple of races the lag goes away for me. I think it's just trying to load sounds or explosions off the hard drive on demand instead of preloading.
For me every new stage has issues... I run the game off of 2xRAID0 SSD drives... so I get like around 1000mb per sec in reading. So it certainly isn't a HDD access problem.

Wasted $3 bucks... I refuse to play the game stuttering the way it is.
D3rk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 08:04 PM   #10
Kage_No_Shi
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 9
Posts: 253
I'm noticing the usual trend.

AMD card users are having performance issues.

I have a 570 (well 2, but I doubt it uses more than one) and have no problems playing it maxed out. Game also limits FPS to your monitor frequency (120hz = 120fps). Though one could force Vsync off of course.
Kage_No_Shi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 08:57 PM   #11
Quemical
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 326
Posts: 716
Same here. Will try and defrag my HDD, hopefully that will make it go away. Still not that big of a deal, enjoy the game a lot.
Quemical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 08:58 PM   #12
ezodagrom
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 232
Posts: 828
In the configuration tool, set the low detail models option to off or 1 player, I have less framerate drops when using that setting (the ice stage is too bright when using this option in off or 1 player though, but at least the framerate drops are less frequent). :\

BTW, I have a Phenom II X4 955 and Radeon HD6850.
ezodagrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 06:32 AM   #13
kindred
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2006
Reputation: 2
Posts: 96
I've got the same problem, but only when forcing AA. With it off, the game runs smooth without any stutters, but doesn't look as good. With AA on, the stuttering is really annoying, even though it's still running at 60fps.

I5-2500k 4200mhz
Geforce GTX 560ti
kindred is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sonic the Hedgehog series > Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.