Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Garry's Mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2012, 08:45 PM   #1
Dromadan
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Problem with Garry's Mod 9

Hello, i want to play Garry's Mod 9 to experience how Garry's Mod was before, but i can't really play because the main menu it's bugged, Play multiplayer game doesn't open up anything, so i can't really play.
Is there any way to fix this? I have Half Life 2, HL2DM, and CSS purchased.
Yes, i purchased Garry's Mod 11.
Dromadan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 09:15 AM   #2
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4714
Posts: 21,990
Gmod 9 is completely unsupported and is so old as to be useless.

Gmod 10-12 is available for 10 bucks in the Steam store and as long as you have the installed, legal copies of the other Source games needed (HL2, episodes 1, 2, Portal, TF2, Counterstrike Source) you won't have problems with textures, models or maps. Anything else is available for download (such as play modes, other fan-made items, etc). HL2dm won't help you much, but you've got the basics there with CSS/HL2.

If you've already BOUGHT gmod 11, ... use it. 9 won't help you.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:02 PM   #3
Dromadan
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zekiran View Post
Gmod 9 is completely unsupported and is so old as to be useless.

Gmod 10-12 is available for 10 bucks in the Steam store and as long as you have the installed, legal copies of the other Source games needed (HL2, episodes 1, 2, Portal, TF2, Counterstrike Source) you won't have problems with textures, models or maps. Anything else is available for download (such as play modes, other fan-made items, etc). HL2dm won't help you much, but you've got the basics there with CSS/HL2.

If you've already BOUGHT gmod 11, ... use it. 9 won't help you.
Alright, thanks for the support!
Dromadan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 12:46 AM   #4
illage2
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 61
GMOD9? Wait doesn't GMOD automatically update via Steam?
illage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:07 AM   #5
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4714
Posts: 21,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by illage2 View Post
GMOD9? Wait doesn't GMOD automatically update via Steam?
Gmod 9 is older by far than any of the paid format Gmod releases available through Steam.

Having the FREE version 9 does NOT ever in any way give anyone the PAID version 10+ available from the Steam store. It's not 'updated' because it's essentially a different game.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:04 PM   #6
Nightscout
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 39
It's Obsolete

GMOD 9 just can't be supported after all the updates the games you need to run it (ex:CSS) have gone through.

Sorry, i've tried
Nightscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 09:16 PM   #7
Patrick_b2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 40
Not sure what Gmod I have, bought it probably 3 months ago from steam. I own all Half-Lifes and trying to rotate objects in Gmod and everyone says press hold the "E" key while using the gravity gun "The blue one in Gmod" All I can do is stand in place while pressing the E key the move the object forward of backward. can't rotate.

I mainly use my Wired USB XBOX 360 controller, but also use the USB mouse. And still can't find a way to rotate a object. Just check now, I can move the oject around with the Ggun but if I press and hold the E key I can't move the object at all.

Last edited by Patrick_b2007: 04-07-2012 at 09:20 PM.
Patrick_b2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 09:25 PM   #8
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4714
Posts: 21,990
You should be able to use the mouse-look to change the angle of the object. I have been offline and unable to play gmod lately, so I can't recall exactly what I do, but if you are using some other kind of interface device, ditch it and go back to keyboard and mouse. The controller may be interrupting the program.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 09:34 PM   #9
Patrick_b2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 40
Okay it was the 360 Controller. Thanks.. I'll just use the controller when I play a game and the mouse for editing. Since im on here. How do you create hills and such? Im working on a personal level, Or really just making my own Half-Life level and dont see how to create hills and water. Also Do I weld or just use freeze object? I've been using weld to keep things in place. Would freeze be better? Im still new to gmod.
Patrick_b2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 05:52 AM   #10
sporeguy
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 19
Posts: 1,101
If you want to make maps, use the sdk hammer editor. Its a bit hard but its great learning for the game in even in real life , since its a true sdk meant for making maps and even your own games (mods, to be specific).

Freezing is faster, but if you accidently push R twice, everything will unfreeze. So its safer to weld, although it takes time and hitting a unfrozen welded object could cause it to spazz out. So the best choice is the freeze and weld
sporeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Garry's Mod


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.