Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 12:28 AM   #1
pbparadox
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Will Steam Install 64-Bit Version of Games

I'm currently running Windows 7 x64. Steam automatically installed as a x86 program, from which I understand is the only version at the moment (I may be wrong). I was wondering when I install games I've purchased through Steam if it will install the 64-bit versions if available?
pbparadox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:35 AM   #2
ntarcher
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
yea, nothing to worry about
ntarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 03:39 AM   #3
Disc1ple
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 510
Game installation works with according to your OS, always.
Disc1ple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:08 AM   #4
eydeeb
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 795
Posts: 2,744
Problem is, there are very few 64-bit games. Crysis Warhead probably, and maybe a few more, but 99,9999999999999999999999% of games have 32-bit version only, and that's what will be installed.
eydeeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:24 AM   #5
Menphues
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 307
Posts: 1,617
If the game runs and supports 64bit it will automatically allocate to that, if you are running it.

I installed my Steam on a seperate folder on a seperate drive, did not do the program files install. Mine is custom and I am also running 64bit and games that support it with more ram is automatic from what I can tell.

Take Metro 2033 for example. It requires like 7GB of ram or something mad like that, and it works perfect without any configure.
Menphues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 05:05 AM   #6
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5122
Posts: 10,926
This has been discussed

1) Steam only has a 32bit version. There is absolutely no need for Steam to have a 64-bit version. It does not make it 'better faster stronger' by making it 64-bit. It would only be able to address more memory. If Steam is taking up more than 4GB, something else is wrong.

2) Steam installs 64bit executables IF the developer makes one available.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.