Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Microsoft Flight

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2012, 10:17 AM   #1
Fabe_ca
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 34
Trimming tips

Any got some tips for trimming a plane? I've just been tapping the up/down trim buttons until I think I'm level but with my altimeter always going up or down I'm never sure if I'm bounced out.
Fabe_ca is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:56 AM   #2
bastila13091
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 730
This game is kinda fickle on the trim. It's pretty hard to be completely level in it without using a stick. The only way that I seem to make it work roughly is by just getting it rather close. You can see the actual degrees of trim by mousing over the trim in the cockpit.
bastila13091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 11:29 AM   #3
Fabe_ca
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 34
Tell me about it, I'm having lots of trouble on the landing mission with the A5,once I throttle back and drop the landing gear I go into a damn near nose dive and can't pull up very much or the stall warning goes off. I'm so busy trying not to crash and work the trim at the same time I end up either crashing or coming in too low or high and fail the mission.
Fabe_ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 12:30 PM   #4
bastila13091
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 730
The landing challenges? And dont worry about the trim. Put that in neutral and adjust your levelness yourself. And the Icon-5 stalls at about 50 knots per hour so you need to keep your speed above that. On most runways you can stay much higher speed to land.
bastila13091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 04:26 PM   #5
Fabe_ca
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bastila13091 View Post
The landing challenges? And dont worry about the trim. Put that in neutral and adjust your levelness yourself. And the Icon-5 stalls at about 50 knots per hour so you need to keep your speed above that. On most runways you can stay much higher speed to land.
It's actually the A5 Landing tutorial mission I'm having the trouble with,the one that introduces the PAPI lights. Malia says I should be able to land hands off with the trim adjusted properly but as I said I'm too busy keeping the nose up to adjust my trim and if I try to manage both I end up too low or too high for the approach and fail the mission.
Fabe_ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 04:37 PM   #6
Gibbage
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 76
I think the A5 Landing tutorial is bad. They tell you to flair WAY WAY too early. Follwing her instructions, you will stall before you land. The point is when landing to time the stall the moment your tires touch. Thats what a flair is. Try delaying your pull-up way past were she says to do so.
Gibbage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 04:17 PM   #7
Duesselwings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabe_ca View Post
Any got some tips for trimming a plane? I've just been tapping the up/down trim buttons until I think I'm level but with my altimeter always going up or down I'm never sure if I'm bounced out.
Hey!

Did you try to change the trim-value in the standard.xml? after update, it was changed from "32" to "100"... It worked better but in the Maule with a Saitek Yoke I had still 2-3° steps. Very nervous trimming...
I changed then to "200" and now it works in 1°-steps... result is a much smoother trim... Maybe a higher value brings steps lower than 1°, but I haven´t tested it yet.
Duesselwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 04:44 PM   #8
Fabe_ca
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duesselwings View Post
Hey!

Did you try to change the trim-value in the standard.xml? after update, it was changed from "32" to "100"... It worked better but in the Maule with a Saitek Yoke I had still 2-3° steps. Very nervous trimming...
I changed then to "200" and now it works in 1°-steps... result is a much smoother trim... Maybe a higher value brings steps lower than 1°, but I haven´t tested it yet.
Rather not change any of the game files plus I'm pretty sure I'm getting 1 degree steps already.
Fabe_ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 06:13 PM   #9
AzureWX
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 145
Another useful trick for level flight is to flip on mouse mode. It can work sort of like a basic heading & altitude hold autopilot. I wouldn't fly an approach with it though...
AzureWX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Microsoft Flight


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.