Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Total War: SHOGUN 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2012, 01:13 AM   #1
colonial113
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 86
Just bought FotS - but what about Shogun 2 now?

I bought FotS in retail and successfully activated inside Steam. Shows up in my history as it should.
But here is the strange thing: in my steam Library, the game shows up as "Total War - Shogun 2", and FotS is listed in the DLC section! So - not a separate entity in my Library list - altough Steam advertises the game as a completely separate product!
The problem it creates is that Steam maybe now believes that I own Shogun 2 - because I have no option of actually buying the game!
What the heck?
colonial113 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:05 AM   #2
daelin4
 
daelin4's Avatar
 
Moderator - Total War
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 125
Posts: 567
That's normal. Fall of the Samurai's campaign is listed under the Main Menu's new campaign; if you don't own Shogun2, then it's campaign will be greyed out.

Are you trying to purchase Shogun 2? What does it say?
daelin4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:11 AM   #3
colonial113
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by daelin4 View Post
Are you trying to purchase Shogun 2? What does it say?
Yepp, this is the problem, it says:
"You already own Total War: SHOGUN 2" -> PLAY NOW
And have the option to buy it as a gift...
I've just been informed by my friend, who also bought it in retail, that he suffers from the exact same problem!
colonial113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:07 PM   #4
Summit41
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
I already owned Shogun 2, but I would like to install Fall of the Samurai without installing Shogun 2. This shouldn't be a problem because it is a stand-alone expansion. But since FotS is listed as DLC, I can't get it to work.

Any help would be a appreciated!
Summit41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:40 PM   #5
daniu
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 145
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Summit41 View Post
I already owned Shogun 2, but I would like to install Fall of the Samurai without installing Shogun 2. This shouldn't be a problem because it is a stand-alone expansion. But since FotS is listed as DLC, I can't get it to work.
To save space you mean? That is not possible, the two games share so many files it wouldn't make sense anyway. In your configuration, you start FotS from within Shogun 2.

As for OP's problem, that is weird indeed. I'd go post at the official forums to get support for that.
daniu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:45 PM   #6
3asytarg3t
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 67
Posts: 980
If you've got a 2nd HD here's your solution:

http://www.stefanjones.ca/steam/
3asytarg3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:23 AM   #7
Tz33ntch
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Got the same problem.
Does this mean I can't buy Shogun 2 now at all?
Tz33ntch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:38 AM   #8
bannoura
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 134
Posts: 595
Have you guys tried to buy it from other websites? then just activate the key through steam. I imagine steam won't let you buy it cause it thinks you have it but if you just get a code and plug it in, it might work? just an idea
bannoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:40 AM   #9
Tz33ntch
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Yeah, it might work, but I don't want to waste $30 on something that just might work.
Tz33ntch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:48 AM   #10
bannoura
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 134
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tz33ntch View Post
Yeah, it might work, but I don't want to waste $30 on something that just might work.
http://www.keygamepc.com/products/st...l#.T42C2NW26wY

I think it's a big possibility that it will work, just noway to be sure

Last edited by bannoura: 04-17-2012 at 07:51 AM.
bannoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:46 AM   #11
daelin4
 
daelin4's Avatar
 
Moderator - Total War
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 125
Posts: 567
Isn't it possible to buy as a gift and then say you want it for yourself?
daelin4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 12:02 AM   #12
codyhardy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Go steam--> Activate produnct --> Enter your shogun 2 CDKeys there--> Enjoy
codyhardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Total War: SHOGUN 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.