Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Stellar Impact

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2012, 07:04 AM   #1
nems
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 65
Red face Stutter in the game after a while?

*** POSSIBLE FIX FOR THE STUTTERING ***
Please check this post: http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showpost.php?p=30330932&postcount=1 made by ace lonewolf, this seems to work for me.


Anyone else have issues with stuttering happening after a while in the game?

Im not talking about network lag here, its more like a memleak.
Game (visuals and sound) will stutter occasionally every 15-20sec, driving me crazy. Eventually it will crash if i dont restart the game.

I have turned my graphics down from max (which ran fine, but started stuttering) to medium. Im not sure if there is any difference in when the game starts this stuttering tho..

I also tried deactivating sound without any change, although i only tried this AFTER game started stuttering. Will double check later to see if stutter happens if sound has been off the entire session.

Anyone got this issue or know of a way to fix it?
Anyone NOT got this issue? Specs?
I got good enough hardware for this game to run nicely, drivers are up to date too.


Specs:

Windows 7 Pro x64. All latest updates installed.
Geforce 560Ti. 296.10 WHQL
Asus Xonar DX. 7.12.8.1794
8gb Ram
i5 760

Game resides on a WD Black 1TB disk.

<<<EDIT>>>

Please post your specifications if you reply to thread about this issue, dont hesitate to post if you dont experience this issue as im still not sure if its widespread or not.

Apparently the stuff in the logs dont have anything to do with the problem, i have checked my logs consistently after each and every game, and it seems like its random what the latest debug message is before it starts looping that "UnityEngineDebug" thing.

Also of note is that the log file will be overwritten upon start of game, so no worries about it hogging all your HDD space.

Last edited by nems: 04-17-2012 at 03:03 AM. Reason: Added possible fix
nems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:14 AM   #2
Dilligaf
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 23
Posts: 23
Same here. Check the logfile size in the corresponding install folder... Mine grew to > 700 MB after ~ 30 Minutes of playing. So a fiy may be not to write errors in the logfile, which would require the developers to not produce errors in the first place. Nothing I could think of to do on our side.

Excerpt from output_log.txt:
Code:
Direct3D:
    Version:  Direct3D 9.0c [aticfx32.dll 8.17.10.1119]
    Renderer: ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
    Vendor:   ATI
    VRAM:     1014 MB (via DXGI)
    Caps:     Shader=30 DepthRT=1 NativeDepth=1 NativeShadow=1 DF16=1 DF24=1 INTZ=1 RAWZ=0 NULL=1 RESZ=1 SlowINTZ=1
<I> Initializing (RawInput).

<RI> Input initialized.

desktop: 1920x1200 60Hz; virtual: 1920x1200 at 0,0
...
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/842f9557127e852/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 34)

IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
  at (wrapper managed-to-managed) object:ElementAddr (object,int,int,int)

  at EntityManager.AddTurretToShip (UInt32 _iTurretType, Int32 _iTurretWeight, Int32 _iIndex, UnityEngine.GameObject _ParentShip, Int32 _iFaction) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 

  at OuterGameMain.InstanciateHangarShip (UInt32 _iWeaponID) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 

  at OuterGameMain.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 
 
(Filename:  Line: -1)
...
KeyNotFoundException: The given key was not present in the dictionary.
  at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[System.UInt32,UnityEngine.Texture2D].get_Item (UInt32 key) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 

  at GuiShipMenu.ShipInfo_DrawMain () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 

  at GuiShipMenu.Draw () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 

  at OuterGameMain.OnGUI () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 
...
Skipped rendering frame because GfxDevice is in invalid state (device lost)
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/842f9557127e852/Runtime/Misc/Player.cpp Line: 1466)
...
I think the last line would be repeated indefinitely, if I would not have quit the game. Just started the game for the purpose of providing the log entry. Won't play it, until the game is fixed.

Last edited by Dilligaf: 04-15-2012 at 07:23 AM. Reason: Added log
Dilligaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:20 AM   #3
nems
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dilligaf View Post
Same here. Check the logfile size in the corresponding install folder... Mine grew to > 700 MB after ~ 30 Minutes of playing.
Just checked mine, 435MB, wow..


Code:
in gas cloud
UnityEngine.Debug:Internal_Log(Int32, String, Object)
UnityEngine.Debug:Log(Object)
PlayerShipScript:UpdateInfos(Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Single, Int32, Single, Int32, Int32, Single, Single, Int32, Single, Int32, Int32, Single, Single, Single, Single)
Game:Event_PlayerInfoReceived(Byte[])
Game:TreatGameServerNetworkMessages()
Game:Update()
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/842f9557127e852/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 34)

gascloud_01_sound not found
UnityEngine.Debug:Internal_Log(Int32, String, Object)
UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object)
PlayerShipSoundManager:PlaySound(String)
PlayerShipScript:UpdateInfos(Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Single, Int32, Single, Int32, Int32, Single, Single, Int32, Single, Int32, Int32, Single, Single, Single, Single)
Game:Event_PlayerInfoReceived(Byte[])
Game:TreatGameServerNetworkMessages()
Game:Update()
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/842f9557127e852/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 34)

disconnection
Then it just repeats

Code:
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/842f9557127e852/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 34)

disconnection
forever.. Any dev input please? Maybe i should stay away from gas clouds..



EDIT: seems i get other error messages than what you do. I had some of those "Skipped rendering frame because GfxDevice is in invalid state (device lost)" in the beginning, but with no timestamps its hard to say if those just occurred at gamestart or whatever..
nems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:21 AM   #4
wuweird
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 11
Posts: 61
It definitely looks like a memleak. I get the stutter a lot, but I left the tutorial running for about an hour and came back to find it really pronounced. After another few minutes it crashed with an error something like: "Fatal error in gc: too many heap sections"
wuweird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:23 AM   #5
nems
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 65
Please check your log wuweird. Its located in X:\steam\steamapps\common\stellar impact\StellarImpact_Data where X is your drive.
nems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:27 AM   #6
Dilligaf
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 23
Posts: 23
I really own many games. Especially on steam. But this is one of the most disapointing, as being a completely unfinished product, purchases since quite some time. I think I will just leave it sit in my inventory for a while, and check back in half a year or so.

Quote:
EDIT: seems i get other error messages than what you do.
I've had yours yesterday. If I'd be ingame, I'd probably have the same ones again. Doesn't matter. Hopefully their next patch will no simply disable the logging telling us, it's "fixed" for most systems...

Last edited by Dilligaf: 04-15-2012 at 07:32 AM.
Dilligaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:28 AM   #7
wuweird
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 11
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by nems View Post
Please check your log wuweird. Its located in X:\steam\steamapps\common\stellar impact\StellarImpact_Data where X is your drive.
Mine is 780MB and after the first 5k or so lines it also loops on:
Code:
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/842f9557127e852/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 34)

disconnection
The last message before that:
Code:
alling PlayFx()
UnityEngine.Debug:Internal_Log(Int32, String, Object)
UnityEngine.Debug:Log(Object)
PlayerShipScript:UpdateTeammateInfos(Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Single, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Single, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, Single, Int32, Single, Single, Single)
Game:Event_TeammateInfoReceived(Byte[])
Game:TreatGameServerNetworkMessages()
Game:Update()

Last edited by wuweird: 04-15-2012 at 07:30 AM.
wuweird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:56 AM   #8
nems
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 65
Hm ok, im not getting anything from this..

At least it seems the game is logging the stuff that causes the stuttering, but it seems it might be different things the three of us..

I will go ingame and play for a bit, to generate a new log file and compare with the old to see if its any different.
nems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:39 AM   #9
Chronomancer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
I had the same issue. I then launched the game windowed instead of fullscreen.

The issue is gone for now, so this is my workaround until the devs fix it.

It's a little sad because this is the best and most balanced MOBA I've played so far.
Chronomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:51 AM   #10
nems
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 65
Ok i will try windowed and see if that works better for me.

Disabling sound did not work for me.


After 2 more sessions now ive looked at the log after each one, and every time there are different error messages. A lot of them.

Hopefully the devs will take a look at this thread, if you do, please let me/us know if you want logs , i will zip and send..
nems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 11:30 AM   #11
davel23
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 85
I'm having the same problem, in case it makes a difference to anyone.
davel23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 11:59 AM   #12
big_d4ddy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
Yeah, I'm having the same stuttering, just checked my output log, 990mb!!

When I click to open it it stops responding?

Can I delete this file? Or is it needed?
big_d4ddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:04 PM   #13
big_d4ddy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by big_d4ddy View Post
Yeah, I'm having the same stuttering, just checked my output log, 990mb!!

When I click to open it it stops responding?

Can I delete this file? Or is it needed?
Never mind, the file deletes itself when I restarted the game, hope the stutter stops as its a very good game
big_d4ddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:32 PM   #14
Azix220
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 8
Posts: 37
I have the same problem after playing for a bit. For the record.
Azix220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:38 PM   #15
nems
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronomancer View Post
I had the same issue. I then launched the game windowed instead of fullscreen.

The issue is gone for now, so this is my workaround until the devs fix it.

It's a little sad because this is the best and most balanced MOBA I've played so far.
Playing in windowed mode was not a solution for me unfortunately.

It didnt help at all, started lagging after a short battlefield match.
nems is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Stellar Impact


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.