Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2012, 09:31 AM   #1
Shadowblade001
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 247
Posts: 2,676
kdbsync.exe and opencl.dll?

My PC vendor advised a few days ago that it was safe to uninstall all the NVidia graphics and RealTek HD on-board chip sound drivers as I have a Radeon HD7970 and Creative soundcard. The others were installed from their Windows mirror, along with the Catalyst, AMD and Creative drivers.

Now, whenever I reboot, I get a message saying that kdbsync.exe cannot start because opencl.dll is missing from my system.

Catalyst and the Radeon drivers are still on my system and working, Skyrim seems to run as normal and so far I haven't detected any other problems. I've switched off and cold-booted several times since doing this and I keep getting this message as soon as Windows has loaded, although Skyrim and everything else still runs OK. The only other thing is that I still have the Catalyst Installer in installed programmes but I'm sure I had Catalyst 12.3 as well and now can't find it, although I didn't uninstall it and it still seems to work.

kdbsync.exe is in C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin, and the only other file in there is aml.kdb. I don't know if AMD AVT is AMD Advanced Video Technologies or something else.

Google has 1000s of hits mentioning this message but not solving it. I'm new to Windows 7 and don't know where to disable programmes from loading on startup or whether this is even appropriate to do.

I've e-mailed my vendor, but I'm likely to get a faster response from this board.


Cheers


~.~
Shadowblade001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:49 AM   #2
bobczes
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 990
Posts: 3,180
Search your C: drive and find a copy of OpenCL.dll and OpenCL64.dll in C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore

Copy the most recent of the 'OpenCL.dll' DLLs found to the same folder where kdbsync.exe resides (C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin in my case) rather than to folder system32.

You can also download OpenCL.dll from Here: http://www.dllme.com/dll/download/5082/OpenCL.dll I am just not certain if it is a safe download.

Previous apology accepted.

Last edited by bobczes: 04-18-2012 at 10:01 AM.
bobczes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:26 AM   #3
Shadowblade001
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 247
Posts: 2,676
Cheers, my AV has determined it is safe and it fixed the error message! And I've favourited that link.

If I could give you 10 rep points I would, but I have to rep some other people first. SWIZZ!

opencl.dll was definitely missing as I'd already searched for it. I am currently unsure whether I have Catalyst 12.2 or 12.3 installed, but I've downloaded 12.3 and when I work up the courage I'll try updating.

ATI/AMD drivers are dreadful to install properly, but there was a thread here a while back and I copied the process using driversweeper to uninstall them properly.

Thanks for the link in the other thread as well. Only using Win7 for about a month so I've not had to use Safe Mode yet, but I put that link into my favourites for when I do. I had to use safe mode with XP to uninstall ATI drivers with some driver cleaner programmes.


Cheers!

~.~
Shadowblade001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:30 PM   #4
fliparto
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobczes View Post
Search your C: drive and find a copy of OpenCL.dll and OpenCL64.dll in C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore

Copy the most recent of the 'OpenCL.dll' DLLs found to the same folder where kdbsync.exe resides (C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin in my case) rather than to folder system32.

You can also download OpenCL.dll from Here: http://www.dllme.com/dll/download/5082/OpenCL.dll I am just not certain if it is a safe download.

Previous apology accepted.
Are you saying to put "OpenCL.dll and OpenCL64.dll in C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin?
fliparto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 03:11 AM   #5
Shadowblade001
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 247
Posts: 2,676
On my system (Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit) with Catalyst 12.3, buld 8.951, there is no openCL64.dll.

There is a folder called OpenCL64 and an msi file called OpenCL64.msi.


OpenCL.dll is in:
C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin


OpenCL64.msi is in:
C:\AMD\Support\12-3_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc\Packages\Apps\OpenCL64


I downloaded the dll from that site and it worked fine again. Later, I upgraded from Catalyst 12.2 to 12.3, which would also restore the file.


Cheers


~.~
Shadowblade001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 01:14 AM   #6
gr3y
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 12
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowblade001 View Post
ATI/AMD drivers are dreadful to install properly, but there was a thread here a while back and I copied the process using driversweeper to uninstall them properly.
That might have been true 3-4 years ago, but they're pretty straightforward now, as long as you actually read the warnings about requiring a .NET installation. Also, you shouldn't need to run driversweeper unless you're changing graphics cards. Any new catalyst driver updates you get will audit your current drivers and catalyst software and determine exactly what needs to be updated, and what can be left alone. So, in reality, running driver sweeper will have no benefit, and will make your driver install times longer.
gr3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 07:52 AM   #7
jimboden
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr3y View Post
That might have been true 3-4 years ago, but they're pretty straightforward now, as long as you actually read the warnings about requiring a .NET installation. Also, you shouldn't need to run driversweeper unless you're changing graphics cards. Any new catalyst driver updates you get will audit your current drivers and catalyst software and determine exactly what needs to be updated, and what can be left alone. So, in reality, running driver sweeper will have no benefit, and will make your driver install times longer.
I never uninstall AMD drivers before updating and it's never caused me a problem. I'm currently at 12.3.
jimboden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:01 AM   #8
jimboden
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowblade001 View Post
My PC vendor advised a few days ago that it was safe to uninstall all the NVidia graphics and RealTek HD on-board chip sound drivers as I have a Radeon HD7970 and Creative soundcard. The others were installed from their Windows mirror, along with the Catalyst, AMD and Creative drivers.

Now, whenever I reboot, I get a message saying that kdbsync.exe cannot start because opencl.dll is missing from my system.

Catalyst and the Radeon drivers are still on my system and working, Skyrim seems to run as normal and so far I haven't detected any other problems. I've switched off and cold-booted several times since doing this and I keep getting this message as soon as Windows has loaded, although Skyrim and everything else still runs OK. The only other thing is that I still have the Catalyst Installer in installed programmes but I'm sure I had Catalyst 12.3 as well and now can't find it, although I didn't uninstall it and it still seems to work.

kdbsync.exe is in C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin, and the only other file in there is aml.kdb. I don't know if AMD AVT is AMD Advanced Video Technologies or something else.

Google has 1000s of hits mentioning this message but not solving it. I'm new to Windows 7 and don't know where to disable programmes from loading on startup or whether this is even appropriate to do.

I've e-mailed my vendor, but I'm likely to get a faster response from this board.


Cheers


~.~
Why did you want to uninstall the Realtek drivers? Did you disable the on board audio in your BIOS as well? There are some 3rd party software packages that play DVD's, Blu Rays, etc. that won't run properly if the on board audio is turned off in the BIOS. I also have a Sound Blaster and disabled the Realtek audio in my BIOS and discovered this problem the hard way. I tried software from Corel and Cyberlink and neither one worked with the Realtek disabled. Neither company could tell me why this was and I ended up fixing it myself with some guess work by simply turning the Realtke on in my BIOS even though I don't use it.
jimboden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:28 PM   #9
dougdingle
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobczes View Post
Search your C: drive and find a copy of OpenCL.dll and OpenCL64.dll in C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore

Copy the most recent of the 'OpenCL.dll' DLLs found to the same folder where kdbsync.exe resides (C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin in my case) rather than to folder system32.

You can also download OpenCL.dll from Here: http://www.dllme.com/dll/download/5082/OpenCL.dll I am just not certain if it is a safe download.

Previous apology accepted.
I have this same problem and have been unable to solve it.

But I can say this: going on to the dllme.com website, it downloaded a driveby trojan onto my machine which then tried to install itself as a service. I was alerted to this, and killed it.

Be careful out there.
dougdingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 06:24 AM   #10
Shadowblade001
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 247
Posts: 2,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimboden View Post
Why did you want to uninstall the Realtek drivers? Did you disable the on board audio in your BIOS as well?
I just wanted to get rid of stuff that was superceded by other software and drivers for the graphics card and sound card to avoid possible conflicts. My vendor advised about the BIOS, so I left the Realtek as it was. I recently got an external Blu-Ray drive with Cyberlink software (I still have two previous versions from my old machine) and it seems to work OK, luckily, and I've no problems with my ordinary "Red-Ray" DVD drive.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougdingle
I have this same problem and have been unable to solve it.
If you have an ATI/AMD card, installing the full version of Catalyst should fix this. According to my vendor the dll is part of one of the component programmes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougdingle
But I can say this: going on to the dllme.com website, it downloaded a driveby trojan onto my machine which then tried to install itself as a service. I was alerted to this, and killed it.

Be careful out there.
Good advice. Sometimes my AV blocks access to a site saying that it contains malware, but not with that one. And I run a full system scan frequently. After web browsing it always finds 5 to 15 cookies it reckons are malware, adware etc.

But what is a "driveby Trojan"? Is this something that just roams about or automatically installs from a web site?

I HATE that - every little thing tries to make itself your default browser or install a toolbar - if I allowed them to do so I'd have no room left on my 24" monitor to see the web page! And whenever you're looking for things, there's a huge green button saying "DOWNLOAD NOW", but it's NEVER what you're looking for and is usually a download manager or some freakin' tool you don't want. They do it deliberately to try and confuse you. The actual thing you want to download is almost hidden from view.

I still want absolute control over my PC and hate this "in the background" stuff. Even my AV tries to do it - I want a list of what it wants to delete so I can decide if it's a false positive or not (as sometimes fan mods for certain games give false positives).

Even Windows does it:

"Windows 95 has discovered new hardware and WILL install the software for it!"
NO!! I just uninstalled that and disabled the hardware and have the propriety disk here! Your built-in drivers don't work because they are older than the hardware, you heap of steaming rrs-gruffle-sngg-rggh!

"Windows 7 IS collecting information for the programme that stopped responding and WILL enforce a solution!"
NO!! If you apply compatibility measures to Steam.exe it won't work properly and I'll get error messages!!

What's wrong with "Would you like Windows to...?"

[YES] [NO] [BOG OFF!]


<Rant Mode Off>


Cheers!

~.~

Last edited by Shadowblade001: 05-09-2012 at 06:28 AM.
Shadowblade001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:35 AM   #11
jimboden
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowblade001 View Post
I just wanted to get rid of stuff that was superceded by other software and drivers for the graphics card and sound card to avoid possible conflicts. My vendor advised about the BIOS, so I left the Realtek as it was. I recently got an external Blu-Ray drive with Cyberlink software (I still have two previous versions from my old machine) and it seems to work OK, luckily, and I've no problems with my ordinary "Red-Ray" DVD drive.




If you have an ATI/AMD card, installing the full version of Catalyst should fix this. According to my vendor the dll is part of one of the component programmes.




Good advice. Sometimes my AV blocks access to a site saying that it contains malware, but not with that one. And I run a full system scan frequently. After web browsing it always finds 5 to 15 cookies it reckons are malware, adware etc.

But what is a "driveby Trojan"? Is this something that just roams about or automatically installs from a web site?

I HATE that - every little thing tries to make itself your default browser or install a toolbar - if I allowed them to do so I'd have no room left on my 24" monitor to see the web page! And whenever you're looking for things, there's a huge green button saying "DOWNLOAD NOW", but it's NEVER what you're looking for and is usually a download manager or some freakin' tool you don't want. They do it deliberately to try and confuse you. The actual thing you want to download is almost hidden from view.

I still want absolute control over my PC and hate this "in the background" stuff. Even my AV tries to do it - I want a list of what it wants to delete so I can decide if it's a false positive or not (as sometimes fan mods for certain games give false positives).

Even Windows does it:

"Windows 95 has discovered new hardware and WILL install the software for it!"
NO!! I just uninstalled that and disabled the hardware and have the propriety disk here! Your built-in drivers don't work because they are older than the hardware, you heap of steaming rrs-gruffle-sngg-rggh!

"Windows 7 IS collecting information for the programme that stopped responding and WILL enforce a solution!"
NO!! If you apply compatibility measures to Steam.exe it won't work properly and I'll get error messages!!

What's wrong with "Would you like Windows to...?"

[YES] [NO] [BOG OFF!]


<Rant Mode Off>


Cheers!

~.~
I hear ya about all the annoying things sites want you to download and how they hide what you're actually looking for. Most of these sites have products they're trying to sell you so, of course, they give you a "free" version to try for 30 days or whatever.

I tried the Cyberlink Blu Ray PC product and really liked it once I found that it worked when I turned my Realtek on in the BIOS. It does a real nice job with black levels. I have a Samsung 27 inch HDTV/monitor and it has amazing black levels. I'll probably buy the Cyberlink product now that I know it works OK. I don't have a separate Blu Ray player, so rely on my computer's drive instead.
jimboden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:44 AM   #12
bobczes
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 990
Posts: 3,180
In a drive-by download, your computer becomes infected just by visiting a website which contains malicious code. Cybercriminals search the Internet looking for vulnerable web servers that can be hacked. On such servers, cybercriminals can inject their malicious code (often in the form of malicious script) onto the web pages. If your operating system or one of your applications is un-patched, a malicious program is downloaded to your computer automatically when you access the infected web page.

Did you know that religious web sites are more dangerous than porn sites?
bobczes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:44 AM   #13
Shadowblade001
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 247
Posts: 2,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobczes View Post
Did you know that religious web sites are more dangerous than porn sites?
GASP! I know nothing about porn!

But it wouldn't surprise me. Either the religious sites are too naive to block such intrusion or have something that will make your default home page "God-Squadders-R-Us" or something.

Luckily, my Windows, AV and firewall security features are always up to date. Well, as up-to-date as they can be...


~.~
Shadowblade001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:52 AM   #14
MMZ>Torak
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1853
Posts: 6,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowblade001 View Post
GASP! I know nothing about porn!

But it wouldn't surprise me. Either the religious sites are too naive to block such intrusion or have something that will make your default home page "God-Squadders-R-Us" or something.

Luckily, my Windows, AV and firewall security features are always up to date. Well, as up-to-date as they can be...


~.~
Don't be too confident. I've seen completely protected computers get infected with malware, where the logged in user has NO administrative rights.

Never too safe.
MMZ>Torak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:54 AM   #15
Shadowblade001
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 247
Posts: 2,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimboden View Post

I tried the Cyberlink Blu Ray PC product and really liked it once I found that it worked when I turned my Realtek on in the BIOS. It does a real nice job with black levels. I have a Samsung 27 inch HDTV/monitor and it has amazing black levels. I'll probably buy the Cyberlink product now that I know it works OK. I don't have a separate Blu Ray player, so rely on my computer's drive instead.

Yeah, the software seems OK, I have some doubts about the player. It's a cheapish Samsung designed to plug into laptops. It's supposed to plug directly into a HDTV with two usb sockets, but apparently looks like a drive directory on-screen and doesn't work properly according to reviews. But it plays OK on the PC. I only have one blu-ray disk, though, and bought the drive just for that.

Does your PC DVD play Blu-Ray? Cyberlink configured itself to use the two drives depending on what format the disk is on mine. It does give solid blacks, though, rather than the cloudy sort of deep grey you get with Windows Media PLayer.


Cheers

~.~
Shadowblade001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.