Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Rayman series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2012, 07:13 AM   #1
Ilovevotekickin
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 78
Posts: 692
Framerate issues

This game is the visual missing link I was waiting for, one of the most beautiful uses of our 3D cards to do smooth, pixel-perfect 2D, all fed by amazing artwork. I'm also glad there's a demo, which is a rare thing these days.
Of course I wish I was still a kid to still enjoy this kind of platformer, but I like it even just for the graphics.

It's also for this kind of game that I'm glad I kept a CRT monitor, sadly I have framerate/possibly VSync issues here. Hard to tell if it's a VSync issue or maybe texture streaming (if it's really streaming) causing frame drops.. I tried 75 & 85Hz & several resolutions, no change. Geforce GTX 650Ti & I7 here.
Ilovevotekickin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 05:09 PM   #2
nuninho_1980
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 54
Arrow

Rayman Origins? Or what's serie of Rayman???

Framerate hasn't issue because unfortunately this game has only maximum 60 fps capped. You back very well to CRT monitor due to the motion blur missed. But you try to change from 85Hz to 60Hz for get pure-smooth* but sorry you get flicker at 60Hz. I don't worry at 60Hz despite flicker while I played most games at 1920x1200 and some games 2560x1600 :O but I'm very happy for CRT monitor 21" + GeForce GTX 480.

No exist GeForce 650 Ti because this new videocard is waiting until in May or June but it's very probably yes 560 Ti.

* - pure-smooth = 60fps vsync needed + 60Hz OR 85fps vsync + 85Hz OR ... can you understand well?
nuninho_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:57 PM   #3
Ilovevotekickin
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 78
Posts: 692
Sorry, Rayman Origins yes.
(& yes 560, that was a typo)

Ok so the game runs at a constant 60hz, but I don't see any VSync option, so I assume it's also forcing the refresh rate along with the resolution.
I tried setting my CRT to 60Hz but it didn't help, so maybe it's something streaming from disk (my HD is slow, when I have problems it's often related to streaming vocals, or possibly textures here, although I'd expect it to occure in-between levels, as they're pretty short).

It's in-between a slowdown (it really slows down) and a frame drop, like when something is right at the limit & has to drop a frame out of 4, but not processing the lost tick.
Ilovevotekickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:00 AM   #4
Ilovevotekickin
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 78
Posts: 692
I see the issue is known
http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...-Issues-Forums
http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...ttering-Forums
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2576234

someone's saying it's related to kb control?

Last edited by Ilovevotekickin: 04-22-2012 at 12:02 AM.
Ilovevotekickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:30 AM   #5
nuninho_1980
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilovevotekickin View Post
I got same problem (micro-stutter) while I used keyboard (kb) PS/2. But you try change controller to XBOX360 or PS3 or gamepad by USB connected to remove issue.
I think that PS/2 (kb or mouse...) may cause micro-stutter.
nuninho_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Rayman series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.