Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series

Old 04-21-2012, 04:27 PM   #1
FreemanForPrez

ME 1 - Attack of the Blue Boxes

I just started playing Mass Effect (1) last night - PC version.

I'm seeing a whole lot of these blue boxes around the game. Some sort of graphic error, obviously, but not missing textures. Sometimes they come and go, kind of flash in and out of existence. And sometimes they're just there looking for all intents and purposes like they're a part of the game.

Anyone else seeing this and is there any fix?

Mass Effect with latest patch - I guess 1.02 - via Origin.

nVidia GTX 285
Intel Q9550 quad @ 2.83 ghz
plenty o' RAM, blah blah blah
Windows 7 x64

Thanks.

EDIT:
I figured out what these blue boxes are for, I think. They seem to be place holders for the game engine's use for chairs and other furniture, possibly for the sake of physics calculations. Obviously they should be invisible and not rendered.

I don't have the latest graphics driver, BTW. However it's the last driver that nVidia made that works with the GTX 285 and allows me to also use the Nvidia Control Panel. (dev driver 3.2 - 263.06) All other drivers more recent screw up the NCP, which I use a lot.
So if installing a newer driver is the only option, I'm just gonna put up with the blue boxes.

Last edited by FreemanForPrez: 04-21-2012 at 05:19 PM.
Old 04-21-2012, 07:54 PM   #2
dxmc

I have a 2 1/2 year old system with slightly lower specs and I've never had a problem with that game, but I have an ATI card, Mobility Radeon HD 4650. It performs very well even on a laptop so I think you are right about your problem with Nvidia drivers.Someone over in the Hardware sub-forum might be able to suggest a good tweak.

It's worth sticking it out, even with a few graphics problems. ME is a classic, great replayability, although if you really like ME you probably won't like ME2 as much and vice versa, and I guess you have already heard about ME3.