Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
Seyeui
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 11
Posts: 4
Missing Plug-in.

Hi thar.
My problem is that no steam videos will play. I simply get a small message which says "Missing Plug-in" To which I honestly have no solution.

If you've seen this posted on the steam support page then please send a link. Otherwise I was never able to find it.

Short, sweet, & to the point.
Post answers now, go go go~
Seyeui is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:50 AM   #2
Mekast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 54
Posts: 746
You need flash player.

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer
Mekast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:31 PM   #3
Creeper Reaper
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 106
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mekast View Post
You need flash player.

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer


He/She is having a different problem I think - Steam Community, You need a 'Steam Specific' Flash Player, having the latest one for your Web Browser will not work - You need to click the link it provides you. It will bring you directly to the download page.
Creeper Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:10 PM   #4
Seyeui
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 11
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creeper Reaper View Post
He/She is having a different problem I think - Steam Community, You need a 'Steam Specific' Flash Player, having the latest one for your Web Browser will not work - You need to click the link it provides you. It will bring you directly to the download page.
You're right in the fast that I do not need to get the flashplayer. That is already up to date. However there is no link provided when i get the "Missing Plug-in" message. :<
Seyeui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:13 PM   #5
PELUXA1
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1259
Posts: 8,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seyeui View Post
You're right in the fast that I do not need to get the flashplayer. That is already up to date. However there is no link provided when i get the "Missing Plug-in" message. :<

This is the link...

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions/
PELUXA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:24 PM   #6
zonkz
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 425
Posts: 1,610
I never installed another version of flashplayer than for the browser. All is fine.

Rule of thumb:
NEVER use a "friendly" button which tells you, you need a plug in, press here to get it.
Even if it might be ok with pressing it in steam, one day you would press the button on another place, and you install a problem.
zonkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:37 AM   #7
yackback
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
i tried reinstalling Adobe for each of my browsers still got the stupid Missing plugin for every video on my steam browser
yackback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:59 PM   #8
Caustyk
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 34
Posts: 46
I'm getting this problem to, it's not like normal when you don't have the plugin at all and it gives you a little pop up box with step by step instructions, it's just a ovalish shape with "Missing Plug-in".

Re install did not work.
Caustyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:56 AM   #9
dexikiix
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
quit peerblock
dexikiix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 12:30 PM   #10
drewjustforyou
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 125
havent been on steam in ~ a month, when I was last on it worked fine, just unpacked my computer from a move and now I have this error.


trying the adobe link.
drewjustforyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:14 PM   #11
anotherusersuck
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Hey everyone!

I just had this same problem and i just wanted to interject that my solution was to turn off my proxy. I forgot that i had installed a proxy service that made it look like i was connecting from England and when I turned it off, the problem went away.

This is with peerblocker still on so it wasn't necessarily caused by that program.

Hope it helps!
anotherusersuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:37 AM   #12
overfiend_87
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by PELUXA1 View Post
I have the issue too and that didn't work. It seems this issue only first arrived after installing Flashplayer 11 so my suggestion would be to roll back to 10.

I have not yet experimented with that yet, but I will give it a try later and inform you all on it if has worked or not. If not then I'm out of ideas.
overfiend_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 08:21 AM   #13
zonkz
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 425
Posts: 1,610
Shut down steam when you install the player for your normal browser.
zonkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:31 PM   #14
PapitoW
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by zonkz View Post
Shut down steam when you install the player for your normal browser.
I did like this guy said, and it worked here. If you still got this error, try it.
PapitoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:14 AM   #15
gizard_alive
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 64
I still can't get mine to work no matter what I try.

If I go to steam in a browser, any browser at all, it works fine, it just doesn't want to know in the standalone steam client.
gizard_alive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.