Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 09:40 AM   #1
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
Potals locked?

I having a bug here... a big one.
When my put 1 portal and don t put another, normally it get "closed". But the problem is that when my put 2 portals they get closed...
I called the steam suport, but the problem doe not get solved.He(or she) asked me some questions, but nothing solved, the bug occurs in portal 2, portal 1 and portal prellude, and when playing coop my partner see my portals open and my see my and him portal closed...
Someone knows how to fix it?
enricogp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 10:41 AM   #2
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5255
Posts: 22,430
What all have you tried otherwise?

Reinstalling the game, remove any and all mods, restart steam, check the game file caches, etc?
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:37 AM   #3
RHICTKY
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 116
Have you tried going through anyway? Sounds like the portal render might have been switched to 0.
RHICTKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:22 PM   #4
wits
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 448
Posts: 2,238
You called steam support?
wits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:15 PM   #5
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
I restart the game many times, create new saves, pass of chapters, play coop, and my doe not reinstall because later my install others portals game and the same bug apeared... So my count like a "reinstall" because my install other thing. And yes,, I called steam suport, just see my post...
enricogp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:18 PM   #6
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
I have a screen shot...
I gona post: https://support.steampowered.com/att...pup&id=1934459
Just copy the link and see...
enricogp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:30 PM   #7
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
HEY GUYS, I found a topic with the same problem! look that: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2590655
enricogp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:33 PM   #8
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5255
Posts: 22,430
Did you try the various things in that thread, like changing the portal render number, lowering your video settings, etc?
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:38 PM   #9
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
lowering video settings- is in the minimum AND the problem doe not happens in the begining...
Portal render number is just on portal 1
enricogp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:40 PM   #10
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
Man, suport doe not solve the problem... whos gona solve? NASA? if so, let s go to spaaaaaaaace.
enricogp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 05:34 PM   #11
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5255
Posts: 22,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricogp View Post
Man, suport doe not solve the problem... whos gona solve? NASA? if so, let s go to spaaaaaaaace.
It might just be that your specific computer is running either specs that aren't good enough or advanced enough, or a program that is getting in the way, or you just need to fiddle with it.

If the game is ALREADY ON the lowest settings, your rig kinda sucks if it cannot even display the portals.

Can you perhaps show a screenshot of what you are looking at when the game runs? Like an ACTUAL screenshot, since the link you posted leads to Steam Support and not to a screenie? Post it in your Steam library's screenshots.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:53 AM   #12
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
You understood wrong. The game worked fine for VERY LONG TIME and one day the bug apeared. Is a litlle non-sense, but happens...
enricogp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:12 AM   #13
Sgt Cortez
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 41
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricogp View Post
You understood wrong. The game worked fine for VERY LONG TIME and one day the bug apeared. Is a litlle non-sense, but happens...
Sounds to me like your GPU might be crapping out in that case. Either that, or you need to clean out your PC.
Sgt Cortez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:27 PM   #14
enricogp
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
My pc is working perfectly, theres no way of this occuring now.
enricogp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:32 PM   #15
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5255
Posts: 22,430
You didn't answer my earlier question about if you did the things that were shown in that other thread you linked to us. Also, if your game did work, and now it doesn't, that is a big clue that something IS wrong with your computer. Not that you should defend it as it falls apart. CHECK IT for airflow and cool temperature, test the RAM, make sure you're not almost out of hard drive space.

These are basic issues that could be the cause of the problem. Don't just say no, because at this point it's far more likely to be a problem with your computer than a problem with either Steam or Portal.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.