Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 09:50 AM   #1
Ajezard
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 121
Memory faults?

So I started a new build for a freindand am having some problems -

We bought a F1A55-M LX motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 631 CPU
ASUS HD6670 1GB GPU
Cit 700w UB PSU
LG GH22 Sata DVD RW
Hitachi Deskstar 250gb Sata HDD
and an iCute A02GN Atx case.

I installed all of the components and the windows install went fine, but I kept getting blue screen errors saying(Memory_fault).
I assumed it was the either the ram, or ram slots on the M/B so I ran the Asus computer diagnostics that came on the driver disk and all test passes but memory failed.

I went back to the store and they happily swapped out the ram - I rebuilt the computer and was still gettings errors / blue screens. I tried swapping out the PSU and GPU to no avail. I went back to the store once again and they suggested swapping out the motherboard. They didnt have any of the same one in stock but they swapped it for a similar one - a F1A55-M LE

I went home and rebuilt it again but am still having problems? The only other thing I think it would be is the CPU, I phoned the store again and they have ordered a new set of parts, and want me to take the whole computer there so they can install it.

What do you think is the problem, and is letting the store install the parts a good idea?
Ajezard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 10:00 AM   #2
F10
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 100
Posts: 298
incompatible RAM with the motherboard?

Check the qualified vendors list for your board.

You can find it here:

http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_...M_LX_PLUS/#MSL
F10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
YahooElite
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 782
Posts: 6,942
Faulty RAM or the RAM isnt correctly inserted into the DIMM slot.

Run Windows Mem Diag or try to boot up with a stick individually, see what results you get.
YahooElite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:40 AM   #4
damaged
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 8498
Posts: 7,233
If the second set of RAM was the same kind as the first, and from the same store, it's possible they have been sent a bad batch of RAM.
damaged is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:47 PM   #5
Ajezard
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 121
The motherboard, processor ram and graphics card came in a bundle, where the ram and cpu were already fitted, the ram was the same type from another bundle so it could of been a bad batch, but I find that unlikely since the bundle was bought in a store from another town because it was the only one with it in stock. I went to my local store where I got the ram replacement.
Ajezard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 03:58 AM   #6
Ajezard
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 121
So is it possible that it is the cpu? another blue screen error I've been getting is (Memory_management)...
Ajezard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:28 AM   #7
Ajezard
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 121
I tried reinstalling windows to see if that would help at all, but it keeps blue screening half way through saying something is wrong with ntfs.sys? or it says (Fault in Nonpaged Area). Now I cant even install windows, I really need to diagnose this problem!
Ajezard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:46 AM   #8
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10205
Posts: 46,437
Download and run this

http://www.memtest86.com/
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:35 AM   #9
Ajezard
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 121
Pass Complete, No errors. :S
Ajezard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:42 AM   #10
ChrisW
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 942
Posts: 3,075
It could be unstable memory timings or an unstable power supply. You should manually set the memory timings and voltage.
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:47 AM   #11
Ajezard
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 121
Already tried manually setting the timings, and swapping out the power supply for another. I dont think its the memory since it passes memtest86 and the windows memory tester (forgot the name). It seems to be a problem with memory management?
Ajezard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:49 AM   #12
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10205
Posts: 46,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajezard View Post
Pass Complete, No errors. :S
Let it run overnight.
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:55 AM   #13
Ajezard
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 121
What difference will it make?
Ajezard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:57 AM   #14
stinkytaco
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 690
Posts: 1,387
you just need to flash your BIOS, go to your motherboard MFG, and follow the instructions if you are running an old BIOS.

You might want to get a friend to help you, some flash programs make you do a boot floppie disk, and other absurdly hard things to update the firmware.

Make sure you check out all your components websites for Firmware updates too.

I was having major problems with my Cyberpower PC, and the guys ripped me off on my warranty so I had to do everything on my own. (never buy a PC from newegg!).

I was getting a IRQ_LESS_OR_NOT_equal BSOD when the Cyberpower tech guy told me to $%^& off, and they stoped doing warranty help.

I went and flashed the BIOS and the BSOD stopped, and my hard disks sped up about 50%. Boot time dropped a few seconds too.
stinkytaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:59 AM   #15
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10205
Posts: 46,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajezard View Post
What difference will it make?
It's a more thorough test.
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.