Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2 > New Users / Training

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2012, 06:12 AM   #1
CF711
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
[Help] Game running slowly

Hello,

I have played TF2 for a while however I am rather limited in the classes that I can play because of how my frame rate drops when I play certain classes (basically anything but Sniper). I am currently playing on a Dell Inspirion 1545; is there anything I can do to make the game run at something higher than 10-15 FPS? I have everything set to low and still end up getting these results. I am building my own rig this summer but this is all I have to work with right now. My current OS is a Dev version of Windows 8.

Please let me know what I can do in order to get a better frame rate so I can enjoy this game again. Thank you.
CF711 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:37 AM   #2
TF2 War Monkey
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 146
Posts: 714
Did you trying installing a FPS config?
Try these: http://fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/
TF2 War Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:49 AM   #3
123PistolPete
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 396
Posts: 1,550
Im in pretty much the same place as you man, (exact same laptop). I am actually researching building my new rig right now.

There are a number of things I changed to make the fps semi bareable, although it will never be great.


1) change the resolution down to 800x600, This gave me big gains in fps, but makes the game look alot worse, You might even go a step further down in resolution but I thought it was too much sacrifice for maybe a tiny bit more fps.

2) Get an fps config installed as posted above. This again gave me nice gains.

3) I found that after I had done this but not before, multicore rendering enabled gave me moderate gain in fps, so try that.

4) I personally didnt get massive gains with this, but you can set your game to run DX8.1 by putting -dxlevel 81 in launch options, might help. People say to remove this after your first startup (im not sure why).

As for other settings just put everything on lowest, or try some on medium.

Larger player numbers and more open maps are still a death sentence to my fps, dropping to 10-15, but the game is a whole lot more playable on more enclosed maps especially with lower numbers of players, It can hold 30-40fps in those situations most of the time.

After I installed the fps config, within a week I was playing TONS better purely just from the fps increase, (hopefully this will happen when I get my new rig sorted too so I can play reliably 60+fps no matter the player numbers)

Last edited by 123PistolPete: 05-04-2012 at 06:54 AM.
123PistolPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:53 AM   #4
jwl12345
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 121
Posts: 72
As previously said, it's simply your computer. Your Pentium and lack of discrete graphics is killing your fps. Try http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html, gamebooster helped me before I got a decent computer. Also, I've found the ingame fps counter lies, try using fraps.
tl;dr - you computer sucks massive ones

Last edited by jwl12345: 05-04-2012 at 07:03 AM.
jwl12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:14 AM   #5
Sentrymann
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 233
Posts: 640
I can vouch for gamebooster! It basically turns off software you wont need for gaming, letting your computer run faster.
Sentrymann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:01 PM   #6
CF711
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
TF2 WAR MONKEY: Is there one that you would recommend for my system?

123PistolPete: Thanks for that advice. I hate not playing on full screen but it might be the only way to play.

jwl12345 & Sentryman: I'm iffy on gamebooster. If I remember correctly it installed a bunch of bloatware with it. I don't want something that is going to drag my computer down simply cause it installs a ton of extra stuff I don't need.
CF711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 01:14 PM   #7
123PistolPete
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 396
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by CF711 View Post
123PistolPete: Thanks for that advice. I hate not playing on full screen but it might be the only way to play.
It should still be full screen. (as in not going windowed)
You will have to change aspect ratio to 'normal 4:3' rather than a widescreen 16:9 or whatever it is to put it on 800x600 res, well worth it though.
123PistolPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:36 PM   #8
CF711
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
These have helped me get consistently above 30 FPS which was a problem before. Once I get my new rig most of my problems should be gone.

Thanks to everyone who helped.
CF711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2 > New Users / Training


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.