Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sniper Elite series > Sniper Elite V2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2012, 07:45 AM   #1
VinAr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 177
Lack of Antialiasing

I seriously hope they fix this as it seems it is not implemented even with AA on highest possible setting. As i am playing on a very sharp resolution i been getting lots of jaggies that make this game really ugly at times. I hope they fix this in the patch aswell just mentioning this.

VinAr
VinAr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:01 AM   #2
rgabriel15
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 13
Posts: 89
As i said on another post, try this AA method, is much better than the AA in-game.

SMAA Injector download

Open the folder called d3d10 inside the archive, and put the files "injector", "SMAA.fx" and "SMAA.h" inside the Sniper Elite V2 main folder. The file "dxgi.dll" you put inside the "bin" folder.
Remember to disable the AA in-game. Thats all! Enjoy a better AA!

PS: You can use this injector for pretty much every game that uses dx9, 10, 11.
For dx9 games you need to use the files from the "d3d9" folder, and for dx10 and 11 games use the "d3d10" folder.
rgabriel15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:30 AM   #3
VinAr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 177
Thanks for a nice solution. Much appreciated. But i am not a big fan of altering game files and using third party methods and stuff i'll wait for apatch i think
VinAr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:06 AM   #4
rgabriel15
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 13
Posts: 89
I think you should give it a try man. It dont alter the game files, only inject the AA as a post-processing rendering like the in-game AA, but its better, and its made by Crytek, the creators of Crysis franchise.

Take a look at this: SMAA
rgabriel15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:30 AM   #5
JAXZ-XIII
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
What card you got? i enable FXAA in nvidia panel thing n that seems to work alright.
JAXZ-XIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
VinAr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAXZ-XIII View Post
What card you got? i enable FXAA in nvidia panel thing n that seems to work alright.
I have the Nvidia gtx 560 Oc edition i could try that yea
VinAr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:58 PM   #7
Dasos
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 115
Same issue, I have a 560 too, could be a 560 thing I guess D:
(forcing in CP did nothing )
Dasos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 01:11 PM   #8
Radman2011
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinAr View Post
Thanks for a nice solution. Much appreciated. But i am not a big fan of altering game files and using third party methods and stuff i'll wait for apatch i think

agree with others it is a really easy and non disruptive solution to AA issues..
Radman2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 01:35 PM   #9
ComradeLenin
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 253
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinAr View Post
Thanks for a nice solution. Much appreciated. But i am not a big fan of altering game files and using third party methods and stuff i'll wait for apatch i think
You're not altering any game files. It's shader based AA taken from nVidia's own FXAA and optimized further. You could just use an FXAA injector or simply force it through nVidia control panel. None of this is third party nor does it alter any game file.
ComradeLenin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 06:42 AM   #10
djsatane
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Reputation: 29
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgabriel15 View Post
As i said on another post, try this AA method, is much better than the AA in-game.

SMAA Injector download

Open the folder called d3d10 inside the archive, and put the files "injector", "SMAA.fx" and "SMAA.h" inside the Sniper Elite V2 main folder. The file "dxgi.dll" you put inside the "bin" folder.
Remember to disable the AA in-game. Thats all! Enjoy a better AA!

PS: You can use this injector for pretty much every game that uses dx9, 10, 11.
For dx9 games you need to use the files from the "d3d9" folder, and for dx10 and 11 games use the "d3d10" folder.
Does not work with latest sniper elite v2 version on steam, when I try this the game goes black screen at launch and then steam gives me error 41 cannot wait for request.... so there is still no way to have proper anti aliasing in this game..... sigh but I guess thats matter
djsatane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:46 PM   #11
woppit
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
I use medium AA settings and it seems fine - no jaggies at all.
woppit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 02:41 PM   #12
djsatane
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Reputation: 29
Posts: 565
in game aa is lacking u can see not smooth stuff on shader/faces edges etc
djsatane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 01:03 AM   #13
woppit
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsatane View Post
in game aa is lacking u can see not smooth stuff on shader/faces edges etc
I am not seeing this at all, edges are smooth for me. I don't use any driver FXAA or injection technique, just the game setting on medium.
woppit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 01:32 PM   #14
djsatane
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Reputation: 29
Posts: 565
highly doubt it, but then again i am very picky about graphics and i can spot large difference between good aa and crappy aa. If I feel like it I can put some pics later proving it. The game does not anti alias properly all edges in dx11 mode. Further the aa method used in the game is quite weak. And please dont confuse bluring crap for aa.
djsatane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:04 AM   #15
Vasily Zaytsev
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 11
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsatane View Post
highly doubt it, but then again i am very picky about graphics and i can spot large difference between good aa and crappy aa. If I feel like it I can put some pics later proving it. The game does not anti alias properly all edges in dx11 mode. Further the aa method used in the game is quite weak. And please dont confuse bluring crap for aa.
Your point is mute without images, post some.

Game looks excellent on my rig with 0 jaggies anywhere.

Thank you.

Last edited by Vasily Zaytsev: 05-29-2012 at 02:31 AM.
Vasily Zaytsev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sniper Elite series > Sniper Elite V2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.