Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2012, 04:50 AM   #1
HiredGunman10
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 253
Posts: 1,733
Why is my Internet WIFI so slow?

Recently, my parents upgraded the internet from 3mbps to 30mbps.
When connected to the internet through cable, it ran fine at a stable speed of 28-29 mbps.

However, when I tried using WIFI. The speed dropped to a measly 0.4mbps!

I tried everything to increase the speed, such as

Changing the channel,
Sitting 20cm away from
Scanning for spyware,
Turning off firewall,
and even the antivirus.

Nothing seems to work
Any help would be much appreciated.
Is there a way to fix this
HiredGunman10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 04:55 AM   #2
weedo
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Reputation: 245
Posts: 6,873
Try another wireless router?
weedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 04:57 AM   #3
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 748
Posts: 7,385
1) Restart the router
2) Restart your computer
3) Check who's using your router (security settings) someone could be using it without permission

How many computers are connected to it at the same time? 30Mbps will be divided up accordingly to each and not give maximum to all
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 05:51 AM   #4
HiredGunman10
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 253
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by seseorang View Post
1) Restart the router
2) Restart your computer
3) Check who's using your router (security settings) someone could be using it without permission

How many computers are connected to it at the same time? 30Mbps will be divided up accordingly to each and not give maximum to all
Nonono, the internet has been slow from the start.
Right after installing the router, it's already slow.

Also, there is only one computer in the house!
HiredGunman10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 05:56 AM   #5
YahooElite
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 782
Posts: 6,942
Something on the WiFi side could be incorrectly configured.

Or the band you are using is on the lower end, i.e b/g/n.

You could try seeing if theres any driver updates for your WiFi NIC, but all in all its kinda iffy.

Also, the router could be limiting the WiFi speed, most routers let you control how much bandwidth WiFi can use.
YahooElite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 05:58 AM   #6
HiredGunman10
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 253
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by YahooElite View Post
Something on the WiFi side could be incorrectly configured.

Or the band you are using is on the lower end, i.e b/g/n.

You could try seeing if theres any driver updates for your WiFi NIC, but all in all its kinda iffy.

Also, the router could be limiting the WiFi speed, most routers let you control how much bandwidth WiFi can use.
Mine is a Wireless-N
I think I check out the settings.
HiredGunman10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 06:19 AM   #7
HiredGunman10
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 253
Posts: 1,733
Seems to be no sort of limit in the setting.
I'd better contact the service provider ;(
HiredGunman10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 07:00 AM   #8
Overclocker_
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 439
Posts: 2,534
Wifi is the problem, not your service. If you plug in an ethernet cable and pull what you normally do, the wireless is the problem. Quite frankly nothing beats a hardwired connection, even if the cable is inconvenient, it's worth the speed and reliability.
Overclocker_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 08:12 AM   #9
joemtnbike
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 1062
Posts: 2,427
My router had some generic QOS setting on by default for wireless connections. It was something like Enable Wifi Multimedia settings.
When I disabled it my wifi d/l speeds went from .5 Mb/sec to 20 Mb/sec.
joemtnbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 09:30 AM   #10
FreemanInSpace
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 73
Posts: 152
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZsNqlY1Avc
FreemanInSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 11:05 AM   #11
caveman26
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2274
Posts: 4,682
did the router/modem come from the isp?
is this a new one from the change in speed
how old is it if it was not from the isp

have you reset the router to default settings

check to make sure the router is on 2.4ghz and not 5ghz if supported as some devices dont play nice with it

make model of router
caveman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 12:47 PM   #12
masterchef341
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 722
Posts: 1,200
obviously it's not a service issue, since you can connect fine via the ethernet cable. the problem exists somewhere between you, the wireless adapter of your computer, and the wireless router.
masterchef341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 12:52 PM   #13
TeKraken
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7355
Posts: 7,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman26 View Post
make model of router
Is it N standard gear? Or just G? G is 300 odd kbs anyway.
TeKraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 01:25 PM   #14
NotYourHero
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 284
Posts: 2,754
Check see if DD-wrt has firmware for your router. Any router from the passed 5 - 10 years should be able to pass 100mb easily.
NotYourHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.