Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 10:57 AM   #16
Slybo
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 7
Posts: 67
I have a brand new system OCed with an SSD. Compiling doesn't take more than a minute.
Slybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:10 AM   #17
domdove
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 494
I found my issue in another thread, this is what I mean.
domdove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 06:49 PM   #18
LionsPhil
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
I'd be nice if we could do just unlit builds for quick iterative testing.

I assume that's what's taking the time anyway, although the mention of vvis upthread if I remember my HL1 Hammer days is BSP visibility calculations. I find it hard to believe that can really be so intensive ten years of processor advancement later and for relatively small rooms with lots of axis-aligned grid-aligned planes...

Even then, an unvis'd, fullbright map is still plenty good to check if a particular jump works.

Last edited by LionsPhil: 05-09-2012 at 07:29 PM.
LionsPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:39 PM   #19
Dragnerok_X
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 16
Posts: 90
While most of my maps are pretty small, I'd estimate most take a good 60-90 seconds to compile. Granted, I'm not running the latest and greatest setup, but good enough to run Portal 2 at medium-high settings.

On a lighter note, this all reminds me of an old xkcd comic: http://xkcd.com/303/
Dragnerok_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:06 PM   #20
90856
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 81
Posts: 296
My computer is crap so it takes me ~4 minutes

There must be some way to do it faster from the actual Hammer program, is there?
90856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:43 PM   #21
slazer2k5
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 188
Posts: 241
The ingame editor uses Hammer(-tools) in the background to compile your map...

Perhaps you could do some better optimizations in hammer than the ingame editor does, but not without knowing exactly what you have to do and what to look for.

Don't use too much water...
slazer2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:23 AM   #22
domdove
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 494
Mine's now taking me 3.5hrs, and I had to do it twice through the night. This is getting a bit silly - Valve, please help!
domdove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:42 AM   #23
Guffaw
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Around 10-15sec for me.
Guffaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:03 AM   #24
domdove
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 494
I'd link to my map in the Workshop so people can see what I mean about it being big, but it's got some design issues that need working through first.
domdove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:16 AM   #25
thenukeofnukes
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 15
Posts: 38
Whats your map? Might check it out.
thenukeofnukes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:57 AM   #26
domdove
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 494
It's hidden at the moment, so you can't see it, but it's called 'Tree', and has a nice series of puzzles on two levels, and you have to hop back and forth to solve it. I'm really pleased with it, but the blue lines make it messy as hell and, as I say, 3.5hr compile :-P

I'm gonna try compiling on a different computer and see what that does.
domdove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:04 AM   #27
domdove
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 494
Whoa. Whoa.

So I compiled it on a different machine. For a few minutes, the ring spun and nothing appeared to be loading, but then it shot straight to the Aperture loading screen and worked! Wonder why it doesn't work on the other machine
domdove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:39 AM   #28
domdove
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 494
Cool, now the ring is actually showing me a good build estimate, and it's only taking a minute or two.

In other news, the map is much tidier now that I've set up a laser control panel to do the work for me

EDIT: It messed up the lighting in that build, and everything was dark. I didn't adjust lighting at all!

Last edited by domdove: 05-10-2012 at 03:44 AM.
domdove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.