Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Torchlight series

Old 05-10-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
soullos

Torchlight 2 respec?

Anyone know if there is a respec option in the game? I hear there is a beta going on, maybe they can shed some light on this?
Old 05-10-2012, 07:03 PM   #2
Bugs Bunny

in the BETA you can respec till level 10.
Bugs Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:15 PM   #3
Billshere

I'm not an expert on RPGs so correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't that mean you can't respec once your character build starts to take shape?
Billshere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:11 PM   #4
angrytigerp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billshere View Post
I'm not an expert on RPGs so correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't that mean you can't respec once your character build starts to take shape?
This is true, but for an RPG that has classes unique enough that building them from the ground up is a new and viable experience every time, level progression would be such that you don't NEED to respec, e.g. "high-level skills for skill tree A are really good but low-level skills from that tree suck, so I'm going to keep playing the good low-level skills of tree B until I hit a level where I can start using the good skills from tree A" -- essentially, if Torchlight is designed well, there won't be this disconnect between a viable low-level build equating to a poor end-game build.