Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > VAC Discussion

Closed Thread

Old 05-11-2012, 10:07 PM   #1
iluvfuz

Falsely banned

Hey guys. I know not very many people are going to believe me, frankly I probably would be suspicious, because I realize the mentality around VAC is that they spend 2 weeks making 100% sure you cheat before they ban you. I already opened a Support ticket, but one of my friends with a thousand-some hours on TF2 also suggested that I open a forum thread.

So my ban is on Team Fortress 2. My activity on TF2 has been sparse for the 3 years I've owned the game. The past one and a half months (if I had to guess) I started playing a bit more with a friend ("DaRandomMofo", if it serves any help). Considering that my VAC ban looks at a two-week timeframe, I will too.

The last time I played TF2 was probably 5-6 days ago, last weekend at least. So that leaves almost a week of a gap in which I might have been banned. The two weeks period before last weekend, I played mostly on the weekends as well with possibly occasional time on the weekdays, a total of 4-8 hours a week during that time. My third party stuff is pretty rudimentary and doesn't seem subject to suspect. My main game that I play is Battlefield 3, playing TF2 occasionally and only with my aforementioned friend. As expected, I don't use cheats or any mods and frankly, I wasn't involved in any suspicious activity in the weeks leading up to my ban, I was a pretty mediocre Scout/Demo. I run Avast Antivirus, Steam, Origin, MSI Afterburner, PlayClaw, SRS Audio Sandbox, and ATI CCC. Background processes might have included Chrome, Photoshop, and such, not particularly certain.