Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2012, 02:48 PM   #1
MechaPencil
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 311
Posts: 2,303
Help! ATI RADEON HD 4200 problem?

Motherboard make and model: MSI 785GT-E63 AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 Processor

Video card: ATI Radeon HD 4200

Monitor: LCD,1280 x 1024, Dunno my refresh rate

RAM: PNY Optima 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model MD4096KD2-667

Power Supply: CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 (CMPSU-600CX) 600W ATX12V v2.3 Active PFC Power Supply


So I'm having some serious issues with my games atm! The textures and models are all rendering weirdly, they'll either be missing or will stretch past where they should be in really bizarre ways. It's ugly, and it makes the games unplayable for me!

At first I assumed it only affected TF2, so I ignored the issue for a while, but now I've come to realize it affects TF2, Portal 2, Dungeon Defenders and Skyrim, and it's the same problem for all of them.

The problem is relatively recent, I was playing things just fine at the beginning of last month.

I've tried restarting my computer, updating and unupdating my drivers, reinstalling Catalyst Control Center, reinstalling the problem games, but so far nothing has worked!

I'll upload images later if you would like. Is there any more information you would need to help me with this problem? Thank you in advance for any help!
MechaPencil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:21 PM   #2
Adde
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 185
Posts: 610
Sounds like it's about to die.
Adde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:22 PM   #3
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 748
Posts: 7,385
1) Update graphics drivers
2) Update your operating system
3) Verify game cache for the games. Right click selected game -> Properties -> Local Files (tab) -> Verify game integrity of cache (or similar)

Has any of these games worked properly before or is this recent?
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:34 PM   #4
MechaPencil
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 311
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by seseorang View Post
1) Update graphics drivers
2) Update your operating system
3) Verify game cache for the games. Right click selected game -> Properties -> Local Files (tab) -> Verify game integrity of cache (or similar)

Has any of these games worked properly before or is this recent?
1. Done so
2. Done so
3. Done so for each of the games I've tried, hasn't worked.

The problem is as recent as the last month or so, the games worked fine in early April but by the end of the month was when the issue popped up.

And I really hope this thing isn't dying!
MechaPencil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:39 PM   #5
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10750
Posts: 46,733
You probably have a video card that is going dead.
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:44 PM   #6
MechaPencil
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 311
Posts: 2,303
Well that sounds like fun. :/ Hmm. I should prolly be checking around for a warranty then.
MechaPencil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:49 PM   #7
caveman26
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2280
Posts: 4,694
Did the problems start after Tue driver update or before, someone else on the forum with a 4300/4500 card is having issues (his description not mine ) try some older drivers and see if that helps
caveman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:05 PM   #8
MechaPencil
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 311
Posts: 2,303
I'm not absolutely sure. I've tried some older drivers but I'm not sure if they stuck? I've also been trying to update manually to the newest one and it keeps telling me I've got AMD Catalyst 12.3 in the catalyst control center when I try and update to 12.4.

edit: Oh happy day, my warranty expired a few weeks ago. Hopefully this is a problem I can just click out of existence instead of needing to buy a new video card!

Last edited by MechaPencil: 05-13-2012 at 04:08 PM.
MechaPencil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:17 PM   #9
caveman26
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2280
Posts: 4,694
Download and run driversweeper then reinstall your gfx card drivers see if that helps
caveman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:21 PM   #10
MechaPencil
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 311
Posts: 2,303
Would that be safe?
MechaPencil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:31 PM   #11
caveman26
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2280
Posts: 4,694
http://majorgeeks.com/Driver_Sweeper_d6171.html
I use it all the time never had any issues with it
caveman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:33 PM   #12
MechaPencil
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 311
Posts: 2,303
Thanks! I'll give it a try, wish me luck!

Just need a little walkthrough:

I'm seeing a tab that says AMD - Display

is that what I should analyse and clean? What exactly do I do after that?

EDIT:

So I've cleaned out everything under AMD - Display with driversweeper. Now what? I can't seem to figure out what to update or how.

Last edited by rotNdude: 05-13-2012 at 07:20 PM.
MechaPencil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:00 PM   #13
caveman26
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2280
Posts: 4,694
Reinstall your drivers and test
caveman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:51 PM   #14
MechaPencil
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 311
Posts: 2,303
No luck, same problem. Arrrgh.
MechaPencil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:28 PM   #15
sfade
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 986
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechaPencil View Post
Motherboard make and model: MSI 785GT-E63 AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 Processor

Video card: ATI Radeon HD 4200

Monitor: LCD,1280 x 1024, Dunno my refresh rate

RAM: PNY Optima 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model MD4096KD2-667

Power Supply: CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 (CMPSU-600CX) 600W ATX12V v2.3 Active PFC Power Supply


So I'm having some serious issues with my games atm! The textures and models are all rendering weirdly, they'll either be missing or will stretch past where they should be in really bizarre ways. It's ugly, and it makes the games unplayable for me!

At first I assumed it only affected TF2, so I ignored the issue for a while, but now I've come to realize it affects TF2, Portal 2, Dungeon Defenders and Skyrim, and it's the same problem for all of them.

The problem is relatively recent, I was playing things just fine at the beginning of last month.

I've tried restarting my computer, updating and unupdating my drivers, reinstalling Catalyst Control Center, reinstalling the problem games, but so far nothing has worked!

I'll upload images later if you would like. Is there any more information you would need to help me with this problem? Thank you in advance for any help!
Been seeing this a LOT lately especially with the HD4xxx series, and it often coincides with updating drivers, many have fixed it by rolling back to previous driver versions.
sfade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.