Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2012, 06:27 AM   #1
soopytwist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 350
Moving signage and connection lines

So, I'm trying to tidy up a map using Hammer that I made in the Perpetual Testing Initiative. The connection lines are a mess and the signage are all wrong. When I move a signage (the small white squares with symbols in them) they disappear.

Moving them in the top view seems to be okay but it's when I move them in the Front (y/z) and Side (x/z) that they vanish, though the selection box is still there the texture itself isn't.

Same situation with connection lines.
soopytwist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 06:41 AM   #2
Karlos_Modder
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Reputation: 28
Posts: 819
If the overlay moves over a new brush you need to assign the overlay to that new brush face.
Karlos_Modder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:02 AM   #3
soopytwist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 350
And how do you do that? Sorry for being dim but I'm new to Hammer.
soopytwist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:13 AM   #4
Karlos_Modder
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Reputation: 28
Posts: 819
In the overlay properties. I think its called "Brush Face".
Karlos_Modder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:35 AM   #5
soopytwist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 350
Right got it, thanks very much for the help
soopytwist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:04 AM   #6
Punishment
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 374
Posts: 4,591
Some more (hopefully) helpful advice: if you hold ctrl when selecting, you can select multiple brush faces.
Punishment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:43 AM   #7
soopytwist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 350
I've done pretty well there, added some connection lines exactly where I needed them, removed some signs and changed others...took me a few hours but considering I've never done this before I think I've done a good job.

Thank you for the help. I was probably going to ask a lot of other questions but I managed to figure things out for myself - which is the best way to learn something!

Last edited by soopytwist: 05-16-2012 at 11:39 AM.
soopytwist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.