Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Thief series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2012, 12:10 PM   #1
ZaD
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 96
Can you launch Thief Gold and II without Steam ?

The question is in the title...
ZaD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:20 PM   #2
in.meinem.turm.
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 387
Posts: 4,275
I can launch Thief Gold without Steam, Thief 2 crashes though.
in.meinem.turm. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:22 PM   #3
Lthunder
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
I can easily open Thief Gold without steam.

Have not tried Thief 2.
Lthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:00 AM   #4
Tigerdango
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 20
Posts: 249
Do you mean like completely without running Steam or just when Steam's not online? Because like if you can't access your Internet you can still run your games through Steam's offline mode. As far as completely without Steam it's probably possible. Most the games you can goto their folders in Steam and you will see the full directories with the executable files and everything.
Tigerdango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:32 AM   #5
RipNard
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 26
Posts: 40
Yes you can. Just make a shortcut to

YOUR INSTALL\Steam\steamapps\common\thief_gold\thief.ex e

or

YOUR INSTALL\Steam\steamapps\common\thief_2\thief2.exe

Thief 3 is otherwise bound by steam - but with all things steam - just run in offline mode.
RipNard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:34 AM   #6
eatken3
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by in.meinem.turm. View Post
I can launch Thief Gold without Steam, Thief 2 crashes though.
My guess is that's because Steam Replaces Securom with Thief 2. The first thief didnt have it.
eatken3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 08:08 AM   #7
in.meinem.turm.
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 387
Posts: 4,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by eatken3 View Post
My guess is that's because Steam Replaces Securom with Thief 2. The first thief didnt have it.
in.meinem.turm. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 05:46 AM   #8
ShredderBlack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 39
good to know that. I was gonna buy T2 over Steam...
ShredderBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:08 AM   #9
eatken3
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShredderBlack View Post
good to know that. I was gonna buy T2 over Steam...
Basiocally 2 Was DRMed with SecuROM but Thankfully Steam Versions of game's Replace any DRM with Steam
eatken3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:30 AM   #10
in.meinem.turm.
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 387
Posts: 4,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by eatken3 View Post
Basiocally 2 Was DRMed with SecuROM
In 2000? Really? Securom was used in the year 2000?

in.meinem.turm. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:38 AM   #11
eatken3
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by in.meinem.turm. View Post
In 2000? Really? Securom was used in the year 2000?

honestly i have no idea... but someone else was claiming it was in another thread & thats what i was working off of but that appears not to be the case.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...php?p=30872244
eatken3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:27 PM   #12
Tigerdango
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 20
Posts: 249
Hn, you guys got me curious when SecuROM was first used. I've done Google and Wiki searches and I'm still coming up empty handed. Odd. o.O
Tigerdango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:56 PM   #13
Anagke
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
SecuROM was also used for Diablo II in 2000, and became more common as it gradually replaced Starforce DRM. By 2004 it was the standard DRM used by Ubisoft.
Anagke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:20 AM   #14
Tigerdango
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 20
Posts: 249
Ah I remember Starforce. So SecruROM was used as far back as 2000. I'm curious though, the people that have a problem with DRM, what scares them so much about it? When I was researching I came across something about where people were jarateed back when BioShock came to PC because you could only activate it 2 times at first and supposedly it installed a rootkit on your PC. Perhaps stuff like that have people jumpy?
Tigerdango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:55 AM   #15
Anagke
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
I don't wish to head OT but I will try to answer your question.

Most folks are okay in principle with the concept of publishers/developers trying to protect their properties from unrestricted piracy. Some simply do not care or even think about how far such measures are taken unless they are directly harmed by it - and honestly very few actually are. Others want to know exactly what any software installed on their private PC does and that it can be completely (and easily) uninstalled, assurance that it will not interfere with other programs, or that it does not overly restrict the ability to freely install and play a legitimately paid for game... these concerns are where DRM sometimes crosses the line.

Personally, I believe the best DRM is no DRM. Second is DRM that is unnoticeable. The worst is any DRM that slams the door if you suffer unusual circumstances: such as requiring always on-line connection for single player games, and limited installations. DRM software like Starforce and older versions of SecuROM used to focus largely on making it difficult to copy (or run copies) but the current trend is now restricting the ability to even just play without constant and repeated validation.

I often enjoy old favorites like the Thief series - very happy to get them on Steam. Of coarse I already own original disc versions of all three Thief games but the main reason I got them again was so I would not have to deal with obsolete installers and SecuROM. Getting old games running on modern hardware is challenging enough without the added complexity of whatever obsolete DRM was used on disc. I wonder how it will be installing some recent games in 10-15 years from now? I cannot imagine those 24/7 activation/validation servers still running. Then people will be looking to cracked illegal copies - such a shame.
Anagke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Thief series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.