Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Tribes: Ascend

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2012, 04:23 PM   #1
DarthPsymon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 134
Posts: 2,016
HiPatchService.exe

What is it?
What does it do?
Why is it a startup program?
What would happen if I 'killed' it?

ADDED:
WARNING. After deleting tribes ascend from your library, the above mentioned service DOES NOT UNINSTALL.
You have to manually find and uninstall it.

Last edited by DarthPsymon: 06-30-2012 at 03:27 PM. Reason: added warning
DarthPsymon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:29 PM   #2
Ssential
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthPsymon View Post
What is it?
What does it do?
Why is it a startup program?
What would happen if I 'killed' it?
You won't be able to launch the game. Probably some sort of anti-cheat thing or something. Don't know why it needs to be a startup program though. I think you can disable it until you start the game and then kill it once you quit, shouldn't be a problem.
Ssential is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:35 PM   #3
Zerethon
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthPsymon View Post
What is it?
What does it do?
Why is it a startup program?
What would happen if I 'killed' it?
1. Background patcher for T:A
2. Patches the game
3. To keep the game up to date automatically unless you set it to manual start
4. Absolutely nothing, you'll just have to download tribes patches by starting the game.
Zerethon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:38 PM   #4
Ssential
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerethon View Post
1. Background patcher for T:A
2. Patches the game
3. To keep the game up to date automatically unless you set it to manual start
4. Absolutely nothing, you'll just have to download tribes patches by starting the game.
Are you sure? I just tried killing the process once i was ingame. It instantly threw me back to desktop saying it couldn't authentificate Tribes: Ascend properly. Without the process running in the background I can't play nor start the game.
Ssential is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:15 PM   #5
Zerethon
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ssential View Post
Are you sure? I just tried killing the process once i was ingame. It instantly threw me back to desktop saying it couldn't authentificate Tribes: Ascend properly. Without the process running in the background I can't play nor start the game.
Yes, it has to be running while the game is running, it's the auth/patch service

While the game -ISN'T- running you can close it just fine.

it's like closing punkbuster while playing a game that uses it for anti-cheat. or closing the Windows live ID Service while playing a GFWL game.
Zerethon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:24 AM   #6
DarthPsymon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 134
Posts: 2,016
Thanks for the info guys.
I've now found 'Hi-Rez Studios Authenticate and Update Service' under the 'services' tab of msconfig.
I've unchecked the box next to that so it doesn't start up with my computer.

Once I've had a chance to try out the differences, I'll report back.
Something interesting though, of all the non-microsoft services I have, they are all 'running' or 'stopped', but HiPatchService is 'paused'...
DarthPsymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 01:00 PM   #7
Mu-san
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthPsymon View Post
Thanks for the info guys.
I've now found 'Hi-Rez Studios Authenticate and Update Service' under the 'services' tab of msconfig.
I've unchecked the box next to that so it doesn't start up with my computer.

Once I've had a chance to try out the differences, I'll report back.
Something interesting though, of all the non-microsoft services I have, they are all 'running' or 'stopped', but HiPatchService is 'paused'...
Also make a batch file to close HiPatchService when done playing the game, since it runs when your not playing it.

How to make a batch file:
Open up notepad and type this in:

sc stop hipatchservice

Then save the file and name it whatever you want, then save it to where ever you want, like your desktop, etc.
Then change the File Extension from .txt to .bat
Then you're done.

When you're done playing Tribes:Ascend, just double click on whatever_you_named_file.bat to kill hipatchservice

Or you could just open up Windows Task Manager and right click on HiPatchService and end process.

http://windowsvc.com/bbs/board.php?b...d=6959&page=57

Last edited by Mu-san: 06-28-2012 at 01:03 PM. Reason: forgot step
Mu-san is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 01:45 PM   #8
DarthPsymon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 134
Posts: 2,016
On trying to launch tribes, after a unchecking the startup service and rebooting, I got the message 'Unable to attach to the hi-rez authentication service. Please click fix below to lauch the support and diagnostic utility.

The tribes launch window then showed 'fix' instead of 'play'.
I clicked fix and it ran a test for about a minute.
The test failed and said 'Hi rez studios authenticate service will not start on this machine'.

It also suggested rebooting.

In short, I cannot play tribes at all with the service disabled.

I've decided to uninstall tribes.

You may think this is a bit excessive for such a minor thing, but I do not agree with this practice employed by hi rez, so I won't bother with it.

If someone could do me a favour a give me a heads up if anything changes, I'd appreciate that
DarthPsymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:11 PM   #9
Krieger91
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 9
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthPsymon View Post
On trying to launch tribes, after a unchecking the startup service and rebooting, I got the message 'Unable to attach to the hi-rez authentication service. Please click fix below to lauch the support and diagnostic utility.

The tribes launch window then showed 'fix' instead of 'play'.
I clicked fix and it ran a test for about a minute.
The test failed and said 'Hi rez studios authenticate service will not start on this machine'.

It also suggested rebooting.

In short, I cannot play tribes at all with the service disabled.

I've decided to uninstall tribes.

You may think this is a bit excessive for such a minor thing, but I do not agree with this practice employed by hi rez, so I won't bother with it.

If someone could do me a favour a give me a heads up if anything changes, I'd appreciate that
I am not going to bother downloading a game that employs this kind of trash.
Krieger91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:54 PM   #10
DarthPsymon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 134
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krieger91 View Post
I am not going to bother downloading a game that employs this kind of trash.
Well I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who thinks this way about an unnecessarily always on service.
DarthPsymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:00 PM   #11
tuey
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 10
Posts: 140
If you disable patching in background (which doesn't work anyway) it ends the process when you quit the game.
tuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:11 PM   #12
DarthPsymon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 134
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuey View Post
If you disable patching in background (which doesn't work anyway) it ends the process when you quit the game.
It's too late by then.
I want to stop it loading when my computer starts, not automatically kill it after I've closed the game.
Cheers for the info though.
DarthPsymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:36 PM   #13
tuey
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 10
Posts: 140
Then re-install and tick that box, or use ccleaner to disable it from startup
tuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 08:15 AM   #14
h4ngedm4n
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 162
I checked the disable background patching box, but it still launches hipatchservice.exe. As with many of the above posters, I am not happy with the program running after I exit tribes ascend. I too uninstalled because of this issue. This kind of practice should not be supported.
h4ngedm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 03:27 PM   #15
DarthPsymon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 134
Posts: 2,016
added warning to first post regarding uninstall.
DarthPsymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Tribes: Ascend


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.