Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Crusader Kings II

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 06:05 PM   #1
hepcat1
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Game takes over 5 minutes to load

Is this common? I want to love this game, but the fact that it takes literally 5 minutes or more to go from the Paradox splash screen to the main game window is killing it for me.

p.s. i've got a quad core i5 750 with 16 gigs of RAM and an nvidia 470 video card. my machine is by no means "old".

Last edited by hepcat1: 06-29-2012 at 06:08 PM.
hepcat1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 07:43 PM   #2
Yum Pancakes...
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
My first load took about five minutes, after that it varies from one to three.
Yum Pancakes... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 08:12 AM   #3
Prime624
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 18
Posts: 255
My game took about that long on my i5 too. The more you load it, it will slowly get faster.
Prime624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
mnBroncos
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by hepcat1 View Post
Is this common? I want to love this game, but the fact that it takes literally 5 minutes or more to go from the Paradox splash screen to the main game window is killing it for me.

p.s. i've got a quad core i5 750 with 16 gigs of RAM and an nvidia 470 video card. my machine is by no means "old".
yes has long load screen but game so amazing that i dont care its worth the wait not to mention after that zero load screens after that so honestly total better then most games
mnBroncos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:53 PM   #5
Neff
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 29
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnBroncos View Post
yes has long load screen but game so amazing that i dont care its worth the wait not to mention after that zero load screens after that so honestly total better then most games
It's true. It is kind of surprising how long it takes to load, but once it has loaded, there's no slowdown at all, and it is well worth the wait. I just read a book or something
Neff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 06:31 PM   #6
Prime624
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 18
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnBroncos View Post
after that, zero load screens after that so honestly total better then most games
If I could choose a time time to load a game, it would be the intro. After that, long load times pi$$ me off.

But all great strategy games take a while to start up. Civ 5, Total War: Shogun 2, this game...

Last edited by Prime624: 07-01-2012 at 03:38 PM.
Prime624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 08:08 AM   #7
Rancor26
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 20
Posts: 714
It loads everything on launch which gives you a benefit of there not being any loading screens while you're playing. If it wouldn't do this you would be interrupted in the middle of the game or when you start your campaign.

So really the only difference from other games is that it loads everything on launch, other games usually load one level at a time etc. but due to CK2's pretty complex gameplay it is crucial that everything is loaded at the start.
Rancor26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:38 PM   #8
Xdudedafoolx
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 4
Posts: 27
I think it takes a while for everyone.

Takes me a few seconds under 3 mins to get onto the menu.

Open up youtube, play a song you like, start the game and wait it out.
You can also throw making a bowl of cereal in there for safe measures.
Xdudedafoolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 02:13 PM   #9
Essedarius
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 33
Posts: 256
I especially do not like how the first song playing during that lengthy load time gets a loop at the end of it before it repeats. Anyone else notice that? It is a bit irritating and if it doesn't get fixed it can become game-breaking.
Essedarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:35 PM   #10
stewie0814
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 2
Posts: 57
My game lately would take up to 3 minutes to load, looked up my last saved game, I noticed a had a bunch of saves, about 100, so I decided to clean up my saved games folder.

Anyways, long story short, deleted a bunch of saved games (had about 4 GB's worth of saved data) and the next time I started it up, it took about half of what it used to, might be a coincidence, but worth a try I guess
stewie0814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:40 PM   #11
Prime624
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 18
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Essedarius View Post
I especially do not like how the first song playing during that lengthy load time gets a loop at the end of it before it repeats. Anyone else notice that? It is a bit irritating and if it doesn't get fixed it can become game-breaking.
How can that be game breaking?

Patience is a virtue
Prime624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:58 PM   #12
Neff
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 29
Posts: 187
I think he means he will break the game if it keeps annoying him like that
Neff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:27 PM   #13
Prime624
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 18
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neff View Post
I think he means he will break the game if it keeps annoying him like that
Oh... That makes more sense. But how do you do that?
Prime624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:32 PM   #14
Neff
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 29
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime624 View Post
Oh... That makes more sense. But how do you do that?
Well, in the old days you could just break the disc in half... not sure how with digital downloads... I'm sure he could find a way
Neff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:47 PM   #15
drunkenvash
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 64
solution get a SSD drive
drunkenvash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Crusader Kings II


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.