Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2012, 08:40 AM   #1
z4_
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 5
HOW TO: TF2 High & Stable FPS

I have a dell L502x with a GT 525m GPU, which is not that good for high end gaming. I searched around the internet and found some things to increase FPS. My fps went from 20-30 to constant 100+ (110 capped). These tools were scattered round the internet (except for a few) so i decided to make a thread where methods for increasing fps and ping were listed

1) Use Chris' Fps config
Highframes- Overall probably the better choice for most people it increases fps substantially but still doesnt look like complete crap
Maxframes- For really old and crappy computers, or for people who dont care about visuals and quality. As chris says on his website, maxframes will not deliver that many for frames from highframes

2)This will shorten the load times for maps (not fps)
It defrags the steam gcf files
follow the links
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...php?p=18225610
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccmoToUgEpo

3) add C:\Program Files\Steam\appcache\stats to anti virus realtime scan exclusions list
C:\Program Files\Steam\appcache\stats
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1093560

4) Swift shader allows 3d to render faster (apparently 100x faster)
http://transgaming.com/swiftshader/

5)set windows power plan to gaming
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...er-plan-scheme
I did some more research and tests have shown that balanced power plan has the same, if higher performance results than high performance (or gaming), but it still keeps the pc cool

6)remove particles
I recommend downloading one of the flamethrower packs on the thread link, and then downloading the ones below which were not in the pack
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=958575
drag the downloaded .pcf to particles folder in tf
the rain and snow remover doesnt work for me (try it in case)

7) working nohats modification
it stops tf2 from rendering hats (hence nohats)
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2041907

8)Install tf2 phongless skins (follow installation instructions)
http://gamebanana.com/skins/95889

9)(optional instead of tf2 phongless model skins) Tom Tallian low poly tf2 modelshttp://tommytallian.blogspot.co.uk/p/low-poly-tf2.html
simply drag the class folders to /teamfortress2/tf/materials/models/player
delete any other class files before copying files

10) http://gamebanana.com/tuts/6903
tweak some launch settings

11) in game console commands
Useful commands that may increase FPS
http://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Li...nsole_commands
removed burning gibs increased my death fps

12) Download steam cleaner by Icepick66
http://gamebanana.com/tools/3595
just select all checkboxes (except for maps)and run cleaner

13)download wlan optimizer
stops windows from searching for available connections in the background while connected
http://www.martin-majowski.de/wlanoptimizer/

14)download and install tcp optimizer
and use optimal settings
for me i used the settings in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZV8OE7xZ1-g as they increased by download speed the most

15) defrag windows
auslogics disk defrag

16)use ccleaner to fix errors in registry and to clean drives
also disable unnecessary startup programs

17) windows readyboost
stick a memory stick in
delete files
right click on memory stick icon and select autoplay
press on readyboost
and dedicate device
this is just to generally improve windows speed

18) overclock gpu using msi afterburner
just google: yourgraphicscard +overclock scores
you will find some good overclock settings which are stable
be careful as you might damage your GPU

19)change windows 7 theme to classic when gaming
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1870410

20)For AVG users change to avast or another AV
for me when i had avg i used to lag more
but with avast its perfect

21)in an autoexec.cfg put fps_max (and then specified fps in number)
This is in chris fps config but uncommented
you have to fiddle and adjust this to make it perfect
analyse your average fps and see what it goes up to
fps and ingame will jitter ingame if you dont get the stable and best cap
for me stable was when i capped fps at 110 and when i went in game my fps was constantly 110 (no changes at all)

22)download gamebooster which disables unnecessary processes while gaming
http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html

If you have any other tips then please post them
please give me any feedback on this thread and your success with these

Last edited by z4_: 07-04-2012 at 02:26 PM.
z4_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
TipsyTrader
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
You have a lot of bad links in your post.
TipsyTrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:45 AM   #3
vocalist
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 41
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by TipsyTrader View Post
You have a lot of bad links in your post.
because he just copy pasta some old post
vocalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:47 AM   #4
Skoreal
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 41
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by vocalist View Post
because he just copy pasta some old post
because he creepypasta some old pasta
Skoreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:47 AM   #5
rednefeD
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 37
Posts: 187
so, can someone give me the real thread?
rednefeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:52 AM   #6
2560x1600@120hz
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 3522
Posts: 7,714
Swift Shader modifies TF2's DLL files. The same stuff used to make wallhacks, so that can get you VAC Banned.
2560x1600@120hz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:58 AM   #7
Dinosaur_Rex
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 179
Posts: 1,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2560x1600@120hz View Post
Swift Shader modifies TF2's DLL files. The same stuff used to make wallhacks, so that can get you VAC Banned.
It also gives you a huge watermark.
Dinosaur_Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:05 AM   #8
chappa'ai
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 201
Posts: 1,010
How do I get more then 199 fps?
chappa'ai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:48 AM   #9
Jaydor
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 534
Posts: 3,581
Most of these links are broken.
Jaydor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:54 AM   #10
z4_
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 5
No I didnt, completely original post, please provide a link and/or original posters name
All the link errors were from steam forums fixing now
z4_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:02 AM   #11
z4_
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 5
I have fixed the bad links
for some reason all the links from steam forums kept saying 404 error
I just got the links again and I have tested this time
All is working
This is not a copy, I made this for a friend because he needed better FPS, so I made a tutorial for how to make his fps higher and more stable. He got the same great results as me so i decided to post it on Steam forums

Last edited by z4_: 07-04-2012 at 10:06 AM.
z4_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:11 AM   #12
grimreeferx09
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 76
Posts: 674
defragging doesnt do anything on modern hard drives btw, only the old mechanical type.

swiftshader is only for people with slow graphics cards but fast cpus.
It would probably make things worse if you have a fast graphics card or a slow cpu.
grimreeferx09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:27 AM   #13
Dinosaur_Rex
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 179
Posts: 1,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreeferx09 View Post
defragging doesnt do anything on modern hard drives btw, only the old mechanical type.
Because everyone can upgrade to SSD's at anytime.
Dinosaur_Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:32 AM   #14
Vrooman
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 25
Posts: 64
You had to mention "dxlevel 81" in the 1st place. This alone might solve your problems, without using ugly configs which turns off AA and AF.

Also these cvars in your autoexec.cfg might help a lot if you dont have beast cpu :
r_threaded_client_shadow_manager 0
r_threaded_particles 0
r_threaded_renderables 0
cl_threaded_bone_setup 0
cl_threaded_client_leaf_system 0
r_shadows 0 (shadows under players are gone)

I play on similiar laptop and its enough to play on stable 60 fps with adaptive vsync, using 4x msaa and 8x af. Also it runs pretty cool on half gpu usage and very cool temps.
Vrooman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:22 AM   #15
Rafildo
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 39
Posts: 239
Game booster also helps.
Rafildo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.