Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Assassin's Creed series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2012, 08:28 PM   #1
SnarKs
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 213
Posts: 1,149
Interesting issue with Uplay. [RESOLVED]

To start with, Uplay will not let me play AC2 in offline mode. This is what I see when I attempt to start it up in offline mode:
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b2...y/AC2steam.png

Now if I start splinter cell conviction up, which I dont own through steam it shows me what youd expect:
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b2...plintuplay.png

And if I start Uplay up alone AC2 is not in my games list.
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b2...viLy/Uplay.png

What F? I should post this on the Uplay forums as well, hopefully get help from support, but figured Id post it here as well. Its just so odd. I cant figure it out.

Edit - also to note - The only time it lets me play AC2 is when i switch Uplay to online mode.

EDIT 2 - FIXED! see this link > http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...35&postcount=8

Last edited by SnarKs: 07-16-2012 at 01:52 PM.
SnarKs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:50 AM   #2
freedoms_stain
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 43
Posts: 208
As I understand it if you've never successfully logged in to play a particular game you can't play in offline mode because your game has never been validated by Uplay.

You need to sign in at least once.

They should change the name of their PC division to Ubishaft.
freedoms_stain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:21 AM   #3
MonkeySeeker
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1774
Posts: 2,393
Steam bought copies of Ubisoft games do not appear in your games list in UPlay. Ubisoft for some reason decided to keep them separated. They need to be launched through Steam.

And yes launch AC2 once with UPlay online then you shouldn't have any problems launching it in offline mode.
MonkeySeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 05:34 AM   #4
ThePonz
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 8
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeySeeker View Post
Steam bought copies of Ubisoft games do not appear in your games list in UPlay. Ubisoft for some reason decided to keep them separated. They need to be launched through Steam
and this is just ridicolous nonsense, like there are 2 separate accounts but in fact it is the same..
ThePonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 07:52 AM   #5
DelivererZero
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeySeeker View Post
Steam bought copies of Ubisoft games do not appear in your games list in UPlay. Ubisoft for some reason decided to keep them separated. They need to be launched through Steam.

And yes launch AC2 once with UPlay online then you shouldn't have any problems launching it in offline mode.
What the hell they did that for? Once I think my key go wrong!
DelivererZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:22 AM   #6
MonkeySeeker
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1774
Posts: 2,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by DelivererZero View Post
What the hell they did that for? Once I think my key go wrong!
Don't know. I think possibly because UPlay offers the ability to download your games now but Ubisoft don't want Steam users downloading the non-Steam versions.
MonkeySeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:25 AM   #7
SnarKs
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 213
Posts: 1,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedoms_stain View Post
As I understand it if you've never successfully logged in to play a particular game you can't play in offline mode because your game has never been validated by Uplay.

You need to sign in at least once.

They should change the name of their PC division to Ubishaft.
The only time it lets me play AC2 though is when I put Uplay in online mode though. So.... Something else is screwed.

It must be that Ubisoft servers are mentally challenged and hasnt validated that I have played it online before...

Last edited by SnarKs: 07-16-2012 at 08:30 AM.
SnarKs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:52 PM   #8
SnarKs
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 213
Posts: 1,149
I FIXED IT! AND GUESS HOW? by changing a "no" to a "yes" in a file.

Found this thread burried on the Uplay forums.
http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...%29-No-Offline

This file - C:\Program Files (x86)\ubisoft\ubisoft game launcher\data\56\config\product_config.yml
Quote:
---
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
# ASSASSIN'S CREED 2
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
version: 2.0
root:
name: "Assassin's Creed II"
background_image: bg.jpg
thumb_image: thumb.jpg
background_color: ffffff
start_game:
steam:
after_game_report_enabled: yes
overlay_supported: yes
legacy_offline_supported: no
offline_supported: no
My god. Stupid ubisoft changing settings in a file for their game.

Last edited by SnarKs: 07-16-2012 at 02:05 PM.
SnarKs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:43 AM   #9
alaskanassassin
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnarKs View Post
I FIXED IT! AND GUESS HOW? by changing a "no" to a "yes" in a file.

Found this thread burried on the Uplay forums.
http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...%29-No-Offline

This file - C:\Program Files (x86)\ubisoft\ubisoft game launcher\data\56\config\product_config.yml


My god. Stupid ubisoft changing settings in a file for their game.
this did not work for me.
alaskanassassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:59 AM   #10
kyledawg1
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 55
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnarKs View Post
I FIXED IT! AND GUESS HOW? by changing a "no" to a "yes" in a file.

Found this thread burried on the Uplay forums.
http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...%29-No-Offline

This file - C:\Program Files (x86)\ubisoft\ubisoft game launcher\data\56\config\product_config.yml


My god. Stupid ubisoft changing settings in a file for their game.


Thats awesome! I'm trying to figure out if i can do this for Splinter Cell Conviction. Ill try and see if it will work
kyledawg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Assassin's Creed series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.