Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Analogue: A Hate Story

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 02:22 AM   #1
Dr19
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Game always freezes in title screen...

Hi all,

I've searched about for this, but as far as I can tell no one else has this issue. The game always freezes during the intro sequence, or if I skip it in the menu screen... I once made it as far as the options menu before it froze.

When I check the integrity of the game cache Steam tells me that 68 files failed to validate and then does a small download of 289kb... after this the game cache is fine, but the game will freeze again, and the game cache will be invalid again! Very frustrating!

I'm using a Dell Inspiron 1525 running Windows Vista, with "Mobile Intel 965 Express" graphics. Definitely not a gaming computer, but this would be the last game I'd expect to have issues with!

Any help appreciated!
Dr19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:31 AM   #2
BlackPhoenix969
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 101
Well, are you administrator on your PC?

Sounds like either the HDD has issues copying the files or the OS refuses Steam to install the needed files for whatever reason.
Is your User Account Control (UAC) enabled? That might block things, too.

Maybe unrelated: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2776862
BlackPhoenix969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 05:22 AM   #3
Dr19
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Yep, I'm the admin and I've always had UAC disabled.

Just tried deleting and re-downloading, still the same issue. It's weird though, haven't had this issue with any other Steam games.

Looked at the other thread, I don't have a dedicated graphics card, so can't really do anything in regards to rendering.

Thanks for the suggestions though!
Dr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 06:14 AM   #4
BlackPhoenix969
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 101
Tried running analogue.exe with explicit admin rights?

I don't suppose you run a 64 bit OS?

Other than that, I can't think of much else. :?
BlackPhoenix969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:48 AM   #5
madmarten
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 280
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr19 View Post
Looked at the other thread, I don't have a dedicated graphics card, so can't really do anything in regards to rendering.
That's exactly why you should be forcing it to software rendering, then your lack of dedicated video card doesn't matter.

Hold down shift when you launch the game, then select software from the menu.
madmarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 01:41 AM   #6
Dr19
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmarten View Post
That's exactly why you should be forcing it to software rendering, then your lack of dedicated video card doesn't matter.

Hold down shift when you launch the game, then select software from the menu.
Oh right. It works! Though still a bit choppy, can't complain. Wish I'd known about that trick earlier!

Thankyou both
Dr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Analogue: A Hate Story


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.