Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dark Souls

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 11:13 PM   #1
VitassureMe
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 9
Posts: 191
How does somebody connect a PS3 controller to a PC?

And does it run through bluetooth??


I think it will be much simpler playing with a controller after playing for 300+ hours on my ps3
VitassureMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:18 PM   #2
_MEGA_
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 105
You need a bluetooth dongle, or usb connection. There are no native / sony drivers, so you have to use Motion in Joy, http://motioninjoy.com/

I've been using my PS3 controller for emulators and other such games for quite a while, the software is really great, super customizable too!
_MEGA_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:24 PM   #3
VitassureMe
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 9
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MEGA_ View Post
You need a bluetooth dongle, or usb connection. There are no native / sony drivers, so you have to use Motion in Joy, http://motioninjoy.com/

I've been using my PS3 controller for emulators and other such games for quite a while, the software is really great, super customizable too!
If my laptop has bluetooth i dont need a dongle right??
VitassureMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:28 PM   #4
_MEGA_
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 105
What's your laptop brand and model? Not sure, I think Motion in Joy only supports certain adapters.

Here is a page with information on what is compatible: http://www.motioninjoy.com/wiki/en/help/btcompatibility

Last edited by _MEGA_: 07-16-2012 at 11:31 PM. Reason: Added link
_MEGA_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:30 PM   #5
VitassureMe
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 9
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MEGA_ View Post
What's your laptop brand and model? Not sure, I think Motion in Joy only supports certain adapters.
DV6 Quad core 8gb ram
VitassureMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 06:12 AM   #6
Agret
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Reputation: 21
Posts: 816
Try it and find out yourself man
Agret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:06 AM   #7
AlanOC91
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 297
Posts: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by VitassureMe View Post
If my laptop has bluetooth i dont need a dongle right??
There is a high chance you can use it if your laptop has blue tooth. My advice, test it now rather than later so you can be better prepaired.
AlanOC91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:39 AM   #8
Pumpgunner
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 147
Posts: 1,970
I would suggest you to play with a USB cable. Probably will spare you the hassle to get that bluetooth thingy working.
Pumpgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:43 AM   #9
Baresark
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 150
Posts: 1,097
It is much easier with a USB cable. I would suggest that. It's such a headache to get your system to detect discoverable things when they aren't make to do be detected by PC's.
Baresark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:04 AM   #10
iDerp
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 46
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanOC91 View Post
There is a high chance you can use it if your laptop has blue tooth. My advice, test it now rather than later so you can be better prepaired.
Actually, the built in BT is most likely not going to work. It didn't for me. But the dongles are extremely cheap (~5USD/Euro tops).
iDerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:49 AM   #11
Baresark
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 150
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDerp View Post
Actually, the built in BT is most likely not going to work. It didn't for me. But the dongles are extremely cheap (~5USD/Euro tops).
They are super cheap. I used one for the Wii emulator. I think I paid $1.19 for it on Amazon.
Baresark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:56 PM   #12
kijib
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 450
Posts: 2,258
buy an adapter
kijib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:03 PM   #13
abort_user
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 85
Posts: 1,179
with the usb wire used to charge the controller. trust me when i say its a lot easier that way.
abort_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:25 PM   #14
iDerp
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 46
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by abort_user View Post
with the usb wire used to charge the controller. trust me when i say its a lot easier that way.
I use the BT method, because my wire is too rigid, so it's uncomfortable to use it.

If you got an OK-ish wire though, sure.
iDerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:44 PM   #15
AlanOC91
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 297
Posts: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDerp View Post
I use the BT method, because my wire is too rigid, so it's uncomfortable to use it.

If you got an OK-ish wire though, sure.
Uh tell me about it, rigid wires are the worst. I am just after playing a session on my Sega Mega Drive and the controller wires are the most rigid I ever came across and yet they tangle and knot with ease.

Using a wireless joypad on my PC is so pain free!
AlanOC91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dark Souls


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.