Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Assassin's Creed series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
Keychow
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Exclamation Assassin's Creeds wouldn't open!

I recently bought the Assassin's Creed series pack from the Steam Summer Sale. I installed all the games and none of them was working except from the first one (I suspect it is something to do with Uplay or Ubisoft Game Launcher).

When I launch AC:II, AC:B or AC:R the 'preparing to launch' shows up for a few seconds, then it closes. Nothing appears after that, the only thing that appears is the 'Uplay.exe' process in the task manager.

I have tried uninstalling the Ubisoft Game Launcher and reinstalling them through each of the individual 'Support' folders or 'redist' folders in their game directories. None of them seem to solve my problem, they disappear after they say 'Patching...'.

I have also tried downloading Uplay from the official Ubisoft website, it didn't come up with patching (maybe because it's already the latest version) and the problem was still the same, disappearing after 'preparing to launch'.

I have also tried verifying the integrity of game cache through right clicking on the games via steam.

I am currently running:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1100t
AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB
8GB RAM

So to sum it up, only the first Assassin's Creed game works as it doesn't require Uplay or Ubisoft Game Launcher. The rest of the games in the series doesn't work as it requires Uplay or Ubisoft Game Launcher. So if any of you guys out there have a solution of have the same problem, feel free to reply and bump the thread.
Keychow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:47 AM   #2
Sirurza55
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Have you tried running the Dx9 or Dx10 .exe directly in the assassin's creed folder? They're different versions of the game, I use Dx10 because it seems more stable then the default steam exe.
Sirurza55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 03:58 AM   #3
mamasch
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
I have also bought Assassin's Creed Brotherhood through Steam. After the "preparing to launch" message, my game crashes and says "ACBSP.exe has stopped working". I think that you have more luck, if I can call it luck, because Uplay doesn't appear in your case, but in mine, it doesn't even start running.
I have been searching on every forums (Ubisoft, Steam) for days, I have contacted both supports, but I have found not solution yet.
So I wish you good luck, and please if you find a solution to your problem (which seems similar to mine), post it here.
mamasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 02:33 PM   #4
Keychow
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirurza55 View Post
Have you tried running the Dx9 or Dx10 .exe directly in the assassin's creed folder? They're different versions of the game, I use Dx10 because it seems more stable then the default steam exe.
I have tried that and yes it works, as I have already mentioned though Assassin's Creed (1) already works for me as it doesn't require Uplay. The problem for me is Assassin's Creed II, Assassin's Creed Brotherhood and Assassin's Creed Revelations. Thanks for the help anyway, still no luck though.
Keychow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 02:38 PM   #5
Keychow
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamasch View Post
I have also bought Assassin's Creed Brotherhood through Steam. After the "preparing to launch" message, my game crashes and says "ACBSP.exe has stopped working". I think that you have more luck, if I can call it luck, because Uplay doesn't appear in your case, but in mine, it doesn't even start running.
I have been searching on every forums (Ubisoft, Steam) for days, I have contacted both supports, but I have found not solution yet.
So I wish you good luck, and please if you find a solution to your problem (which seems similar to mine), post it here.
My problem is pretty similar to yours, nothing appears after I launch it.
Thanks for the reply though, anyone with solutions or has a first hand at this issue?
Keychow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:58 PM   #6
derek328
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 32
Posts: 480
Ubisoft completely messed up their games with the latest Uplay updates.

The way I solved the problems was go straight to the game directories, launch your AC programmes one at a time (eg: ACRSP, ACRMP, etc.) Uplay will pop up for each of them, and it will load some sort of update. Let it do its job and close when they're done. Repeat this process for all the Assassin's Creed game exe files you have.

Now restart your computer and try to launch your game from Steam again, it should work now.

Uplay
derek328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Assassin's Creed series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.