Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Waveform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 03:55 PM   #1
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
Mac and Linux Bug Reports

PSA (August 29, 2012): If you're on a Mac with the Intel Sandy Bridge chipset (Intel HD 3000), odds are Waveform is not going to run. It's something at the driver level, so it may be a while before the bug is fixed. I'm hoping to reproduce the issue and fix it on a new Macbook that I'm ordering soon.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled bug report thread.

-----

If you've got a crash/bug in Waveform for Mac and Linux, post it here.

Known Bugs

Mac OSX
  • The game may have weird-looking textures/particles (image). This has been fixed in an update released on August 1, 2012.
  • The game may crash on Intel Sandy Bridge GPUs. There is no immediate fix for this, as it is an unknown problem at the driver level. I will update when the problem is solved.
  • The game may crash on OSX Mountain Lion, or possibly not even start. This appears to be a problem with SDL's input and Mountain Lion's AppKit, so I'll need to update SDL to a development version that fully supports OSX 10.8.
Linux
  • No known bugs

Instructions To Verify the Bug:

1. Validate the game cache.
2. Try everything suggested in the known bugs list. Yes, everything.
3. Produce a step-by-step method of creating the bug, if possible. Use the terminal when testing crashes!

Instructions After Verifying:

1. Post your full specs, including operating system and version, CPU, RAM, and GPU.

If you're on a Mac, you can get this from "About This Mac" and the accompanying "More Info" button. Here's the Apple Support Article about it.

If you're on Linux, use meklu's sysinfo script: http://www.flibitijibibo.com/fedora/mekSysInfo.sh

Your system specs will look something like this:
Code:
2012 MacBook Pro
Mac OSX 10.7 (Lion)
Intel Core i7, 2.2GHz
4GB RAM
AMD Radeon HD 6750M
Code:
Host:   flibitTower
Kernel: Linux 3.4.5-2.fc17.x86_64 x86_64
Distro: Fedora release 17 (Beefy Miracle)
CPU:    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz
        8 cores/threads
        3401.00 MHz
RAM:    7.71 GiB
GPU:    GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
        OpenGL 4.2.0 NVIDIA 295.59
        GLSL 4.20 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
2. Write a full description of the crash/bug

This includes the following:
  • Type of bug (unknown crash, graphics issue, sound issue)
  • Step-by-step process to reach the problem.
  • Reproducibility of the bug (for instance, 100% if it will happen every time in the exact same place)

3. Link to a crash log or screenshot.

You can get a crash log by running the game through terminal. When the game crashes, a stack trace should appear. Post the full output of the game (including stuff that happens before the stack trace) to Pastebin, then link to it in your report.

If it's a sound-related bug, a description will do.


I apologize in advance for any bugs, and I will get them fixed ASAP!

Last edited by flibitijibibo: 09-17-2012 at 07:51 PM.
flibitijibibo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:46 PM   #2
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
Updated with a new bug related to Mountain Lion. It may just be the case where I need to build the game and the libs on Mountain Lion, but I don't have my own installation of it yet.
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:10 PM   #3
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
New Mac issue: If the game does not start for you, it may be because of an issue with the Steam launcher. Try running it through terminal:

Code:

cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/Waveform
./Waveform
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:58 PM   #4
bobsouza
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
any idea when the mountain lion support will be added? i purchased the game a month ago and still can't play
bobsouza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 01:50 PM   #5
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
I'm still waiting on a MBP order, so it may be a bit longer until I have a Mountain Lion machine to build on.

We've done a ton of changes behind the scenes though, and it may help your problem if it turns out my diagnosis is overkill. Sent you a PM with the info.
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:39 PM   #6
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
If there were any Mac users getting a crash on the Intel HD 3000 GPU, send me a message. I think I figured out why the crash is occurring... if I'm right, it has to do with how the driver grabs vertex data. Obscure? Yes.
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:25 PM   #7
stnrdgaussian
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Linux Crash Bug

Hi there,

Major crash in Linux. It happens each and every time I try to start the very first level, no exceptions.

Code:
Kernel: Linux 3.2.0-35-generic x86_64
Distro: Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS
CPU:    Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2350M CPU @ 2.30GHz
        4 cores/threads
        2300.00 MHz
RAM:    3.46 GiB
GPU:    Mesa DRI Intel(R) Sandybridge Mobile 
        OpenGL 3.0 Mesa 8.0.4
        GLSL 1.30
Just select a profile, and start the first level. It gives me the tutorial image and the loading screen, but once I select Continue the game abruptly crashes. I have never gotten into the game. It doesn't matter if it's in Windowed Mode or different resolutions and whatnot.

Trace:
http://pastebin.com/ZVM21y7C

I've got a Sandy Bridge GPU, maybe this is similar to the Mac issue.
stnrdgaussian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 02:38 PM   #8
ddddirk
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Reputation: 6
Posts: 3
I'm seeing the same crash as stnrdgaussian.

Code:
Host:   verne
Kernel: Linux 3.6.11-3.fc18.i686.PAE i686
Distro: Fedora release 18 (Spherical Cow)
CPU:    Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU       M 330  @ 2.13GHz
        4 cores/threads
        2133.00 MHz
RAM:    3.61 GiB
GPU:    Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Mobile 
        OpenGL 2.1 Mesa 9.0.1
        GLSL 1.20
Console output when running from terminal:

Code:
[dirk@verne Waveform]$ ./Waveform
Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 204180
Steam_SetMinidumpSteamID:  Caching Steam ID:  76561198065129338 [API loaded no]
Couldn't find XDG_DATA_HOME.
Fall back to hardcoded ~/.local/share/.
Received user stats and achievements from Steam
Received user stats and achievements from Steam
Received user stats and achievements from Steam
Received user stats and achievements from Steam
Received user stats and achievements from Steam
Received user stats and achievements from Steam
ERROR: Signal 11
./x86/waveform.x86[0x813ff6c]
[0xb77a8400]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(+0x16fa6e)[0x90765a6e]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(hash_table_find+0x11)[0x90765c31]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(_mesa_get_sampler_uniform_value+0x8f)[0x907fe8af]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x717cd)[0x90a207cd]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(_ZN10ir_texture6acceptEP10ir_visitor+0x18)[0x90819848]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x76a6f)[0x90a25a6f]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(_ZN13ir_assignment6acceptEP10ir_visitor+0x18)[0x90819718]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x6bf26)[0x90a1af26]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(_ZN11ir_function6acceptEP10ir_visitor+0x18)[0x90819698]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x65a28)[0x90a14a28]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x65d16)[0x90a14d16]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x444e9)[0x909f34e9]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x45061)[0x909f4061]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x3a945)[0x909e9945]
/usr/lib/dri/i965_dri.so(+0x2698f)[0x909d598f]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(+0x1413d2)[0x907373d2]
/lib/libdricore9.0.1.so.1(+0x1414c1)[0x907374c1]
/lib/libGL.so.1(glDrawArrays+0x39)[0x444ee369]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x8147d72]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x8147846]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x81596ca]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x8083b83]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x8132b34]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x8140049]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x8140f2a]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x8063462]
/lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xf5)[0x470a2865]
./x86/waveform.x86[0x806d9fd]
AL lib: ReleaseALC: 1 device not closed
I don't have a SandyBridge, but I don't suppose there is a lot of difference between it and the IronLake GPU.
ddddirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 08:52 PM   #9
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
Going to try a couple things right off the bat:

Is the overlay disabled? Try disabling it first.

If that still fails, get a GDB backtrace of the crash, and keep that somewhere. Then, strip 'x86/waveform.x86' with `strip -s`, then run Waveform again to see if it works there.

My concern is that Waveform's internal memory management is causing crashes at both the overlay level and possibly at the driver level for Intel Mesa. This may also be our problem on OSX as well.
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:10 AM   #10
stnrdgaussian
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Yep, disabling the overlay did the trick. Thanks!
stnrdgaussian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 06:04 PM   #11
ddddirk
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Reputation: 6
Posts: 3
I did not have overlay enabled, so this did not fix the crash in my case.

Here is the GDB backtrace: http://pastebin.com/MNQEV59k
I hope I did this right, I just followed some random tutorial on backtraces. I executed 'strip -s x86/waveform.x86' but the crash persists.
ddddirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 06:15 PM   #12
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
Oh hey, this actually is the same issue as OSX. Only this time I actually have symbols at the driver level.

I'm thinking that Waveform's memory management is causing problems for the Intel drivers. I'll see if there's a quick way around this over the weekend.
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 06:37 PM   #13
ddddirk
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Reputation: 6
Posts: 3
Looking forward to any progress.
If you need me to test anything, I'll be happy to.
ddddirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:24 AM   #14
ulitiy
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
No any progress for 7 months, great job! Thanks for the product I can't use but I paid for.

Last edited by ulitiy: 02-15-2013 at 03:05 AM.
ulitiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:23 AM   #15
flibitijibibo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 592
Posts: 1,234
The newest update gets around the Intel problem, does it not? Other than that, I dunno what bugs are left, considering the game's now working on 10.8 as well.
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Waveform


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.