Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2012, 01:28 AM   #1
AraNbg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
Why isn't my PC wokring at full potential?

I recently got a new PC and it isn't running the way it is supposed to be the specs are:
PROCESSOR AMD ATHLON X2 260 3.2GHz
HDD 1000 GB
RAM 4 GB
ATI RADEON HD6450 2GB
And i'm running Windows 7
Me and my friend (who has slightly lower specs than mine) were playing splinter cell:conviction and he was running the game on max graphics while i couldn't because everything just started lagging same with dota 2 can it be because of my monitor someone told me that it can be one of the reasons for that to be happening my monitor supports 1024x768 max.
AraNbg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:34 AM   #2
ElijahChondo43
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 672
Posts: 1,588
Can you list his specs as well?

You have a dual core and a very low profile low end card...I would very much like to see your friend's specs...
ElijahChondo43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:38 AM   #3
AraNbg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
Well i can't ask him right now but he has like dual core 3.0ghz and VRam 1 gb or something

Oh yeah and also 4gb RAM forgot to add that

Last edited by rotNdude: 07-28-2012 at 08:40 AM.
AraNbg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:42 AM   #4
-RASCAL-
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 553
Posts: 836
As ElijahChondo43 has said, we need to know the specs of your friend's PC to see what is the difference.

The Radeon HD 6450 graphics card that you have is a low-level entry card. It wasn't designed for any major gaming.

You could have saved some $$ by going for a 1GB (or 512MB version) of a 6450. At 1024x768 resolution, 1GB is more than enough.

Just so you know, more VRAM on the card does not mean it performs better.
Example: A 1GB HD 6770 is ALWAYS be 4X+ faster than a HD 6450 2GB or....4GB.

Have you updated / install the drivers for your motherboard? (chipset, etc)
How about the drivers for your graphics card? The latest ones?
What about the updates for Windows 7? Do you have Service Pack 1 installed yet?
-RASCAL- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:47 AM   #5
AraNbg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
I just asked him
AMD 3.1 GHz
4 ram
ATI Radeon HD 5670
And about the drivers i downloaded an autoscan or something from the site of AMD
AraNbg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:54 AM   #6
RiouTheCat
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 32
Posts: 173
Radeon HD 5670 is a faster graphics card than a Radeon HD 6450. That is why your friend's game runs better.

Radeon HD 6450 is more of an HTPC graphics card for movie watchers that do not game much.
RiouTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:00 AM   #7
AraNbg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
So what i should do ? buy a new graphics card?
AraNbg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:03 AM   #8
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by AraNbg View Post
I just asked him
AMD 3.1 GHz
4 ram
ATI Radeon HD 5670
And about the drivers i downloaded an autoscan or something from the site of AMD
Still not enough, what's his exact cpu model number? Don't be fooled by cpu model range, although yours is newer, he has a more powerful card in the HD5670, this card is capable of low to medium level gaming, yours is barely capable of low level gaming. Your friend has an older card, but it is a higher end card compared to yours which is just about as low as it gets. As for cpu, only one I know that runs @3.1ghz is the FX8120 which I happen to have. Not really familiar with AMD CPUs.....
HL2-4-Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:06 AM   #9
-RASCAL-
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 553
Posts: 836
Well, you recently just built your computer. Can't you return the HD 6450?

Another card select will definitely give you more performance. How much money are you willing to spend on a different card?

Also, you didn't tell us what PSU (powder supply) you have installed for your system. Please give us the brand & model of the unit...and now something like "500W power supply." That tells us NOTHING. We need something like "Corsair Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W."

Oh yeah, we need to know what "AMD Dual-Core 3.1GHz CPU" your frIend has? Again we need the model...like what you gave us for yours, "Athlon II X2 260." Does he have a Athlon II X2 as well? A Phenom II X2? APU? Older Athlon 64 X2?

Last edited by -RASCAL-: 07-28-2012 at 02:10 AM.
-RASCAL- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:09 AM   #10
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by AraNbg View Post
So what i should do ? buy a new graphics card?
Bear in mind that a new vid card would help, but you will be held back by your Athlon X2 CPU. You should be able to play a vast majority of games with a more powerful vid card, and certainly Source games would be a breeze. Btw, let us know the exact PSU model number as more powerful cards need more power....
HL2-4-Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:13 AM   #11
AraNbg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
Well i can't tell you that because the PC is under warranty and i can't open it i also think about returning the PC and getting a new one since i have all the stuff i got it with (it was in a pack with a mouse and a keyboard)
AraNbg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:23 AM   #12
RiouTheCat
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 32
Posts: 173
Try returning the computer since you just bought it. That computer is probably using budget components with a low end power supply that are not great for gaming.
RiouTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:02 AM   #13
Smooth613
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 301
Posts: 754
If possible I too suggest you return the PC and get your money back. It's using rather low end, and an old CPU, for a recent system. I'd bet the motherboard and power supply are rather low quality as well. See if you can return it and get your money back and then post here with your budget your willing to spend on a new PC and people will help you build one, if you're comfortable, or find the best deal for your money. Good luck!
Smooth613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:57 AM   #14
zezzex
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 728
Posts: 3,596
I'm also betting that you didn't spend very much money on this computer. Hopefull you have a little more money that you can spend on a better computer. Before you make a purchase, you should come back to the forums and make sure you are making a wise purchase.

Keep in mind that most "cheap" pre-built computers come with low end power supplies and low end graphics and their target market is the novice computer user just looking to surf the internet and maybe do some word processing.

Last edited by zezzex: 07-28-2012 at 05:00 AM.
zezzex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 05:35 AM   #15
AraNbg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
sadly i won't be able to get my money back i can exchange it for another one but all the PC's they offer are way worse than what i got i can give a link to the site but it's on Bulgarian so i don't think anyone will understand a word
AraNbg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.