Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 04:17 AM   #1
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Accessing DLC without the game being on steam

Hey I've played the game tribes ascend for a while now and heard about the steam raider pack sale so i decided to buy it. When I saw that ihad to install the game on steam I thought "Ok it will be worth it"So i uninstalled the original hirez game client and download the steam tribes ascend.All three times i did this it has been stuck on validating,which seems to be a problem to a few other people in the forums.I followed th instructions on various threads on each install and to no avail.Right now I'm downloading the original .55 client again without steam and is working fine.What I want to know is if there is a way to get the steam raider pack without accesing tribes from steam.Is there some kind of promo code i could enter so it activates the items?I have already sent a ticket to steam about this issue but I'm wondering if theres just a manual way to activate the key without the steam version.
DjangoEX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:25 AM   #2
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 2847
Posts: 16,155
DLCs on Steam only work if the base game is also on Steam. Also, some paragraphs would turn your wall of text into readable text.
Nekomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:55 AM   #3
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Is there no possible way i can get a code to activate it on my game or something?Also sorry about the bad spacing and grammar, i was in a rush.
DjangoEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:18 AM   #4
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 4861
Posts: 10,743
See if you right click on Tribes in your library and go to the DLC tab. It may list a key which you'd probably have to input into tribes anyway.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:43 AM   #5
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
I can get into tribes if i download it from the official tribes website but i don't see any key in the dlc tab it just list the steam starter pack,which is not even the one i bought.
Edit it is the one bought they just renamed it to steam premium pack.The originall tribes is jkust finishing up its patching so now I'm wondering is there anyway to transfer the tribes game to steam so it is fully updated and dowmloaded?

Last edited by DjangoEX: 08-07-2012 at 06:54 AM.
DjangoEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:23 AM   #6
SnarKs
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 213
Posts: 1,149
As of the latest patch the "-steam" command line parameter no longer works on the "non steam" version. So you have no way of activating the DLC from steam unless you install tribes through steam and login.
SnarKs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 09:24 AM   #7
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Alright I guess i wasted 8.00 for now. Hopefully they'll be able to manually put it on or something once they respond to my support ticket.
DjangoEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 09:37 AM   #8
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 4861
Posts: 10,743
I think you have to totally uninstall the hi-rez version, reboot, then install the staem one. It apparently links to your account once you actually launch it.

I've not seen any Steam launch issues, aside from users who had both versions installed which apparently was the cause of most issues.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 12:14 PM   #9
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
I've tried that but i didn't restart once i uninstalled it I'll try that tonight.
DjangoEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:33 PM   #10
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Didn't work.It seems the problem is it is only updating to .1054 and not the current 1055
DjangoEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 07:13 PM   #11
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 4861
Posts: 10,743
If it's stuck on validating I find that deleting a few files, like the main exe, then doing a revalidate can help get over the last 1%

Also try a different download region as well.

Also try running Steam as an administrator as well.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 07:25 PM   #12
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
I'm installing the original game from hi rez and following a guide for a transfer i found on youtube.if it doesn't work i'll try your advice.Thanks for the quick replys and everything!
DjangoEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:19 AM   #13
DjangoEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Hey i need a file called install hi rez services.If you or someone else could upload somewhere so i can download it that would be cool.Its suppose to be in the redist folder.
DjangoEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.