Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 07:42 PM   #1
toekneebullard
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
GTA4 Saved Games Transfer. "No Files on Hard Drive"

OK, I'm not trying to play other people's saved games, just my own, from my old crappy computer.

I copied the GTAIV folder from old harddrive. I copied the XLive folder from old harddrive. I paste them into the proper folders on the new computer, and every time I start the game, it says starting new game. When I go into load a game, it says there are none on my harddrive.

I've followed the instructions four times now. Each time is the same result. I even tried using one of the Xlive disablers, but it acts the same way. Can anyone help me figure out what it is I'm doing wrong?
toekneebullard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:53 AM   #2
Sp8ky
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 25
Posts: 413
yeah, my pc crashed and after i got in the game it said the saves are corrupt....and the save system is so complicated there's nothing really you can do but start a new game
Sp8ky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:57 AM   #3
Zilog Jones
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
Your save games are stored here:
%localappdata%\Rockstar Games\GTA IV\savegames

This game (like many) has separate settings and saves for each user on the computer, hence why they are stored here and not in Program Files or wherever you put your Steam games.
Zilog Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:01 PM   #4
randomanon
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 23
Posts: 167
If you have the old savegame files, do not worry.
You need to start a new game and after the first autosave quit the game.
Than copy all the old savegame files into the new profil folder and overwrite the existing files:

%localappdata%\Rockstar Games\GTA IV\savegames\yournewprofile

But make a backup of the new profil first, for just-in-case problems.
randomanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:24 PM   #5
hymek35
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 218
When I try it says "Load failed check hard drive and try again".

How do I get the saves to work?

Thanks,
LH.
hymek35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 12:45 AM   #6
randomanon
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 23
Posts: 167
Heya,

have a look here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMESLD0dk_Y

http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=386606
randomanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 01:25 PM   #7
hymek35
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 218
Is there any way to install a save with working multiplayer?

Thanks,
LH.
hymek35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:57 AM   #8
randomanon
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 23
Posts: 167
I was not able to get this xbox-live-less to work.
Same goes for savefiles from other players, even if they got the same patched version.
My guess these savefiles are still bound to a xbox-live account or secured in any other way.
Which means you are not able to play other peoples game(s).
Except for making a big effort for a really small gain. :-(

Maybe somebody can proof me wrong about this matter?
I am no expert regarding xbox-live, account/savefiles binding...

On the other hand, if we talk about "your" savefiles than your own "old" savefiles, you should be fine.
Then you should proceed according to my description, regarding starting a new game, saving once and overwriting the files with the old save files.

Just read ahead the already written guide.
randomanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:16 AM   #9
hymek35
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 218
I have tried that but as soon as I put the new saves in the folder It doesn't work. I can't use my original saves as my Xbox live account somehow had the name changed automatically and my saves wouldn't work.

Thanks,
LH.
hymek35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:24 PM   #10
randomanon
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 23
Posts: 167
In that case you should contact XBL-support and ask what happened.
randomanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:41 AM   #11
Bad_Motha
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 3208
Posts: 13,401
GTAIV/EFLC by default saves your config and saves under
C:\Users\%UserName%\AppData\Local\Rockstar Games\GTA IV

But when using X-Live-Less (xlive.dll) your saves and all need to go under
C:\Users\%UserName%\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA IV

XLiveLess does this so that when using that, your saves remain separated from your originals. However copying the saves from when you were not using xlive.dll to the correct folder for when you are using it CAN present issues. When using certain mods, scripts, plugins for this game (and EFLC) sometimes that changes the save data, making the saved game file dependent on those mods being present for that save to work.


Best thing to do is NOT copy folders from different machines, as they may lack ownership rights if your Windows Username differs. Just make sure the structure is all correct by looking at the way the old structure is, make new folders of correct names if needed on the new machine, then simply put the files themselves in the correct folders.

Last edited by Bad_Motha: 07-06-2013 at 12:45 AM.
Bad_Motha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:55 AM   #12
randomanon
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 23
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Motha View Post
GTAIV/EFLC by default saves your config and saves under
C:\Users\%UserName%\AppData\Local\Rockstar Games\GTA IV

But when using X-Live-Less (xlive.dll) your saves and all need to go under
C:\Users\%UserName%\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA IV

XLiveLess does this so that when using that, your saves remain separated from your originals. However copying the saves from when you were not using xlive.dll to the correct folder for when you are using it CAN present issues. When using certain mods, scripts, plugins for this game (and EFLC) sometimes that changes the save data, making the saved game file dependent on those mods being present for that save to work.


Best thing to do is NOT copy folders from different machines, as they may lack ownership rights if your Windows Username differs. Just make sure the structure is all correct by looking at the way the old structure is, make new folders of correct names if needed on the new machine, then simply put the files themselves in the correct folders.

Damn a basic I totally lost track of, taking ownership of another machines files.
Thanks for the hint!
randomanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.