Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Old 08-19-2012, 06:42 PM   #1
tehx02

Been trying to fix my TF2 Performance for years. Rewards for whoever can help!

(xPost from reddit if anyone wants to help over there: http://www.reddit.com/r/tf2/comments...rformance_for/)

First things first, I've logged over 500 hours in TF2, and I've been using the same machine for 3+ years now. I love the game and have been playing for ages. I've been working at this problem, at least, for the last year without any real improvement. Maybe someone here on Reddit can help me out big time.

If anyone can help me out, I'll throw a couple bucks on steam wallet or some items or a gift your way.

Anywho. My current system setup is as follows: 2.53 GHz Intel Core2Duo ATI Radeon Mobility HD 4650 (I believe it's a 512MB Card) 4GB RAM 500 GB Hard Drive (with ~100 GB Free) Windows 7 64x, full updates

I've used all of Chris's FPS configs, I've tried More's Configs, and I've used the config that turns TF2 into an N64-era game, but I still get MASSIVE fps fluctuations, from 130 down to 20 sometimes while playing. I cannot for the life of me stabilize it, and it really gets to me sometimes. I can run all other source engine games (Portal 1/2, L4D 1/2, HL2 + Eps 1/2, CS:S, CS:GO) with no problems like this. I only play in 24 man servers (or less), I've reinstalled TF2 many times, and recently within the past few weeks when I did a full system wipe and reinstall.