Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Star Wars collection > Knights of the Old Republic Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
shadowninja2011
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Kotor 2 will not work (steam version)

Okay i have attempted to try to get kotor 2 to work on my computer before this came out on steam. I saw that win 7 was on the spec so i gave it a try. However this time was slightly different as before It crashed after character creation but now it crashes before the into movie finish No menu nothing.. i tried running it as admin with win xp service pack 3 compatibility. still get the "Star Wars: Knight of the old Republic has stopped working error after the inro movie (logos) finished playing. I'm certain this has the latest patch and i'm at my wit end wondering why it isn't working despite my many attempt to get it working. I have also noted a odd thing happening. whenever i verify caches for the game it always download a certain unknown file (why it never tell you I'll never know) You might notice i just created this forum account today but this is one of my favorite game of all time that refuse to work for me. So help would be much appreciated. I'm also aware of the other thread for kotor 2 issue but i figured i would post one for the steam version if that is okay

Here my system info from steam system info
Processor Information:
Vendor: GenuineIntel
Speed: 2394 Mhz
4 logical processors
2 physical processors
HyperThreading: Supported
FCMOV: Supported
SSE2: Supported
SSE3: Supported
SSSE3: Supported
SSE4a: Unsupported
SSE41: Supported
SSE42: Supported

Network Information:
Network Speed:

Operating System Version:
Windows 7 (64 bit)
NTFS: Supported
Crypto Provider Codes: Supported 323 0x0 0x0 0x0

Video Card:
Driver: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000

DirectX Driver Name: igdumd32.dll
Driver Version: 8.15.10.2761
DirectX Driver Version: 8.15.10.2761
Driver Date: 21 May 2012
Desktop Color Depth: 32 bits per pixel
Monitor Refresh Rate: 60 Hz
DirectX Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
VendorID: 0x8086
DeviceID: 0x116
Number of Monitors: 1
Number of Logical Video Cards: 1
No SLI or Crossfire Detected
Primary Display Resolution: 1366 x 768
Desktop Resolution: 1366 x 768
Primary Display Size: 18.98" x 10.67" (21.73" diag)
48.2cm x 27.1cm (55.2cm diag)
Primary Bus Type Not Detected
Primary VRAM: -1988 MB
Supported MSAA Modes: 2x 4x

Sound card:
Audio device: Speakers (Conexant SmartAudio H

Memory:
RAM: 6030 Mb

Miscellaneous:
UI Language: English
Microphone: Not set
Media Type: DVD
Total Hard Disk Space Available: 590375 Mb
Largest Free Hard Disk Block: 50007 Mb
OS Install Date: Dec 31 1969
Game Controller: None detected
shadowninja2011 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 02:56 PM   #2
Hiddenranger
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Same Problem here, Tried multiple patches. have you made any head way?

Specs.

Processor Information:
Vendor: GenuineIntel
Speed: 2494 Mhz
4 logical processors
2 physical processors
HyperThreading: Supported
FCMOV: Supported
SSE2: Supported
SSE3: Supported
SSSE3: Supported
SSE4a: Unsupported
SSE41: Supported
SSE42: Supported

Network Information:
Network Speed:

Operating System Version:
Windows 7 (64 bit)
NTFS: Supported
Crypto Provider Codes: Supported 323 0x0 0x0 0x0

Video Card:
Driver: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000

DirectX Driver Name: igdumd32.dll
Driver Version: 8.15.10.2696
DirectX Driver Version: 8.15.10.2696
Driver Date: 19 Mar 2012
Desktop Color Depth: 32 bits per pixel
Monitor Refresh Rate: 60 Hz
DirectX Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
VendorID: 0x8086
DeviceID: 0x166
Number of Monitors: 1
Number of Logical Video Cards: 1
No SLI or Crossfire Detected
Primary Display Resolution: 1366 x 768
Desktop Resolution: 1366 x 768
Primary Display Size: 18.98" x 10.67" (21.73" diag)
48.2cm x 27.1cm (55.2cm diag)
Primary Bus Type Not Detected
Primary VRAM: -1984 MB
Supported MSAA Modes: 2x 4x 8x

Sound card:
Audio device: Speakers (Conexant SmartAudio H

Memory:
RAM: 6046 Mb
Hiddenranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 03:00 PM   #3
Ender_Mahe
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I'm having the exact same problem. I've tried it on 2 different computers, have tried it as is and with all the different fixes I could find for vista/windows 7 (I have 7, 64bit) separately and together and nothing. On Vista it crashed trying to load a cutscene (ie right after character creation screen) and on Windows 7 it dies instantly after the last intro clip, the Obsidian Logo I think it was. I have also tried all of the above with my legitimate hard copy of the game (the multi-disk release) with the same results. I just want to play this freaking game again! Please Help!
Ender_Mahe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 03:20 PM   #4
Brendie88
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
A few weeks ago, when the final Restoration Mod came out, I tried to get a retail copy of this game working on my machine and could not. Although there are many, many tricks and things to get this game working out there in other forums (think I looked at lot at the LucasArts forums...), none of them worked for me.

As far as I can tell, the spec that was keeping me from playing the game was my video card. I think this game just hates any video card made by Intel.

In my search a few weeks ago, I found a lot of people like me, that had machines that should be able to handle the game no problem, but it would still crash right after the character creation screen and the first movie (the title scroll with the Ebon Hawk). The one thing we all had in common was we all had some kind of Intel video card. And none of us ever got it working, as far as I can tell.

Sounds like that's happening here again. I was really hoping they fixed that for the Steam version.
Brendie88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 03:22 PM   #5
Ender_Mahe
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
And there was great sadness... think valve will give me my money back?
Ender_Mahe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 04:14 PM   #6
Xilo
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 91
its so nice valve took the time to take forever releasing this title, then not test it on a new system it will likley be run on, and make sure it works, before charging 10$ for it.

i myself havn't bought it yet i still have my old physical copy.

my guess is the steam version might be using the update i could get from my physical copies startup menu. this update was known to break the game resulting in needing to do a clean install.

hopefully this isn't the case or it may never be playable...
Xilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 04:30 PM   #7
Hiddenranger
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Well heck steam are you trying to really get to us? ill see if I can get a refund.

Last edited by Hiddenranger: 08-24-2012 at 04:35 PM.
Hiddenranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 04:56 PM   #8
Ender_Mahe
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I believe some people can get it to work. Some people have said that it's result of using ATI, but at least for Kotor1 (which I've never had a problem with) there were workarounds for that.
Ender_Mahe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:14 PM   #9
burgerss
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 105
Have you tried downloading the windows 7 fix.I only have kotor 1 on xp so I have no idea if this will work.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194296
burgerss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:31 PM   #10
Ender_Mahe
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Hmmm... I've tried most of the things he mentions, the mss32.dll etc. I don't think I downloaded an old DirectX though, that might be worth trying...
Ender_Mahe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:40 PM   #11
shadowninja2011
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
i have gotten my problem fixed by downloading the newest graphic driver for my intel gpu (hd 3000) and changing the texture to balance in the graphic properties. it no longer dies on me in the intro. if this fixes the crashing problem but your keyboard no longer works in game then i found saving the game would somehow make it works again for me. I hope what i posted help at the very least a little. of course now i have to deal with 4:3 ratios but i'm happy it even works
shadowninja2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 06:09 PM   #12
shadowninja2011
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Actually when i checked it actually is a older version of the intel hd 3000 driver. i assumed it was newer as i used window update to do it. my version that works in kotor 2 is 8.15.10.2372 fir intel hd 3000 sandy bridge.
shadowninja2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 07:43 PM   #13
Overclocker_
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 439
Posts: 2,528
Turning on vsync will fix the loss in movement after combat.
Overclocker_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 10:29 PM   #14
00engineer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Same problem here, crash after the two intro movies. I am not able to get anywhere.. I have the latest graphics drivers installed.

Funny thing though, I manually set the Texture Quality to 3 in the .ini file, and now it doesnt display the intro movies... It shows a black screen, and when I move the cursor to the side of the screens it appears to be "Kotor-style". Once I click the emptiness for a while the game crashes, but without error message.

Last edited by 00engineer: 08-24-2012 at 10:34 PM.
00engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 01:38 AM   #15
Grimlexx
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
I'm crashing too.

I've applied the widescreen fix and it loads fine, in my wanted resolution. I can see the main menu, and even create a character but then after the 'Star Wars title crawl' the game crashes to desktop.
Grimlexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Star Wars collection > Knights of the Old Republic Series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.