Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dark Souls

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 11:04 AM   #1
z0m2h14
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 13
Posts: 49
[Mod] Mouse camera control fix

This workaround allow better mouse camera control and lock-on problem fix.
Its not ideal, but mouse micro movements feel much smoother and you ll not swap enemies all the time, only with fast enough mouse movements or mouse wheel rotation.


------- Installing----------
Things that you ll need:

http://www.filedropper.com/darksoulfix4

I) Install Mouse_fix from “mouse_disabler” folder:

If you using Durante Fix 0.8 or newer, otherwise skip all steps besides 2.

1. Rename one of mousefix files

mouse_disabler/dinput8.dll
to whatever like
mouse_disabler/dinput8_mousefix.dll

2. Copy those two mouse_disabler dlls one renamed to the Dark Souls folder. (The place where DARKSOULS.exe is, this may be something like C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Dark Souls Prepare to Die Edition\DATA)

3. Go to DSfix.ini and change

Quote:
# Dinput dll chaining
# if you want to use another dinput8.dll wrapper together
# with DSfix, rename it (e.g. "dinputwrapper.dll") and put the new name here
dinput8dllWrapper dinput8_mousefix.dll
i.e. replace "none" with your renamed dll.

And that's it.

II) Install PPJoy:
a) If you have win7 – run Driver Signature Enforcement Overrider.exe from “If_you_have_win7″ folder and start test mode. That necessary to install PPJoy drivers.
Video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScuYfagMixU – put Win7 in test mode, to install those drivers.
b) Start PPJoySetup-0-8-4-5.exe and follow istructions.

After installing PPJoy, launch it, than Add virtual joystick:

http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/139.jpg
http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/140.jpg

Than we Mapping it in such way:
http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/141.jpg
http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/142.jpg
http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/143.jpg
http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/144.jpg
http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/145.jpg
http://www.image-share.com/upload/1700/146.jpg

Thats all, press done, we wouldnt need to config anything anymore further.

III) Unpack GlowPIE folder somewhere on harddrive, in DarkSouls folder for example.

IV) Reboot.

To start game:

Disable Steam comunity because mouse disabling mod conflicting with it, causing crash on shift+tab.

1) Run RunMe.bat from "GlowPIE" folder
2) Run Dark Souls

From now on before starting game make sure, that GlowPIE is running (its icon in system tray or it's window opened with "running" status).


You also can create and run shortcut to GlowPIE.exe with these keys /run Mouse.PIE /tray instead of RunMe.bat
So in shortcut properties it would be something like
Object: "C:\Program Files (x86)\PPJoy Joystick Driver\GlowPIE\GlovePIE.exe" /run Mouse.PIE /tray



--------------------Uninstall--------------------

Delete dinput8.dll, dinput8_.dll files from game folder to reenable basic mouse control.
PPJoy and GlowPIE uninstalling are optional.



------------------Troubleshooting aka FAQ-----------------
Camera not turning.
Quote:
To those people having issues - make sure you turn off UAC (User Account Control) in Windows and restart before running the Driver Signature Enforcement Overrider as this software doesn't work correctly unless UAC is turned off.

First time I installed everything with UAC on and the camera didn't move at all, then I went ahead and reinstalled everything with UAC off and all seems to be going smoothly so hopefully this will help a few of you out.
Camera still not turning.
Quote:
If you guys are trying to get this mod to work, here's a tip on how to save time: after you install PPJoy and set up the virtual joystick, open game controllers panel (in W7 pres the start button and type in 'set up usb game controllers') and verify that PPJoy device is there and actually works when you move your mouse around! Because if it doesn't, the game won't recognize it either. There should be a total of two axes (z-axis and z-rotation seem to work for most people).
Generally speaking, PPJoy is EXTREMELY finicky, a while ago I spent days trying to get it to work for a different game and gave up. After re-installing windows (same version) it just installed without problems. So sometimes it seems getting PPJoy to work is just a matter of luck ..
You have high DPI mouse and/or Targeting in lock-on still jumpy.
Quote:
Yeah, this mod is supposed to fix that but my lock-on still jumps all over the place
It means, that you have too sensitive mouse, maybe high DPI one.
To fix it double click yellow-green GlowPIE icon in tray and edit these strings (press STOP to start editing):

Code:
ppjoy.analog0 = (delta(mouse.DirectInputX))/20 + var.deltax

ppjoy.analog1 = (delta(mouse.DirectInputY))/20 + var.deltay
into something like

Code:
ppjoy.analog0 = (delta(mouse.DirectInputX))/100 + var.deltax

ppjoy.analog1 = (delta(mouse.DirectInputY))/100 + var.deltay
and then save script (ctrl+s) from file menu and press START.

It will change sensivity of mouse-to-joy converter. So just change divider until you get normal controls in game.

If nothing helps, uninstall mod and try this one:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2904768

It doesnt fix nauseating camera, but at least game playable with lock-ons.


--------------------Technical info--------------------

Concept of workaround:

- mod disabling basic camera movement in game by mouse
- PPJoy creates a virtual joystick.
- GlovePIE using his script reads mouse input and feeds it into PPJoy.
- The game now uses PPJoy's virtual controller to control the camera resulting in much smoother movement and propper target changing in lock-on mode

About GlowPIE script part:
Code:
 var.deltax = 0

 if abs(delta(mouse.DirectInputX)) > 0.001 then
 var.deltax = 0.4 * delta(mouse.DirectInputX)/(abs(delta(mouse.DirectInputX)))
 endif

 ppjoy.analog0 = (delta(mouse.DirectInputX))/20 + var.deltax
Part with if - my way to deal with joystick deadzone, it is kind of annoying for me when game unresponding for micromovements of mouse so this part add some constant to virtual joystick steer if any movement of mouse present, enough to start camera moving at minimal speed.

After that i just making joysteck steer equal to mouse speed divided to 20 plus that minimum constant preventing deadzone unresponding.

0.4 is a constant i add to any mouse movement to get rid of joystick deadzone

/20 - devider of sensivity, so if you want make camera less sensivity, make it /40 or /100 . You have to repeat it and for second axis.


If someone will come up with better script or overall solution - please share.

Quote:
Is this safe?
I have no idea how mousedisabler works, and author in his thread refused to explain how he hooked game controls (it could be used in cheats by other players), but other parts are just joystick emulator and script launcher, you can download any different version from anywhere and configure it youself.
I cant guarantee full safety of mod, but i highly doubt that it content any kind of maleware.


-----------Alternative solutions-------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by lebbers View Post
For individuals disinclined to go through the hassle of the aforementioned, I've released an updated version of the DS Mouse fix.

http://www.cs.wisc.edu/~petska

Give it a try and let me know if it works for you.

--------------------Thanks--------------------
Big THX for mod to lock mouse controls by ELITEeNergizer
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2904768

Special thanks to RNG-sus for pointing me in direction of PPJoy.

Thanks to vas14s for testing.

Привет парням с Antistarforce, разместившим ссылку на мой мод. Вам инструкцию на русском надо?

Last edited by z0m2h14: 09-08-2012 at 08:29 PM.
z0m2h14 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:30 AM   #2
rojimboo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 52
Posts: 494
This is really promising, but am I missing something?

I followed all instructions, and now when I press P in game it locks the target/camera and disables mouse controls.

But then...how do I control the camera?

Or is the idea that you use this when in combat, lock target and freeze camera and change targets with mousewheel?

Out of combat then, you would not really ever use it? Currently the jittery camera (even with minimum mouse dps) is my main issue, just traversing the game out of combat too.
rojimboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 12:57 PM   #3
z0m2h14
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 13
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by vas14s View Post
Ok after a few hours of playing with it I finally got both axes to work and the camera is smooooth!! Thanks much to both of you guys for your combined efforts.

If you are having trouble with the axes as I had, here's what I learned:

- the two axes that ended up working for me were Z-axis and Z-rotation (go figure why).
- as I tweaked the parameters of the PPJoy multiple times I realized that you actually have to restart the computer between every tweak. For example, if you change the number of axes and then open "Set Up USB Game Controllers" in windows you'll see that the number of axes did not change until you restart.
- long story short, if you're having trouble with VX/VY mapping as the author suggests, try Z-axis + Z-rotation, make sure to restart your computer, and try again. Also, every time you change the joystick parameters, first delete the old one, then re-create the new one.

Very pleased with the end result. This port is actually playable now!

Try Z-axis + Z-rotation and please write if that would work for you.
z0m2h14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:00 PM   #4
rojimboo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 52
Posts: 494
It did! So awesome!

I mentioned in the other thread.

This REALLY needs more exposure as it imho opinion fixes the game for KB+M users.

It's like a new experience for me now that the nauseating camera is gone.
rojimboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:14 PM   #5
z0m2h14
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 13
Posts: 49
UPDATE

New mouse disabler (in archive) no more require hotkey, basic mouse movement disabled by default.
I fixed first post (were wrong axes in config screen).

Last edited by z0m2h14: 08-28-2012 at 01:19 PM.
z0m2h14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:22 PM   #6
rojimboo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 52
Posts: 494
Now...it's even better.

Works straight away, without pressing anything or changing any ini files.

FROM software should be paying you guys.

This needs more exposure.
rojimboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:44 PM   #7
z0m2h14
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 13
Posts: 49
What is most funny is that iam not even a coder, just a gamer with one free day to read forum, do some web surf about joystick emulators and common sense to combine it all together.

ps: Previous version of Mouse disabler caused crash with steam shift+tab overlay. Could someone test with current?
z0m2h14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:07 PM   #8
rojimboo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 52
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by z0m2h14 View Post
What is most funny is that iam not even a coder, just a gamer with one free day to read forum, do some web surf about joystick emulators and common sense to combine it all together.
Love it.

Quote:
ps: Previous version of Mouse disabler caused crash with steam shift+tab overlay. Could someone test with current?
Confirmed here at least. Wasn't using steam overlay before, enabled it quickly to try this.

During loading the game, I pressed shift+tab to get rid of it, and the game crashed.
rojimboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:10 PM   #9
inalian
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Spend like 2h making this thing to work, but without any result. Well, game crush when i press shift+tab.
I trying
- Z-axis + Z-rotation, VX-axis VY-axis and any other combination.
- lunching game in test mode (i have win7)

I dont really know what to do now.
Do i need unpack GlowPIE on the same disc where game/PPJoy is?
Turn on or turn off test mode?
Do localization make some interference?
In PPJoy when you click on "scan" in "configure mapping for axes" ther is any respond?
inalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:15 PM   #10
rojimboo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 52
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by inalian View Post
Spend like 2h making this thing to work, but without any result. Well, game crush when i press shift+tab.
I trying
- Z-axis + Z-rotation, VX-axis VY-axis and any other combination.
- lunching game in test mode (i have win7)

I dont really know what to do now.
Do i need unpack GlowPIE on the same disc where game/PPJoy is?
Turn on or turn off test mode?
Do localization make some interference?
In PPJoy when you click on "scan" in "configure mapping for axes" ther is any respond?
Disable Steam community.

It seems incompatible with this fix. I just confirmed the same issue.

Keep using Z-axis and Z-rotation, but you might have to restart your computer as another poster said (and I did too), after changing the axis.

Don't scan in the axis mapping - no point, just follow the OP instructions.
rojimboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:19 PM   #11
brotrrwinner
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 83
Posts: 1,050
If I wanted to just use the improved mouse camera control and not the lock-on fix, what would I have to do?
brotrrwinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:31 PM   #12
inalian
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Well, i think i need to wait for another mode or official patch.
inalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:34 PM   #13
rojimboo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 52
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotrrwinner View Post
If I wanted to just use the improved mouse camera control and not the lock-on fix, what would I have to do?
Well, considering this fix smooths the camera outside of combat, and also when targeting (but does not lock it, i.e. you can switch locked targets just with mouse movements and/or mousewheel yet without the camera jittering and going all over the place), I don't really see why you would want to...?

But this fix includes both, as OP mentions.
rojimboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:35 PM   #14
rojimboo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 52
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by inalian View Post
Well, i think i need to wait for another mode or official patch.
Good luck with that.

Meanwhile, Dark Souls with mouse fix > Steam Community.
rojimboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:48 PM   #15
Lumppari
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
So you have to leave test mode on forever then for this to work? Windows didnt want to load up that virtual joystick for me without being in test mode.. Anyway nice and smooth mouse movements with this setup but my old problem is still around and i'm totally clueless now... With the original mouse freeze mod after fighting one pack of monsters camera went up to sky and pointing to ground and locked it there but with this one its the other way around, camera goes down to ground pointing to the sky and locks it there... Like wtf.. Can anyone explain to me why this is happening lol?
Lumppari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dark Souls


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.