Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 09:22 PM   #1
JoOKeRs2
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Unhappy CS:GO rates (interp, cmdrate, etc) HELP D=

Hello Guys!

First of all, I'm not used to Counter Strike, ok? So...
I hear ppl talking about rates, cmdrate, interp, etc. all the time, but I have no idea how to config that, and what are the best values to fill that codes...

rate
cl_cmdrate
cl_updaterate
ex_interp

I know that it has something to do with frames, interpolation and stuff, and I know that by setting the right values I will kind of increase my accuracy, since I will no longer fake-hit people with AWP...but I need that somebody tell me the right values to set that settings and WHY is that the right values.
My PC/Internet are good (anything is good to run CS).
Sorry for the bad english, and Thank You.
JoOKeRs2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:04 PM   #2
KiloSwiss
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 262
Posts: 1,051
Put the following into Your config:
Code:
////////////////////////////////////
//Network and Interpolation Settings

rate         80000  // def. 80000 - Maximum Download Bandwidth in byte per second. - DO NOT USE A LOWER VALUE OR A PUPPY DIES!
cl_cmdrate     128  // def. 64    - Maximum Command Packets per second, sending to the Server. DO NOT SET THIS HIGHER THAN YOUR FPS!
cl_updaterate  128  // def. 64    - Maximum number of Update Packets per second, received from the Server. Gets adjusted by the Servers TickRate if TR<cl_updaterate
cl_interp        0  // def. 0     - DO NOT CHANGE THIS OR A KITTY DIES!
cl_interp_ratio  2  // def. 2     - Ratio of interpolation Time. cl_interp_ratio : cl_updaterate = cl_interp -> lerp in ms

// Recommended Settings if cmdrate equal updaterate:
// interp_ratio 2  updaterate  64 = 31.25  ms lerp - Public @ fps<128
// interp_ratio 2  updaterate 128 = 15.625 ms lerp - Public @ fps>128
// interp_ratio 1  updaterate  64 = 15.625 ms lerp - Competitive @ fps<128
// interp_ratio 1  updaterate 128 =  7.8125ms lerp - Competitive @ fps>128
Scroll sideways to see the full text!


And read this Quote for better understanding:
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloSwiss View Post
Lets have a look at the default values for Netsettings and fps in CSGO:

rate 80000
cl_cmdrate 64
cl_updaterate 64
cl_interp_ratio 2
cl_interp 0
fps_max 300

The majority of players should stick with these.

And You can still play on TR128 servers with cmd/updaterate 64 as long as no idiotic admin forces 128 on every player (not to speak about those who force maxrate 30000 *uberfacepalm*).

Only people who can achieve constantly more then 128fps should go on and raise their cmd/updaterate to 128.

And only people with a good connection, who play on stable running servers (mostly Matchservers, not those Plugin overloaded Publics) can think about lowering cl_interp_ratio to 1.

Also set the updaterate equal to Your cmdrate and everything will be fine.
I think this should answer Your questions.

Last edited by KiloSwiss: 08-28-2012 at 11:55 PM.
KiloSwiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:26 PM   #3
vtecy0
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 2
Posts: 42
My fps varies around 120-150... Am I not better off locking the fps_max to around 100-120 rather than letting it spike around?
vtecy0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:27 PM   #4
darkst0rm
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtecy0 View Post
My fps varies around 120-150... Am I not better off locking the fps_max to around 100-120 rather than letting it spike around?
fps_max "129"
darkst0rm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 01:52 AM   #5
Saint_
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 34
rate 50000
cl_cmdrate "128"
cl_updaterate "128"
cl_interp 0
cl_interp_ratio 0

cl_interp_ratio 2 is interping and won't be allowed in league play

these are what the professionals/invite cs:go players are using

this video will show u how to raise fps by 20-30

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8lYnYz6KyI&feature=plcp

there are other videos to help you out too on that channel!

Last edited by Saint_: 08-29-2012 at 01:54 AM.
Saint_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:29 AM   #6
h0llywood1
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint_ View Post
rate 50000
cl_cmdrate "128"
cl_updaterate "128"
cl_interp 0
cl_interp_ratio 0
why cap rate to 50000? do you have a 56k connection?
cl_cmdrate "128" is ok if you can mantain a stable framerate above 128
cl_interp_ratio 1 (or 2 if You experience packetloss)
h0llywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:44 AM   #7
fLaXi0n
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 120
rate "80000"
cl_cmdrate "128"
cl_updaterate "128"
cl_interp "0"
cl_interp_ratio "1"
fLaXi0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 04:00 AM   #8
KiloSwiss
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 262
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkst0rm View Post
fps_max "129"
Please explain us why?
fps_max 129 will cap his fps at 129, but he will still have some framedrops.
I would recommend him to use fps_max 150 and live with a bit unstable fps, because the framedrops are not that high (from 150 to around 120).
Or if he wants totally stable fps, he should use fps_max 120.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint_ View Post
rate 50000
cl_cmdrate "128"
cl_updaterate "128"
cl_interp 0
cl_interp_ratio 0

cl_interp_ratio 2 is interping and won't be allowed in league play

these are what the professionals/invite cs:go players are using
#1.
There is no need to lower the rate value of 80000 on a DSL1000 (or higher) connection!

#2.
cl_interp_ratio 0 is not possible.
The Server normally restricts this to a value between 1 and 2.
Either use the value 1 or 2, just simple.
And if a league don't allow cl_interp_ratio 2, they simply have no understanding of how the Game works.
Having a higher interpolation time (lerp) means that this player has a slightly disadvantage, by seeing everything a bit later than his opponents.
Read the Valve wiki about the Netcode, for better understanding.

#2.
I don't think the "PROs" will use these settings.
I'm okay with rate 50k if You only play with max 5on5 Players, but cl_interp_ratio 0 still makes no sense at all, as described above.

Greez KiloSwiss
KiloSwiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 04:16 AM   #9
h0llywood1
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloSwiss View Post
Or if he wants totally stable fps, he should use fps_max 120.
He shouldn't because fps must be higher than cmdrate, something like 135. 129 is too low because even with a good rig you can experience fps drop (about 2-5 fps)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloSwiss View Post
#1.
There is no need to lower the rate value of 80000 on a DSL1000 (or higher) connection!

#2.
cl_interp_ratio 0 is not possible.
The Server normally restricts this to a value between 1 and 2.
Either use the value 1 or 2, just simple.
And if a league don't allow cl_interp_ratio 2, they simply have no understanding of how the Game works.
Having a higher interpolation time (lerp) means that this player has a slightly disadvantage, by seeing everything a bit later than his opponents.
Read the Valve wiki about the Netcode, for better understanding.

#2.
I don't think the "PROs" will use these settings.
I'm okay with rate 50k if You only play with max 5on5 Players, but cl_interp_ratio 0 still makes no sense at all, as described above.

Greez KiloSwiss
I agree with you.
h0llywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 04:27 AM   #10
-Venom
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 88
KiloSwiss -

Could you kindly briefly explain the connection between fps and cmdrate??

I dont get it i thought cmdrate was the keyboard and mouse update rate with the game or something... how does fps come into play with rates?
And why dont we just use 101 for all the rates and fps like in CS 1.6??
-Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 04:40 AM   #11
h0llywood1
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Venom View Post
Could you kindly briefly explain the connection between fps and cmdrate??
You can't send more updates to the server then what frames you actually render on your end. For this reason its a nonsense to set a cmdrate higher than the fps_max value.
h0llywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:21 AM   #12
KiloSwiss
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 262
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Venom View Post
Could you kindly briefly explain the connection between fps and cmdrate??
What h0llywood1 wrote.
If "fps<cmdrate" then "OUT/s is equal fps"

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Venom View Post
I dont get it i thought cmdrate was the keyboard and mouse update rate with the game or something... how does fps come into play with rates?
No, the game processes Your input every frame it renders.
This makes Your mouse feeling smoother on high fps, and feel a difference between 100fps and 300fps even when You play on a 60Hz Monitor.
cl_cmdrate is the max amount of Packets that are sent to the Server per second, and cl_updaterate is the max amount of Packets that can be received per second from the server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Venom View Post
And why dont we just use 101 for all the rates and fps like in CS 1.6??
Because in CSGO the Servers common Tickrate is either 64 or 128, so You adapt the Clientsettings to the servers update intervals.

Greez KiloSwiss
KiloSwiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:24 AM   #13
Stabdogg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 5
Posts: 100
Is it bad to have a higher rate? Does it bring any disadvantage? I have a good cable connection and have my rate at 128000. Should I lower it?
Stabdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:45 AM   #14
STAV3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stabdogg View Post
Is it bad to have a higher rate? Does it bring any disadvantage? I have a good cable connection and have my rate at 128000. Should I lower it?
The rate does nothing more than cap the amount of data you can receive from the server so it doesn't really matter if you have rate 80000 or 999999999

Furthermore there's no difference in using 30000 over 80000 rate either since the data you receive from a server usually stays under 20k/s with spikes to the 25k/s region on very intense moments such as when theres 5 people shooting at the same time in your vicinity. Thats still under 30k/s (30000). The only situation I can think of where the data rate might actually surpass 30000 is on a 64 player zombie server.

I just use the default 80000 it's more than enough. My point is it doesn't really matter what you set it at as long as it's 30000 or more.

Last edited by STAV3: 08-29-2012 at 09:48 AM.
STAV3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:20 AM   #15
Saint_
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloSwiss View Post
Please explain us why?
fps_max 129 will cap his fps at 129, but he will still have some framedrops.
I would recommend him to use fps_max 150 and live with a bit unstable fps, because the framedrops are not that high (from 150 to around 120).
Or if he wants totally stable fps, he should use fps_max 120.

#1.
There is no need to lower the rate value of 80000 on a DSL1000 (or higher) connection!

#2.
cl_interp_ratio 0 is not possible.
The Server normally restricts this to a value between 1 and 2.
Either use the value 1 or 2, just simple.
And if a league don't allow cl_interp_ratio 2, they simply have no understanding of how the Game works.
Having a higher interpolation time (lerp) means that this player has a slightly disadvantage, by seeing everything a bit later than his opponents.
Read the Valve wiki about the Netcode, for better understanding.

#2.
I don't think the "PROs" will use these settings.
I'm okay with rate 50k if You only play with max 5on5 Players, but cl_interp_ratio 0 still makes no sense at all, as described above.

Greez KiloSwiss
rate 50000 is max on esea servers so thats why I use that
cl_interp_ratio 0 is same as 1 and it works.

Cl_interp_ratio 2 isn't allowed in leagues because it is interping and gives noobs an unfair advantage. Any professionals or league play in cs,css or csgo will not allow interp. If you want to ever get good at this game, please don't use 2
Saint_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike: Global Offensive


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.