Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 05:59 PM   #1
Sgt.Mays
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 125
Option to choose what monitor Big Picture mode runs on.

How do i get big picture mode to launch on my 2nd monitor/TV instead of my main monitor?. I do not want to have to set my TV as default desktop all the time or mirror,
Sgt.Mays is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:29 PM   #2
Hawkeye127
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 3
Posts: 485
I would like to know this as well, there has got to be a way...
Hawkeye127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:18 PM   #3
Smashbro29
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 56
Yeah, I'd love to be able to get it going on my secondary monitor, maybe have it force every game on there in fullscreen. MAYBE it could even do all that and still allow me to use my main screen for other things in the meantime!

I can dream...
Smashbro29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:20 PM   #4
ChancyWancy
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 70
Amen to this. I have a triple monitor setup with my two main monitors working in conjunction on my desk, and my 3rd monitor being my TV in my entertainment center.
ChancyWancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:59 AM   #5
Ju5t1c3
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 66
Yeah I cannot believe this was overlooked for beta, it's essential.

I, like the other people here, use a primary screen and have the TV slaved. If you set the TV to main display you will get all your dialogue windows opening on the TV which is far from ideal for alot of setups...

From a usability perspective it should just open on whatever screen Steam is sitting on when you activate big picture mode, like every other full screen app...

Simple screen selector in the settings for Big Picture mode would be sufficient, I'm banking on this taking 15 months to code in Valve time however....

edit: there may be a launch option to do it, would be nice if someone could post it

Last edited by Ju5t1c3: 09-11-2012 at 06:03 AM.
Ju5t1c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:19 AM   #6
Iconoclast XVII
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 1802
Posts: 4,516
Only way I've ever heard of launching anything like that (like a game) on a secondary monitor is with Ultramon. I'm not sure how easily you could actually do it, either.
Iconoclast XVII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:36 AM   #7
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5174
Posts: 10,962
Games generally only launch from the primary monitor device. SO it makes sense for Steam to launch from there.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:07 AM   #8
TemplarLord
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
This should become a feature, something like XBMC has done. You can basically choose which display it would run on.
TemplarLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:10 AM   #9
Hawkeye127
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 3
Posts: 485
Considering they tout the ability to use a second monitor connected to your PC, the absence of this feature is frustrating. It is a beta I suppose...
Hawkeye127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:14 PM   #10
Astrophysx_12
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 94
Posts: 391
Would love to see this implemented, but for now:

Shift + Windows Key + Right/Left
Astrophysx_12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:58 PM   #11
weedo
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Reputation: 245
Posts: 6,873
I've got my TV hooked up to my PC too. We need a settings menu for big picture mode with the ability to choose the default monitor and sound device to output to, if Steam could pass through it's settings to any games launched that would be perfect, but somehow I don't see that happening.

I don't see it ever fully working on multi monitor setups unless you are using it on the primary monitor. If we get options to have BPM running on a monitor of our choice, then when we launch a game it launches on the wrong monitor, it's pointless.
weedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.